DriveThruComics.com
Browse
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ghost Stalkers!
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 13:47:20

His best work yet. This little story really helps bring life to his previous books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Stalkers!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Secrets' photo pack: churches
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2017 10:33:26

Cool pictures for backgrounds, the architecture is all pointy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets' photo pack: churches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Monastery of Metamorphosis: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 09:19:07

Very interesting! And potentially a really interesting flashpoint in the region, amidst different factions and groups, but also on a very personal level for both PCs and NPCs. I'm not familiar with the "Path of Metamorphisis" but then I've also not delved that far into the Sabbat.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monastery of Metamorphosis: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Obelisk of Oak Island: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 09:16:08

More than any other, this Jumpstart resembles a good old fastioned Dungeon Crawl. Not a complaint or criticism, just a comment. I don't personally care for the Salubri, but that is okay. There's a lot of genuine weirdness about Oak Island, and honestly this doesn't touch on much of that at all. Which is too bad, but that misses the point of what this is! It is not a fully fledged adventure but a seed from which a Storyteller can expand. I find the aftermath of what would happen here really interesting--because having in effect a Salubri Elder wake up and find out what happened to their Clan, with the PCs as possibly their only anchor into the modern world, well that strikes me as an especially splendid idea!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Obelisk of Oak Island: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Templar’s Childe: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 09:07:59

I gave The Templar's Childe one less star than the others in this series because of a pet peeve of mine. Fundamentally I don't understand this tendency to create Ventrue characters then don't tell us their taste. This seems to be a window into that vampire's mind and heart and soul. It seems much like drawing up a Malkavian without revealing their derangement(s). Also, since when does a high-ranking member of the Sabbat have Humanity?

Other than that, I like very much the balance struck here. The hint from which to design an "Albany by Night" for example, and the various openings left to develop a further story as well as more of the general background.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Templar’s Childe: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Publisher Reply:
As always, thank you for the feedback! The Sabbat Ventrue provided is not on Humanity, he's on the Path of Honorable Accord. The other Ventrue (Prince Smit) in the Jumpstart is a member of the Camarilla, which is why he's on Humanity. Also, I respect your pet peeve and I'll see about getting an updated version up with those details. Feeding Restrictions Smit: Faux rebels and counter-culturists (these days he tends toward old hippies and hipsters) Ronald: He must ask and receive permission from those he feeds upon without the use of any discipline.
A Singular Darkness: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 09:47:26

As with Things Go Southly, another in this series of Jumpstarts, this one remains very open ended and adjustable. It does focus on one specific character, though, and at least suggests an overspecific immediate background. But these specifics, upon reflection, can alter pretty easily. Instead of one vampire at the bar, it could be two or three (or even more). The location of the bar could be altered. For that matter, the central Kindred character might well be a friend or ally of the PCs. Exactly what the seeming Antagonist is up to remains vague, but then that seems the point. So this might well word, and very well too. Looking back on my own Chronicles, this could have "fit in" with little trouble.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Singular Darkness:  One Page  Chronicle Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The design for this was a tad different as this one was the first I wrote. It riffs off details on Dark Colony, but could easily be brought into a different location like you say. I also had planned for the shop to be a bookstore, but a bar works as well!
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 09:42:19

I think the idea of this makes sense, and keeping it "open" rather than too specific actually seems essential to the basic point. So my initial frustation at lack of details, of depth are totally on me. This "jumpstart" is honestly designed well for its intention--to provide a point of beginning (or promising filler) for a Chronicle. For example, much of the "city" background here can easily be altered for another location. Even what the box contains might be changed pretty easily and the Coterie's "rivals" might well be someone else altogether.

So kudos! Absolutely and precisely what it intends to be.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi David, Thanks for the review! The flexibility angle was one of the design goals so I'm glad that came through. Check out Monastery if you want one with a bit more detail. The details there include a lot more characters and their backgrounds.
Our Lady of Sorrows
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2017 13:31:39

The core idea here is solid, but the writing and layout makes this a flawed product. The sentence structure is off, and some don't really make sense. The story itself could be really interesting, but it also feels a little too much like a railroad. The Giovanni are a great clan, and using them as a focus caught my attention, but these characters fall flat and I'm not really interested in their backstory.

To the author; I think it would be good to have an editor for your future products, they can help get your writing a little tighter, and offer some suggestions. Try and create set pieces for your chronicle's, places, locations, and events to drop in, but provide the frameworks and let the ST use that framework as a hopping off point.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

101 Plot Ideas
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 09:21:52

Precisely what it says on the tin, this product offers 101 plot ideas that range from subtle to severe. Each plor idea is conveyed in one or two sentences, and the hooks are brilliant! Well worth the price of admission!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Plot Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bloodlinebook: Deava
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 19:54:28

A very solid concept, sold a little short with the preponderance of typos. There are a lot. A good editing pass could turn this into a 5-Atar product, though, as the concept is rather fascinating!

I would also like to see a bit more examples of the type of "terrible beauty" that the Daeva can suffer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodlinebook: Deava
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Our Lady of Sorrows
by Nicolas V. - V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 01:36:59

Too short, not even a 3 pages worth of content, a draft. I have bought it based on the 5 and I am pretty surprised by the quality of the work compared to the price. I would not advise this purchase.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Karnstein
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 23:12:05

Let me begin by saying that I adore the premise of this bloodline. The setting information is well-crafted, and the system section is largely enjoyable. The PRETENSE discipline is interesting, though I feel it could use a little more fine tuning to be in line with existing power levels of disciplines.

The two places where I see the greatest opportunity for improvement are an editing pass (the back half of the book seems fairly typo-laden, especially the character templates where some stats are missing) and the overall layout/design. The book is presented entirely in single column layout, which makes it look more like a Storyteller's homebrew notes than a finished product. With the beautiful templates provided by white-wolf, it seems that this was a dent in the quality of the book that could have been easily avoided (and could easily be remedied)

I do recommend this product, and I hope it will get some revisions soon!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Karnstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I have made revisions that I hope meet with your approval.
Menagerie of Mortals
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 22:58:41

Menagerie of Mortals is an excellent resource for any Storyteller. Having a ready-made stack of mortals at your disposal is an incredible time-saver. Most of the mortals provided come with solid roleplaying tips that provide a strong enough skeleton to build a memorable NPC on. The "Victims" section with simplified stats and character tags is actually quite brilliant. This book is definitely worth the price

Having said that, there are a few quality issues that provide speedbumps in the enjoyability of the product. First, (and least improtantly) there are some minor grammar/syntax issues that a good editing pass could solve. None of these are deal breakers, but they are distracting.

Secondly, there are some typesetting/layout issues that are distracting. They are few, but they are there.

Finally, some of the gear choices and characterizations of the NPCs made little sense to me (the street level drug dealer wielding a katana seemed comically misequipped)

Despite those issues (any and all of which could be corrected with an editing pass and update), I think this is a useful product that WILL enrich your Vampire game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Menagerie of Mortals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Nahema
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 18:45:11

Honestly, I wish there were a lot more content. The basic story about the Nahema's origins and powers are cool and all. But I wish the author had delved into the factions (such as may exist) in those who wait for their Founder's return. Some more templates as well. However-- the new derangements were fascinating and certainly offer up wonderfully disturbing possibilities! Essentially the Nahema are Malkavians on steroids. Heh heh.

Also, kudos for discussing how derangements and mental illness are not "cute" but rather serious problems with specific symptomology.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Nahema
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Xavier R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 14:28:36

A smoothly written book that explains clearly most of the subterfuge this world of darkness is all about. If you are looking for a 280-pages piece that submerges you within the conflicts and dances between Kindred this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1752 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates