DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Combination Discipline Compilation
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2018 10:35:44

The Combination Discipline Compilation is a great source of material for games masters and players alike. I was particularly fond of the Baali powers that could be found in this volume, though there were plenty of cool powers for other clans. If you would like to know more, I have done a full review on my website, HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Combination Discipline Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Merovingian
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 08:12:41

The Merovingian Bloodline is an interesting idea, focussing on a bloodline of Vampires that require to be immersed in water to sleep, or use their signature discipline of Augury. This book advances a number of theories as to where the bloodline comes from though as with much World of Darkness content, some of this information is (deliberately?) ambiguous to leave it up to the storyteller to decide. Or to leave it a mystery. A word of caution. Without a good deal of confidence on the part of the storyteller, or preparation, Augury can be a difficult discipline to handle among players. With that word of caution, go on and immerse yourself in the lore of the Dreamers...And if you want a bit more information, you can read my full review on my website HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Merovingian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Livro da Linhagem Tlacique
by Douglas F. d. S. d. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2018 14:18:48

Ótimo suplemento para terras brasileiras! Histórias a muito esquecidas são revividas, trazendo uma cultura e uma nova visão para os vampiros e lobisomens que residem por aqui!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Livro da Linhagem Tlacique
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Livro da Linhagem Tlacique
by Rafael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2018 05:08:10

(English Review below) Clanbook Tlacique é um marco na história de Vampiro: A Máscara, na medida em que tras à tona uma realidade até então negligenciada pela maioria do público. Aqui você vai encontrar um texto rico em referências históricas, cultrais e filosóficas/religiosas, perfeitamente integradas com o lore e o universo ficcional do jogo, sem tornar pedante ou presunçosa a tarefa de humanizar, ou melhor ainda, "vampirizar" as tradições e culturas dos povos andinos e centroamericanos, apresentando ao leitores uma rica e vasta cultura vista através de um olhar antropológico isento de preconceitos ou estereótipos. Junte a tudo isso uma prosa agradável, trazendo vocabulário próprio e elementos únicos que darão cores e sabores a suas crônicas.

Clanbook Tlacique is a milestone in the Vampire: The Masquerade, as it has surfaced a reality hitherto neglected by the majority of the public. Here you will find a text rich in historical, cultural and philosophical / religious references, perfectly integrated with the lore and the fictional universe of the game, without rendering pedantic or presumptuous the task of humanizing, or better yet, "vampirising" traditions and cultures of the Andean and Central American folk, presenting to the readers a rich and vast culture seen through an anthropological look free of prejudices or stereotypes. Add to all this a nice prose, bringing your own vocabulary and unique elements that will give colors and flavors to your chronicles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Livro da Linhagem Tlacique
by Milena F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2017 12:20:53

Adorei o fato da personagem principal ser uma poderosa guerreira maia cinéfila que superou a escravidão, precisamos de mais personagens inspiradoras e que resgatem uma parte desconhecida de nossa história.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing `77
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2017 02:12:33

I have only played a Sabbat character once but THIS module makes me want to start a whole new Chronicle so I can again.

Let us get something out of the way - modules are normally railroads for Players while the Storyteller reads passages of scripture - not so here. This presents a toolbox, and lets you tell a story however you choose.

Also setting this in Los Angeles, Anarch territory, in 1977 was genius!

The reason it's not 5 stars? Formatting, formatting, formatting. This book is better than most but the text in some places is too close to the border especially when using unordered lists.

Minor gripe aside this book is great - buy now!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing `77
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks, Alex! I'm glad you dug it. I'll definitely look at the formatting and see what I can do to improve it (and send out an updated PDF when I have).
Clanbook: Gargoyles
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2017 07:28:14

The book overall is a great buy, the amount of value packed inside is worth its price (honestly should be $10 minimum and I'd pay that happily).

The content overall is great, it condenses the lore of the Gargoyles into one book, offers some new content in the form of a new Attribute (optional). some new merits and flaws.

I'd be more excited about the Disciplines content but 3 of the 5 Elder Disciplines are from the 1st Edition book and are updated, 2 are new so there isn't much in the way of new abilities. The Combination Disciplines are a nice touch 3 are brand new, one is actually an Elder Discipline converted to a Combo Discipline.

One of the biggest hits against the title for me is the lack of built in references (so I can just click on a name in the Table of Contents and jump to it while on smart devices) or a lack of Bookmarks (for when I'm on a PC or laptop). A more fleshed out Table of Contents would be greatly appreciated as well. I ended up adding my own after purchase just so I could properly jump around and review things easier.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Gargoyles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review, Zachary! What you've written is the sort of feedback we would hope to receive. We did attempt to put in the references, but clearly we need to go back and see what went wrong there. We intend to fix that issue, as well as provide bookmarks and expand the contents to match current Onyx Path standards, in our first update which should be coming in a week or two. Since you mentioned them, more Discipline powers are not an impossibility. There were a few that got left on the cutting room floor which we can go back to later down the line. - Sam
10 Animalistic Features
by Lee M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2017 07:13:40

Short but sweet, a few good ideas here that could also inspire many more ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 Animalistic Features
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Emerald Valley by Night
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2017 21:42:47

There are some fun and interesting dynamics here - if you've ever wanted to play in a Twin Peaks like setting, this is for you.

Some highlights are the discussion about Humanity, and some suggested expanded rules for its effect on gameplay, joining a few other books here on the SV that expand on previous ideas in ways we wouldn't see in a more traditionally published product. Another plus was the Red Hallow, which nails the Lynch-esque tone I mentioned above. I also liked the addition of a Kiasyd that made some sense, something I've struggled with before.

The reason it is 4 stars instead of 5? There are editing and formatting mistakes that detract from reading - it just tripped me up too much not to mention. Also I'm not a fan of one of the Lupine characters, but thats neither here nor there, each to their own.

Worth a read, minor grips aside!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald Valley by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the kind words! You describe nicely my intention and it warms what passes for my heart to read your words! Am seriously considering hiring a editor in the future, but need a tiny bit more income. I appreciate all feedback. Just should mention here there's exactly one Lupine. Don't want folks to go looking for a pack of werewolves... heh heh
New Blood
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 06:41:03

This is a well written and presented adventure that goes into a lot of detail, and has a host of NPCs suitable for the scenario in question but that can also be reused. I only had one minor criticism and that was that there were too many NPCs each with a lot going on. Nothin insurmountable with a bit of prep, but it was a tad overwhelming on a first read. You can read my full review HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Masquerade Chronicle Primer
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 09:54:19

Finally got this! Am always looking at ways of improving my Chronicle designs, so this book of course appealed to me very much!

The Good. Such a nice, straightforward format and approach, covering all kinds of bases. Lots of excellent considerations and rules of thumb, including expansion on how to design a fictional city. The random methods of giving characters secrets and relationships remind me a bit of D&D back in the day, which is fine and no doubt can be very useful. I suspect the vast majority of Storytellers and STV writers would find this very useful in all sorts of ways, with the random detail generating systems automatically creating some startling and wonderful background details.

The Not-Great I do think too little time and ink goes towards what might be called the creative aspects of storytelling, relying on formula without offering a guide about how to let secrets and stories emerge from the characters themselves. Likewise I would have like far more about how to integrate Theme and Mood, as well as a breakdown of what mortal institutions actually hold the key to power.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masquerade Chronicle Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

As Mil Faces da Malkaviana
by Alessandra T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2017 10:17:12

Obrigada Rafael - Fico contente que tenha gostado da novel. Estou lisonjeada. Saudações, Alessa Malkavian.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
As Mil Faces da Malkaviana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bloody but Unbowed
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2017 09:40:59

This little chronicle admirably sets out to do precisely what it intends! I want to address two things especially.

(1) The Setting. Rockford comes across as a very believable location, in the general area of Chicago but with a young Prince determined to change the city's nature to match her vision, winning loyalty particularly of the Gangrel in her domain. Plenty to expand upon, but mostly just a lovely example of a "small" city in the WoD. Bravo!

(2) The Story. Essentially this comes across as an elaborate jump-start, intended as a Prelude of some kind, without trying to force the players' hands yet covering all the basics of what might happen, in general (but logical) enough terms to allow plenty of leeway. This strikes me as not only well written by very wise.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody but Unbowed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so very much! Writing Rockford as a World of Darkness setting was surprisingly easy, though I do intend to expand on the city in future products. I’m glad you enjoyed the campaign jumpstart elements of the story. I hope this can serve as the beginning of many a chronicle! -Travis
Thanks so very much! Writing Rockford as a World of Darkness setting was surprisingly easy, though I do intend to expand on the city in future products. I’m glad you enjoyed the campaign jumpstart elements of the story. I hope this can serve as the beginning of many a chronicle! -Travis
The Curse Pole: A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 05:44:00

An excellent idea condensed into a very small package, and useable in just about any Dark Ages Chronicle you can think of. I have rated three rather than four as I don't feel it is a jumpstart as there is some ST intervention required before play. This isn't necessarily a bad thing (I think it is quite good) but it won't be for everyone. I have written a much more detailed review on my site on the following link where I explain that in more detail. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/12/10/the-curse-pole-a-storytellers-vault-review/ Given how reasonable the price is and how easy this is to plop into any chronicle I would suggest any ST give serious consideration



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse Pole:  A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

New Blood
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 23:21:34

This was a great read, with a lot of fertile ground or some intriguing scenarios.

There is a lot of detail in here, from locations, to the people involved, as well as some very interesting pages about the logisitcs of travel for a cainite in the Old World. The travel portion alone is useul to anyone playin a V:DA campaign, it is a serious problem for an undead that deserves some screentime.

However it is not all roses, as some editing mistakes detracted from the book, as well as a lack of any interior art. Pictures help set a mood and break up the text and it would have helped here a bit, especially when discussing the aforementioned geography & travel.

Well worth the price for what you get!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1813 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates