DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Eternal Elite
by Scotty G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/31/2018 11:13:36

The Eternal Elite Staff: Melchizedek Todd Overview: So first up this season we’ve got “The Eternal Elite” from Weapon Press. Seems like the author is also the artist and, if I’m being honest, that normally gives me pause. Sure there are a few talented author/artists out there but they are rare indeed. It typically comes when an artist tries to write or a writer teaches themselves art so they can skip paying an artist. Let’s dive into The Eternal Elite #1 and see if Weapon Press can beat the odds!

Art: So... remember what I said about artist/authors? Yeah... this seems like that. While they definitely had some skill and some panels are better than others; this is not a professional piece. It’s a greyscale comic with decent linework in some places but others just kind of look sloppy. For example, on page 3 of the comic we have some rather amateurish art of 3 characters watching a fight while the characters fighting actually look decent. There are a few issues with shading, proportions, texture (a lot of it is just blurred effect brushes or just forgetting like on page 9 or switching it mid page like on 11), and keeping consistent proportions, etc that crop up pretty regularly.

The fact that we see some beautiful stuff in here is really a shame because when it is contrasted with some lower quality stuff it stands out all the more. Like page 7 has some beautiful examples of dynamic posing but when taken as a whole it looks off. There is also this kind of stylistic disconnect. Page 7 is a great example of this too: you see a very “clean” style with some of the poses but the top row of panels, middle row, and bottom row all seem stylistically very different (like, same artist, but exploring different techniques). This makes it very hard to keep track of things like on page 8 we have Sau, the protagonist, drawn very differently on two panels (bottom left and bottom right) and it took me a beat to figure out they were the same person (since the characters look so non-human).

I’ve definitely seen worse but this isn’t winning any awards.

Now, more than half way through, we get another story with MUCH better art. If this entire book was just this style it’d get a solid 8/10 but we get some much worse art at the start. A mixed bag doesn’t make it better- just drags it down by comparison.

Layout: I always say a hallmark of a good comic is good lettering and layout and... yeah. It’s serviceable. That being said, “serviceable” and unobtrusive is the term you want to have to describe your comic. The font could use a little more spacing (between letters and between lines) but that’s minor gripe.

What is NOT a minor grip is page 15. Ouch. Really? That is some painful text, a grainy image behind it, and the author forgot a period in their first ellipsis. That’s just sloppy.

They make good use of their panels and even get creative. Sometimes they arbitrarily restrain/clip art in panels but I'm not going to judge them too harshly for that.

Writing / Story: So the first like third of this comic is just a fight/training scene and nothing really gets going until like page 8/25. When it does get going it’s a story about angels and... well a lot of it is about training. It covers some stuff about the war between the angels and satan. It sets up a kind of order of elite angels

Seriously, if this comic talked about training anymore I’d think I was watching a bad episode of DBZ. We get a big exposition bomb about half way in that just drags on and feels like “block text” in a video game; the kind you want to skip. A lot of this could have been summed up more conversationally or shown through action or, better yet, tossed in a recap paragraph at the start of the comic. Seriously- this is a medium that thrives on its combination of sequential visuals and literary communication; having paragraph length speech bubbles with a bust-shot of a character’s head with little or no background isn’t a proper use of this medium. At one point it just gives up and give us some journal entries... which I’d like except this is a visual AND literary medium; more text bombs don’t make things better. Come on dude, I really want to like this; USE YOUR MEDIUM!

The writing, overall, is competent but we still get some headscratchers; lines like (and this is a full sentence with it’s actually punctuation), “Who or what to fight I joked.” It’s grammatical errors like this that make it a little hard to read. There are at least 2 instance of the author trying to use an ellipsis, and only giving us 2 periods. This book really needed an editor or at least another editing pass or two.

The second story in this book is a painful read. Like I get that it’s trying to show a tortured soul but it just comes across as being rather emo or “edgy for the sake of edgy”. It comes off very trite and is more “scripture porn” than an actually meaningful story. I’m not entirely sure if this second character is supposed to be Sau from the first one but, though I’m fairly sure it’s not (unless they changed its design again). Not much happens here except for a fight and a warrior bemoaning their existence. At least they used the visual and literary mediums together in this and we get some pretty artwork.

Overall: So the last pages reveal that this is a Christian comic. I had my guesses but I judged it entirely as a comic (and wrote most of this review, in note form, before seeing that). I’ve given good and bad reviews to Christian comics but... yeah, this isn’t a great one. It gets a little heavy-handed at the end. Part of me wonders if there were different artists and/or writers on this but they just didn’t get credited. It’s either that or this was just one of the most schizophrenic artist/writers ever.

This is a hard one for me. It’s got moments of brilliance but MAN does it fall apart. We get the exposition dump and mismatched art in the 1st story and the emo diatribe in the second. This sucks because the 1st had an interesting setup (if a little over explained) and the 2nd has awesome artwork.

I can’t recommend this one but, if you dig it, more power to you.

Metrics: Art: 3/10 [2nd part has awesome art, 1st is a mixed bag] Lettering/Layout: 7/10 [Lettering is legible. Layout is solid.] Plot: 4/10 [A decent premise but is implemented poorly] Novelty: 5/10 [Angels vs devils but pretty standard. Unique, if not confusing character designs] Overall: 4.75/10

Review from https://indycomicreview.wordpress.com



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Eternal Elite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The United #1
by Scotty G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/24/2015 12:19:23

The United

Staff: Melchizedek Todd

Overview:

An honest to God solid Christian multi-publisher crossover.

Review:

Ok so today I am going to do something a little different. I normally review only Issue #1s but today I am going to take a look at “The United” which, while technically a #1, is actually a mega crossover event between 10 Christian themed superheroes. I am totally in support of Indie crossovers and I was very excited to come across this one. For better or for worse- I am going to check out The United #1. Let’s give it a look.

Lettering & Layout

The layout is very reader friendly- as a 10 character crossover has to be. We have a character page with headshots and names of all the characters and when we are introduced to them we are given a small blurb about their abilities. This is helpful and not super intrusive.

The lettering is not fantastic. The introduction uses some very stock fonts in big, poorly laid out, exposition blocks. In panel the lettering is odd. Sometimes it is stretched or warped oddly but you can read it without issue.

Art

The art style is very stroke-heavy and is something I’d more expect to see in a horror comic but it is very detailed and it works. Someone obviously put a lot of love into the art for this comic and it shows. There are some anatomical oddities and inconsistencies but overall it’s fluid and is more a stylistic thing than anything. My only other real complaint is that due to the high contract and stroke-heavy nature of the art sometimes it is a little hard to follow if there is a large number of characters on the page. While not on the professional level- it isn’t a bad attempt and every scene has a plethora of “things” going on (as opposed to the empty background a lot of indie comics have).

Story

What we get out of this comic is a good old-fashioned superhero beatdown. I was skeptical of this comic until about page 7 because that page features a whole host (see what I did there? pun pun) of heroes just beating the living hell (I got a million of these) out of some robots on a beautifully done splash-page. THIS is what crossover comics are about.

In short, they have all been summoned by what is essentially the Devil (who has a rather fun and unique character design). A lot of Christian comics I have reviewed in the past were very preachy and (pardon the pun) black and white about morality. “God is good” is the only message we get and we are never introduced to the complexities of matters of morality and faith. I’m not religious and that always put me off about them. This comic doesn’t do that however. Right off the bat we are given some very valid reasons as to why God is a jerk by the antagonist. He talks about how God turns his back on the weak, punishes the innocent, and is wrathful at seemingly random times. While we (as readers) and the heroes are never going to side with the Devil on this one- this is a legitimate test of faith for the characters. We get some good back and forth from these characters and they show their devotion in their own way. Some quote biblical passages, some are silent, and some show their colors by simply quipping back but no one falters in their faith. A scumbag even calls them, “super-powered Jesus freaks” and that shows that the writer is not afraid to address the absurdity of the premise within the context of the real world. It makes it more believable and human- something a lot of superhero comics lack.

If there is a weakness to this comic- it is the overall plot. We have a bunch of kind of directionless plot threads that are just kind of thrown at us. They are fun visually but we aren’t made privy to exactly why some things are happening or what their overall goal is. Honestly- I wasn’t looking for Les Miserables from a massive crossover book but it would have been nice to see a more coherent story put together all the same.

Overall

Overall- this comic defied my expectations. I expected to get a moralizing yuppy Christian book with a bunch of, as the comic puts it, “superpowered Jesus freaks” but what I got was a lot of fun. It was a fast paced beat ‘em up with more characters than I could shake a stick at. It wasn’t overly long and while the overall direction was a bit messy it had a very good approach to the whole concept. Give it a read.

Metrics

Art: 5/10 (Stylized and decent. Not pro.)

Lettering: 3/10 (Not professional)

Plot: 5/10 (A realistic world with some interesting moral questions but lacks direction overall)

Novelty: 8/10 (A GOOD Christian comic? This is a white whale.)

Overall: 5/10 (but go read it)

Review from: http://indiecomicreview.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The United #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review Scotty G.
The United #1
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2013 06:20:34

The United seems to be a story that can be made into a book worth collecting. The writers have a lot to clear up with the path of the storyline and maybe not adding too many heroes at one time. I like the direction the writers want to take this story but they need to concentrate on one thing at a time. Good start though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The United #1
by Warren M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2013 16:36:57

The United #1 is a nice superhero comic book. I enjoyed reading it. Melchizedek art good and not over done. Look forward to checking out more titles from them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Allegories of the Way-Volume 4
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 01:28:28

I love this series of comics.

They have a strong Christian theme, focusing on angels warring within man against the demons tempting man and of course the biggest challenge to them is man's own willingness for sin and self destruction. This is no "Chick" comic meant to go "Boo!" like a cliche morality play, it's deep and with great feeling. And it's a lot of work and an excellent story and free, they don't even hammer you for donations though you can on the publisher's webpage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Allegories of the Way-Volume 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Allegories of the Way:Angels and Souls Volume 1-The CUT
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2012 04:25:25

I love this series a lot. Don't know if what I can say can do it justice or not, but here goes...

I'm a late comer to belief and I won't go into any personal story or ram the KJV down your throat. This book isn't about scaring you with the "Fire and brimstone" issue and legalism. One man's opinion it shows how you-know-who loves you so much no matter who or what you are.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Allegories of the Way:Angels and Souls Volume 1-The CUT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your comments Ben. They're very encouraging to me.
Allegories of the Way Volume 2
by Rene B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 12:29:58

looks great and full of passion for God. i would encourage everyone to take a look at it!!!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Allegories of the Way Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Rene. Thanks for your comments. I would had thanked you sooner if I knew I could reply to reviewers. How did you like the other volumes?
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates