DriveThruComics.com
Find Category
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Golden Agers: Super Sampler (in color)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 15:26:35

I love me some Golden Age comics. Even though they're simple by today's standards, I still really enjoy reading them. Thanks for collecting these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Golden Agers: Super Sampler (in color)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Golden Agers: Thun'da
by Gerald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 17:24:00

Disappointed this book was not in color. I own a copy of this comic that is in color and it is a really fine book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Golden Agers: Thun'da
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Daring Dames Spotlight: Black Cat & Kitten (in color)
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2014 05:44:10

Tries to be zany and wacky, but comes off badly in both story & art.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames Spotlight: Black Cat & Kitten (in color)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Daring Dames: Far Out Females (in color)
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2014 02:35:54

Okay little stories poking fun at magical girl stories & harem comedies. The art on the stories could use some work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames: Far Out Females (in color)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Daring Dames Diaries
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2013 05:12:58

Interesting and readable approach, comic-book characters with appropriate tales told in text form rather than in graphics, comic-style.

Linked by the common theme of female protagonists, there are ten short stories. Each has a brief note about the origins of the main character and a comic-style illustration to set the scene. The stories, whilst original pieces of work, have kept the flavour and style of the comic-book stories in which the characters once appeared.

One story - Jill Trent - Science Sleuth: Monkey See, Monkey Kill - is a particular delight as it weaves in those glorious advertisements that pepper the back pages of a comic book. You know the ones, x-ray specs, sea monkey colonies, itching powder and the like. This tale weaves them straight into the adventure and it all makes a wierd kind of sense - great fun as well as a neat twist.

A delightful read for any comic fan who doesn't mind moving out of the comic strip into text stories.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames Diaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

High School Hijinks
by Scotty G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2013 12:04:59

High School Hijinks Staff: Jer Alford, Willie Jimenez, Amanda Garman, Bar-1

Overview: An earnest attempt by non-Japanese to do manga.

Review: I am not really just what I’m reading. Once again, I’m a bit out of my typical wheelhouse, but I soldier on. The first page looked promising at first until I realized that the artwork in the background was stock art of a high school. Well... let’s not judge a comic by it’s cover and jump into “High School Hikinks”.

The first page here tells us there are three stories. Gaijin HI, Furry Ninja H.S., abd H.S. Sweethearts. I’m going to play a game and try to guess the plots of these before I read them based on the teaser panel. (lets see how I do). One is about a weird foreigner in a typically Japanese high school who has a bizarre twist, the second on the list will have little to do with actual high school and more to do with ninja bunnies, and the third will be a rather emo one about two students falling in love.

The first comic, “High School Sweethearts” starts with a piece of artwork drawn on line paper and is by someone named Willie Jimenez Aka “Idest”? (Seriously, couldn’t tell what it said.) The art style looks like someone tried to adopt the manga art style but had little to no formal training in art. The opening dialogue and scene was painful to read and watching the two main characters awkwardly pose while they talked was even more so. Lines like, “...but girls are watching me.” “Yea yea, quiet... here comes one now!” or “I’m sure you know me as Jessie. The coolest kid in school.” show a lack of understanding the fundamentals of writing. We know there is a girl. People don’t refer to girls as a gender, but the individual (It’s like having your dad walk up and your brother say, “There is a father”). And some of the reactions from teachers... it’s bizarre. We also get a very bizarre set of facial expressions in this comic where, even for a comic done in manga style, their reactions are totally overblown and at time inappropriate for the panel. I understand trying to portray sadness or loneliness but subtlety is the name of the game. In this comic we are beat over the head with it. The art in this comic suffers from a lack of understanding anatomy. Manga is stylized and this one is too, but proportions need to be maintained between panels and relative size should established early on and continued.

In short, it was a kind of a mess, the plot was a contrived romance between two high school students, and the art was poor. 1/1 in my predictions!

Mini-Metics Art: 2/10

Lettering: 4/10

Plot: 1/10 Novelty: 1/10

Overall: 2/10 The second one is “Furry Ninja H.S”. (It’s a little weird that they are out of order). The first panel says that this is based on “Ben Dunn’s Ninja High School”. I had to look it up. Apparently it is a comic series I haven’t read so I am going to excuse some stuff on this comic as a result. Now, I’m not a huge furry fan, but I can get it. Different strokes for different folks and by the end of the first few pages this already looks a lot better the “High School Sweethearts”. I know well enough that this isn’t my area of interest, but the comic is cohesive, they don’t waste much time on exposition (something even professional comic writers have an issue with) and I can tell the characters by their introductions. Then we jump into some random robot fight without much explanation, but it fits with the tone of the comic (and I don’t know NHS so I assume it’s a “thing”). A crazy furry... ninja... alien... fight ensues (just roll with it) and then it descends into complete and wonderful chaos to the point that we need a 1 panel continuity reset after some bad pop culture references and a 4th wall break. This one... well it gets a pass because it’s crazy. Art is half way decent, just shy of pro level, and is looks good even if it’s not my thing. (2/2!)

Mini-Metics Art: 6/10

Lettering: 5/10

Plot: 4/10

Novelty: 3/10

Overall: 4.5/10

The third one starts off with a good ol’ fashion rustling of my Jimmies. This ones features some terrible lettering and the name “Gajin”. Even when played for parody, Japan’s zenophobia (stemming for it’s long isolationist period) is never something really that needs to be highlighted. I feel it’s somewhat akin to naming a comic, “Jiggaboo High School” in some respects. It’s a slightly derogatory term (ok Jiggaboo is a really offensive term... I just like the way the word parts sound) that gets used with an almost positive connotation.

Anyway, the comic has the footprints of someone who isn’t from Japan trying to write a story set in Japan in a Japanese style. It would be like if someone from Japan tried to remake Boy Meets World or the Little Rascals (Topanga would of course be a busty space alien ninja cat girl with a crush on the unassuming shy geek Cory who has a special power). I’m not saying that an American can’t write stories set in Japan but you need to write from a place you know- not try to imitate something you don’t. This results in a world that is neither here nor there. The dialogue is childish and formulaic, the characters are stock, and the plot is the plot from every harem anime you’ve ever seen. The art is a painful attempt to imitate drawing a style they were not trained to draw. (3/3!)

Mini-Metics Art: 4/10

Lettering: 1/10

Plot: 3/10

Novelty: 1/10

Overall: 2.25/10 Also, the last page looks like Lisa Frank threw up all over a manga.

As a whole, this book was really schizophrenic. It had some decent parts (Oddly enough, “Furry Ninja H.S” wasn't bad to my surprise) but the other two were straight up painful to read. It feels like some friends who liked anime got together with these “three really cool ideas” and tried their hand at making something they had no business making. The failure in tone, story, and character development permeates so many levels of these comics but it’s magically how they manage to make it cohesive. If this is your thing- go for it. You are going to like it either way. It really seemed like a lot of passion and effort went into this comic. They really are passionate about what they do and I salute the hell out of them for that... however, anyone reading this will be hard pressed to wipe the armature fingerprints off this one.

Metrics

Art: 4/10 (Varies but in favor of bad. B&W by the way) Lettering: 3/10 (Decent in some, really bad in others) Plot: 2/10 (Directionless) Novelty: 1/10 (A lot of tired plots) Overall: 2.75/10

Review from: http://indycomicreview.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High School Hijinks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

High School Hijinks
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2013 05:50:03

High School Sweethearts - Story was confusing and the art can use some work.

Furry Ninja High School - Pretty good art, story is okay.

Gaijin Hi - If you like harem comedies, it's not bad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames: Masked Maids
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2013 05:52:49

I liked the cover art, but the story art was not as good. The story falls into the Harem Comedy genre, which I'm not a fan of, but it was cute.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames: Masked Maids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Daring Dames: Spicy Jungle Tales
by Volkamenia V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2013 19:25:53

I wanted to say something nice about it, but...

It might have worked as a concious parody of anime. That's what it was trying to be. The overly cliche characters, dialogue, etc. I get that. I get what it was trying to be. But when the jokes you pile into something are so obvious, one after the other like this, it gets old really fast. If it was aimed at children, the writing would be forgivable.

...But where the writing was forgivable, the art isn't. The art is -atrocious-. The artist has no grasp on anatomy, line work or colouring. The character designs are boring except for the random scuba suit guy which was the only element of this I found amusing. The panelling and flow is confusing. And google search backgrounds? Really? I'm pretty certain that the art isn't intentionally this bad, since the book is being sold for money.

No excuses. > _ > I want my $1 back.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Dames: Spicy Jungle Tales
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadly Dames: Vile Villainesses
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2013 07:07:04

Feel like a kid "again" . . . from the 1950s!

This book collects and reprints tales from the Golden Age of comics, with stories themed to exotic femme fatales. The stories chosen are obscure, a little cheesy, and purely fun. The artwork is classic, the storytelling is rudimentary, but the output is great.

If you find yourself watching the B horror movies on Saturday nights, then this comic will be quite enjoyable to you. Plot points can twist in abbreviated ways, but an overarching story stays consistent. Plus, the books display how good comics used to be at telling a complete story in 8 pages.

This is the type of book that would get read again and again. If you have a summer vacation planned, grab this book and make a pledge to read it over and over while you are relaxing. You'll feel like a kid again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Dames: Vile Villainesses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Hearts In Oz
by Volkamenia V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2013 23:23:57

This was cute~. The story seemed a bit rushed, and not a whole lot actually happened despite the fact that we were introduced to 8495783927 characters (probably a bit too many characters to start with). I'm not really familiar with Oz stuff, but the story seems to be written with this in mind, so it didn't matter much. Extra kudos for yuri. It's a shame that this won't continue as a comic series, since i think it leant itself to that format well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hearts In Oz
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates