DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Megabook M4
by Joya R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 18:48:31

MEGABOOK is a great book. The variety of stories, artwork and poetry keeps your attention from section to section. The section artwork is amazing and the book flows very well, makes you pay attention because the section pages tell its' own story. Very creative. I really liked the cover art and the concept artwork in the back. Each MEGABOOK seems to get better and better. I highly recommend this Anthology and look for the next one to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Megabook M4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fuerza 7 #1 English
by Gerald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 15:52:56

Did not like issues 1 - 7. Found artwork very distracting and hard to follow. Deleted all issues from hard drive.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fuerza 7 #1 English
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Catfight - Dream Into Action
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2014 05:29:43

The artist is best when drawing adults, unfortunately not so good when it comes to drawing children, which is a good portion of the story. The story is kind of weak.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Catfight - Dream Into Action
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Megabook M3
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 03:26:50

Co-op - Art's not good (appears to be pictures messed about with in Photoshop), the story has a number of spelling and grammar errors.

Astral Crusaders - Okay art, interesting story.

Monkey Boy - Nice cartoony art & story.

Drugbust - Not so good art, an interesting idea, but an underwhelming story.

Gatekeeper - Nice art and characters, although the mystery of what's going on is left for the next chapter.

Transient - Rough art and "story". Not enough plot.

The Accidental Hero - Amusing text story.

Diver Down - Nice art, story is okay.

Decay - The number of typos were distracting and the character sketch wasn't all that interesting.

Wargod - Okay art, not much of a story, it feels like a teaser, but we're not given much reason to care.

Spirit Legends - Cartoony, manga-esque art that works for the cartoony manga-esque story.

Nestor - Relatively good art, the story probably could have been helped with a little more background and character, as it is it's pretty straight forward (hero confronts villain, hero defeats villain) that one wonders what the point was.

Last Call - Okay art, but practically no story at all.

Pantheon - Art could be better, the story became interesting once the gods came into it.

M.R.P. - Art is okay, the story has its moments, although the trapped in a video game aspect works against it for me.

Dhampyr - Okay art, okay story.

Thrillscarlet - Nice illustrated text story, but the number of typos was annoying.

Kathleen - Pages 2 & 3 are in the wrong order. Art's okay, but the story is just an introduction.

Grimm Legacy #1 - Cute story.

Grimm Legacy #2 - Cute, but just part one of the story.

Monuments Men - Okay intro.

Catfight Dream Into Action Intro - Shame the artist doesn't know how to draw sixth graders, since the two main characters are that age for most of this intro.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Megabook M3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Megabook M2
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2014 03:01:05

Chori Rider: First Ember - Feels like something is missing between the first and second page.

Herodotus Underwear - Okay, but didn't make me laugh.

Note On A Contract Pending - The art's not great and the story kind of loses it at the end with a plot twist out of nowhere.

Solomon Wyrd in Once More A Serpent Rises - Nice art. Not a bad story.

Zomboid The Zombie Android in Awakenings - The art is kind of fitting for a horror type story. The writing might be okay for a longer story, but with just four pages to show off very little is learned about the backstory and the characters are just there, with no reason to care for, or against, them.

The Lake Monster - Tries to be a monster/horror story, but doesn't really have a story to support the events we see. Had potential, but needed a rewrite or two. Art could be better.

Marco Alvarado - Art is okay, but the story is slight and the science wonky.

Cursed By Moonlight - Okay, if predictable, one-pager.

Pyrokinetic Oblivious - Cute. Nicely shows the unintended consequences of a superpower.

Gateway City Betrayal - The art's not bad, the story's kind of depressing.

Thereafter - Okay, but nothing special story.

Demon Fist: Volume 1 Chapter 3 - Art's okay, there's action and backstory, but no reason to care for or against the main character.

Left Me For Dead - Moody, actiony revenge story with no character development.

Slade Vs. The Terror Klowns - Action story with little character development.

Fallin' - An interesting idea, but not much is done with it. It's just kinda there.

True Life - Interesting look at zombification from the zombie POV, but also a bit nasty.

Blood Brothers in Arms - Okay science fiction story.

Aurora - Okay story & art.

Diamond - Odd story, but okay art.

Astral Crusaders - Nice art, Okay action adventure story.

Perfect - Interesting story about a... dark superhero.

The Gifted Path - Dull story and the art doesn't work to try and make it interesting.

The Legacy - Not my cup of tea.

Cygnus - An attempt to get back to comics with larger than life actions, but the art isn't that good.

Red Devil - Good art, stories a bit confusing, but okay.

Trigger - The writing is okay, but would probably work better as a full story.

The Uncanny - Bizarre, but then I think that's the point of this story.

Terror Klowns The Dark Stories - If you like horror you might like this. I didn't.

Twilight Of The Gods - Interesting set-up, art's not bad.

Death Of A Hero - Interesting idea, but not told all that well. Needed more fleshing out.

Young Socrates Goes For A Walk - Interesting.

Perish From This Earth - I'm sick to death of zombie apocalypse stories, although the underlying message of this one was nice.

Nephlim - Okay set-up to a longer story.

Pantheon - A little too vague to work well as a set-up.

The Bang Bang Theory - Fun little romp.

Xeros - Okay little SF short, but nothing special.

Q and A with Alpha Q - Fun little comic. Nice art and funny writing.

Man of God - Interesting set-up to the story, but it just didn't grab me and make me care about the main character.

Catfight Sampler - The story was okay for what it was, but since the main two characters are supposed to be sixth graders it would have been nice if the artist actually knew how to draw sixth graders.

Horror Takes A Holiday - Uhhhh... yeah... some amusing meta-humor, but it goes on too long.

Distant Fields - Okay supernatural story, the art could have been better.

Kisses From the Devil - Art is not good and the story doesn't tell much about Albert Kiss or the crimes he committed past the basic details.

The Big Cover-Up! - Nice art, but the story wasn't much.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Megabook M2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Megabook M3
by jordan t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2014 14:41:40

This book is absolutely amazing. The amount of stories and the art just makes you want to read it over and over. The fact that it is free is just too cool! Check it out everyone you will not be disappointed I promise!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Megabook M3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Wulfen Prologue: Teeth
by Scotty G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2013 11:12:17

Wulfen Prologue: "Teeth"

Staff: Ed Doyle, Liam Kavanagh

Overview: If werewolves are your thing, give it a read I suppose.

Review: So today I’ll be sinking my fangs into a werewolf comic. The market is kind of saturated with vampire and steampunk stuff, but at least the werewolf thing came and went pretty quietly. Anyway, lets take a look at Wulfen Prologue: Teeth.

The art on this one isn’t shabby but it’s by no means approaching professional grade. It’s full color but lacks the consistency that comes practice. Sometimes the artwork it pretty decent but then it slips into laziness and it suffers a bit. It’s a shame because it really has the potential to be a very interesting art style. Maybe with a bit more refinement and attention to detail the artist behind this could be downright phenomenal.

The lettering bugs me a little. It’s not bad and it is legible but like with the art, sometimes it looks a bit sloppy. Letters getting close to the edge, things not centered correctly, a few obnoxious bright yellow narration boxes with black text that hurt my eyes a little. Oh and I’m not sure where to mention this so this is as good a point as any but their cover is 3-4 times larger than the other pages so it has the effect of shrinking the others by default (which is a technical issue so I won’t be factoring that into my rating).

Now the characters in the book are pretty one dimensional. We have Wulf, a werewolf hunting outcast werewolf due to the circumstances of his birth (replace “werewolf” with “vampire” and this sounds a little familiar...). The “villains” are generic and serve only as a sounding board for exposition and to demonstrate that Wulf is a badass. I mean he basically lays out all the broad strokes of his background to them while fighting them.

The plot takes a backseat, a wolf was captured because some hunters think it killed some kids. To be honest- I’m with the hunters by the end of this. They did their due diligence to check to make sure it was the one who killed the kids (fangs) and then Wulf comes bursting in and kicks the crap out of them. His rationale is kind of weak, (“Wolves only hunt for food!”*) and leave me kind of thinking that Wulf is an amoral jerk rather than some protector of the wild.

*From what I understand, this is more or less true but a-typical behaviors have been recorded in clusters of incidents. Heck, in 2013 alone at least 6 people were killed by non-rabid wolves.

A lot of the dialogue is excessively grim and contrived (“A mission ... of death!”) and sometimes made me kind of cringe awkwardly reading it. I mean, I’ll give it credit- it jumped full on into the vibe it was going for. Despite this, it still feel a bit short like maybe the author’s heart was infatuated with the idea rather than earnestly understanding the premise he was getting into on a intimate level.

Ultimately I am not really impressed with this comic. It delivers what as promised, but only goes through the motion. It feels like the team is trying to mimic making a comic rather than write a story. Getting caught up too much in tropes of the medium (particularly when starting out) leave a comic feeling kind of unpolished. Hey, know what though? They are totally vibing on this comic and if werewolves are your thing- you could do a hell of a lot worse. Give it a read.

Metrics Art: 5/10 (Decent. A bit sloppy at times but a lot of love.) Lettering: 4/10 (Few missteps) Plot: 4/10 (Coherant but exposition heavy) Novelty: 2/10 (Blade want it's premise back) Overall: 3.75/10

Review From: http://indycomicreview.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wulfen Prologue: Teeth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Megabook M1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2013 05:48:25

Heads In Tales - Art's a little rough, but the stories okay, but pages 4 & 5 are in the wrong order.

Catching Up - Cute art & story, but completely ignores a certain legal issue that would be a big deal in the real world.

Another Day At the Office - Okay art, but the story (what there is of it) really doesn't make me interested in finding out what happens next.

Born Dead - Three page science fiction text story. Not bad.

Argyrosis - Art was a bit odd, but it did the job. Story was okay.

Solomon Wyrd - Art and story are okay. Pages 2 & 3 are out of order, Seems like it could be a good series.

Ambrosia - Interesting start to a longer story.

War Party in Triple Crossed! - Art's good and if you like stories were the main character is an obnoxious hit man you might like. Not my cup of tea though.

Death Mark - Art's pretty good, but that's all there is.

The Internauts in Inferno - Uhhhhhh... is this supposed to be a parody?

Tyresias XV - Nice art, cute joke.

Bombsight - Nice art, okay story.

Scarlet Justice - Amusing, nice art.

Driver's Seat - Interesting idea, but too short to really do a lot with the idea.

Fuerza 7 - The art is too stark and makes figuring out who is who difficult.

The Grandfather Paradox - Overly simplistic with elements that have been done to death in these kinds of stories.

Rats - The big problem with this story is that there is no logical reason why the immediate problem prevented the bigger problem from happening.

The Smuggler's Lament - Cute story, nice art.

Vigilante And Me - Funny story, nice art.

The Unnamed Planet - Not a bad story, nice art.

London Shadow - Interesting character study. Suitably creepy art.

The Leaf in The Hoax - Nice introduction to the character.

Swords Of The Dead - Poor introduction to the series, doesn't even show the swords of the title. art's okay.

The Hooded Cobra - Nice introduction, okay art.

William The Soulless - Good story, good art.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Megabook M1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Gifted Path
by Walter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2013 20:04:17

This comic surprised me! Raphael is a character I can identify with and the story is pretty interesting, although this issue seems to just be about introductions. The art is ok. Not the best I've seen but definitely not bad. The issue ends kind of abruptly and left me wondering where the story goes from there. Anyone know if issue 2 is out yet? I'd love to read it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Gifted Path
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Wulfen Prologue: Teeth
by Colin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2012 14:12:48

The writing has that sort of overheated comic-book noir feel to it -- not my cuppa tea, but I know some people dig that. Works well enough as an introduction in that it communictaes some of the concept and tells a little story. File size is way too big.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wulfen Prologue: Teeth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates