DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Seasons of Fear: Mont Saint-Michel by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:25:16

This book is worth every penny you pay for it! The layout is clean, and the art is fantastic. From a game runners perspective this is an awesome setting for a Dark Ages came with a focus on religion and close personal horror. I actually had meant to write a review a long time ago on this because I was solidly impressed. I'm a big fan of the Cainite Heresy elements in the Dark Ages setting and I think this book takes that concept and runs full-tilt with that concept. This is 57 pages of amazing content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seasons of Fear: Mont Saint-Michel by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Ghiberti
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:20:04

Well written and great layout, but the Bloodline/Clan doesn't do much for me. I think the major legacies for Kindred of the Ebony Kingdom have a lot of resonance to them, and this Giovanni offshoot has interesting elements to them, but I feel like they are missing a spark of something that is hard to nail down. Much of my academic work was focused on the region of Africa they are predominant in, so it may simply be that I don't see the richness I would like from this little book.

That said, the price is great and I could be wrong. The writing is solidly written. As a guideline for how to use these templates, it is fantastic. As a book I would recommend it doesn't quite have a certain je nais se quoi. C'est la vie.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Ghiberti
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Missoula by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:13:33

I'd forgotten I'd purchased this book until this evening. I pulled this up and gave it a solid read. The quality of the layout is fantastic. The content is interesting, and though I know nothing about the city I was engaged with the details provided. It's a short, but well crafted city book and there isn't much more one could ask. If you are interested in this book, you should buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Missoula by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Blood Brothers
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:10:24

I'm a fan of the Blood Brothers and have been for about twenty years. When I first got into Hellblazer (John Constantine) I was amused to discover they were inspired by a scene from that comic. This is a good treatment of the Blood Brothers in the Victorian Era. When I get a chance to run a Victorian Age game I'll likely pull this out and have some fun with it. The price is right, and that helps me leave any minor critiques to myself. It's worth your time to support.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Blood Brothers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

W20 Skinner SAS
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:04:30

Samuel Haight has a legacy that will burn through the World of Darkness for all time. I was thrilled to see this product hit my hands and it is one of my favorite things to use in W20. I've been slowly unfolding a Skinner story with my PCs in two separate games and I'm excited to see where it goes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Skinner SAS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Aberrant Rulebook
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 21:01:54

Aberrant is my all time favorite Supers game, and close to my favorite RPG in general. A newer edition is under construction over at Onyx Path, but I'll always treasure my original copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aberrant Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

M20 The Mage Cookbook
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 20:59:31

The recipes in this book are a lot of fun, even though I haven't had a chance to make more than one of them yet. I really look forward to making more. Also, there was a surprising amount of flavor text that helped me understand a few of the traditions a little bit more, which was an unexpected treat.

If you like game themed cookbooks, this one is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Mage Cookbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Harlem Unbound
Publisher: Darker Hue Studios
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 09:52:11

Sometimes I run across a random writer's work and I can't leave it alone. That's been my experience with the stuff that Chris puts together. Harlem Unbound presents a historically accurate and intense setting to run CoC games that help flip the tropes of the Lovecraftian Mythos. This is subversive at its best, taking and tackling hard issues and instilling horror and shock into the system. From a Keeper/ST standpoint, there is excellent advice in this book you should take. Every person that runs games should take this feedback into account. Solid game, solid writing. 5/5 because there are few books as good as this on the market. I wish I could give it a 6/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harlem Unbound
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 13:09:47

All in all, this is a fantastic update to the metaplot of Vampire: The Masquerade. Mr. Dawkins and his crew goes above and beyond as usual in this book. Seriously, if you like the metaplot for VtM, check this out. Also, there are some cool seeds for ideas that might end up in V5.

Check out this full review on my website: http://keepontheheathlands.com/2018/01/10/plot-to-v5-review-of-becketts-diary/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Clanbook: Nahema
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2017 12:22:26

This is one of the best products on the ST Vault. The Clan/Bloodline is incredibly interesting and ties in with multiple larger WoD plotlines. Malakai is referenced in Gehenna and I believe in other books as well. You also have a really interesting tie in with the Cappadocians here. Everything you'd need to run this Clan is presented, including all 9 levels of their discipline.

On top of that, you've got extended details on mental illness presented in a way that is respectful and useful. This is a text that is worth every penny you spend, if you are looking to add Malakai and her brood to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Nahema
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Deeply, from the bottom of my heart, thank you. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed Clanbook: Nahema. -Travis
Buffalo by Night: Player's Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 19:48:36

There is a ton of potential in this book, but there are also some flaws.

The Good

The book has great information on the overall layout of Buffalo for the WOD and that is helpful. There are dozens of characters that seemingly make Buffalo home and these characters are largely interesting. Buffalo is a great WoD city and it is good to have it on display here.

The Great

The locations provided are cool and I could see myself using them in a game. Particularly The Fencing Club and The Lost Chantry. I would use these, potentially in a different city.

The Bad

Layout was done in Word, and the overall quality if the layout makes this not feel like a great value. It's not bad, it just isn't amazing. The text needs an editor, there are small grammar issues throughout and an inconsistent tone. With a solid editing pass and layout in InDesign this could easily get an extra star. There is a solid passion here, and that passion is worth a lot. Formatting made me think this should be labelled a 1st Ed book, but the author noted it was designed for V20.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buffalo by Night: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Just a quick note: I like the rules 4th edition very very much, but prefer the tone and feel of first and second. Wanted to clarify that. :)
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2017 14:45:26

The Rroma have a tragic history in the World of Darkness, but I've seen some of the work that April put into this book along the way and I was super excited to see it up and ready for purchase. This is fantastic. This new bloodline is culturally senstive, interesting, and hell yes I am willing to use these characters in a game. The storytelling aspect of the discipline that the Lundo Drom utilize makes sense. It's also thematically really interesting. It also makes me want to create a connection between the Daughters of Cacophany and the Lungo Drom, which would be thematically really fascinating for a Victorian Era game, that bridges modern and Dark Ages.

Well done. This is worth every penny you pay for it.

The layout is great, the discipline is awesome (so are the combo powers), and the story hooks are fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Our Lady of Sorrows
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2017 13:31:39

The core idea here is solid, but the writing and layout makes this a flawed product. The sentence structure is off, and some don't really make sense. The story itself could be really interesting, but it also feels a little too much like a railroad. The Giovanni are a great clan, and using them as a focus caught my attention, but these characters fall flat and I'm not really interested in their backstory.

To the author; I think it would be good to have an editor for your future products, they can help get your writing a little tighter, and offer some suggestions. Try and create set pieces for your chronicle's, places, locations, and events to drop in, but provide the frameworks and let the ST use that framework as a hopping off point.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2017 06:59:01

Lore of the Bloodlines is an excellent addition to any Vampire ST's library. There are both new and old elements here that will make you appreciate the book. From new merits, new flavor, and new disciplines, you are gaining something, no matter what your style of game is like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates