DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
V5 Storyteller Resources
by Wesley F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 14:17:09

As someone who is decidedly unorganized when it comes to running games, the ST Resources by Gehenna Gaming and Ken is going to be a used at every V5 oneshot and chronicle I run from here on out. Perfect compilation of all the info you would need at a drop of a hat and looks good at the same time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5 Storyteller Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PaperCraft Dice Sects
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:26:08

The concept of paper dice is very interesting. But when we tried to assemble them, we found that they ended up being weighted unevenly, causing the dice results to not be completely random. That being said they were better than having no dice at all, and for an intro game would work fine.

The author also has a lot of grammar errors in this book. The word "data" appears in numerous spots in the book where we believe the author meant to use the word "dice". Also the author should be aware that "dice" is the plural form of the word, while die is the singular form of the word. There are also a few capitialization issues.

Overall the templates themselves are excellent. Care must be taken putting them together, in order to avoid uneven weighting. The few sections of text in the book should be edited.

Update: The author did correct quite a few of the grammar errors. There are still a couple of them remaining, mostly with capitialization. The paper dice are still a nice edition to the storyteller vault library of tools.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PaperCraft Dice Sects
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review. The grammatical errors are being corrected. On the random results, the die follow the same pattern of the actual models, I recommend using the die that are in PNG format
if you liked this template check it out too: http://www.storytellersvault.com/product/243115/PaperCraft-Dice-Clans
PaperCraft Dice Clans
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:25:58

The concept of paper dice is very interesting. But when we tried to assemble them, we found that they ended up being weighted unevenly, causing the dice results to not be completely random. That being said they were better than having no dice at all, and for an intro game would work fine



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
PaperCraft Dice Clans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PaperCraft Dice Breeds
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:25:49

The concept of paper dice is very interesting. But when we tried to assemble them, we found that they ended up being weighted unevenly, causing the dice results to not be completely random. That being said they were better than having no dice at all, and for an intro game would work fine.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
PaperCraft Dice Breeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Pumpkin Eater
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:15:13

A great little book featuring the dreaded Pumpkin Eater... .a great addition to any Halloween themed campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pumpkin Eater
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Blood Red Pearls
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:10:12

Blood Red Pearls continues the story started Red Sickening Lights Manila. It presents interesting characters and an amazing setting. The book feels like its part of the World of Darkness universe and not just a generic vampire story. We recommend that any interested in a good read, who does mind getting invested into the story, check this work out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Red Pearls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Alice in Terrorland
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:07:42

Great little product featuring two creatures from Alice in Wonderland.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alice in Terrorland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

50 Doorways to the Dreaming
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2021 11:05:10

50 Doorways is a short product that basically exists of a table with various short descriptions of entries into the dreaming to be used in a changeling campaign.

The Tabletop Gaming club found this product useful for examples of how one may enter the dreaming.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Doorways to the Dreaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Seitu P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 15:44:24

I'm actually more split on my impression of this book's quality that the relatively high 4/5 I gave it may suggest.

I like the updated history of the Sabbat that the book provides and the alternate take on the sect's changes/growth up to and around the time of the events of V5. Working the Sikorsky/Galbraith affair into the sect's most recent turning point was a nice touch, and the look at the sect in the fray of the Gehenaa as well as how it can feed back into activities outside that arena is rich with possibilities.

In regards to some of the mechanics that are introduced, I'm less impressed. The return to clan-specific disciplines for the Tzimisce and the Saalubri Antitribu seems notably misplaced in the current edition, especially given the use of an Attribute + Skill framework for power dice pools that is absent from every other discipline in the game (it's obviously not a hard fix, if one considers it a problem, but it does make me wonder how much thought went into them to begin with). The Sabbat predator types in the book come off as low-effort paint jobs for existing predator types from core, with the exception of Sorority Sister, which I find to be different enough in its approach to hunting from the Scene Queen, despite their similarities, to bring something a bit distinct to the table.

Most egregious in my opinion are the gaps and ambiguities in the Path of Enlightenment system that the book offers. The preceding section on Sabbat in V5 regarding tenets obviously seeks to address the matter of stains in Sabbat Chronicles and when/if they should come into play, though its statements about automatic stains is curiously focused on murder and torture, which may or may not actually be stains depending on chronicle tenets; as far as actual automatic stains go, the list largely consists of using blood bonds, embracing mortals, varying degrees of harm to Touchstones, stain accrual that's baked into the use of Oblivion in general and the use of specific discipline powers. The general advice to use such stains 'sparingly' technically applies to these default stain triggers, though given the focus on things that aren't actually automatic stains it isn't clear to me that they're what the author had in mind. Even then, however, the book offers no real insight as to which of these sorts of automatic stains or more or less appropriate for Sabbat chronicles, and even accounting for possible outliers that aren't included in the list I provided above, it wouldn't have taken more than a paragraph or two to adequately address this for the majority of cases that turn up in the V5 books thus far. The matter of automatic Humanity loss from diablerie isn't addressed at all, though I think fair reading of the rules presented is that Sabbat who have yet to transition to a Path of Enlightenment remain subject to it while those who are on Paths do not (though it may conflict with the Ethics of their Paths and thereby still merit stains depending on the circumstances). Insofar as automatic stains do apply, the rules for Ethics associated with Paths as replacements for Convictions ironically render them worse at protecting against such stains than Convictions from Humanity since in contrast to the lost Convictions, the Ethics only reduce the total number of stain incurred by one at the end of a session rather than mitigating stains per action. This leads to the almost comical scenario where in order to maintain one's Path rating, the character must succeed on a Remorse roll to feel bad about taking actions that may well be explicitly endorsed, or even celebrated, by the Path they have committed themselves to. Moreover, it's not even clear how many of the Ethics apply to individual characters, which is important not only for their role in stain mitigation, such as it is, but also as a source for stains when characters act against the values that they espouse (and on that note, it isn't really clear what "violation of ethic conviction" is supposed mean on the Violation/Stains table given that the Ethics replace Convictions to begin with). We know that at least one of the Ethics will apply to characters, since that's covered under conversion, but beyond that it isn't clear when or how characters choose additional Path Ethics and it isn't even stated that characters starting on Paths, and thus having Path ratings of 6 from the get-go) choose more Path Ethics than those who are freshly converted.

Hell, as far as conversion goes, it doesn't even provide any information on how a character would go about increasing their Path rating at all; possibilities such as basing the experience cost on the costs for increasing Humanity in core (though that'd obviously be problematic with default experience reward suggestions unless the goal is to spend most of the Chronicle as a near-wight or likely Wassail well before it ends), using the rules for Projects, or simply roleplaying Path advancement come to mind, but even that sort of preliminary spitballing/handwaving demonstrates more thought on this subject than anything that actually made it into the book. I consider this a serious shortcoming given how important the Paths are to the identity of the sect, especially considering how much the author seems to think the book is worth.

To wrap this all up, as far as narrative and thematic elements of the book are concerned, I'd rate the book as a 4 or a 5 out of 5. Mechanics-wise, it slips up enough that I'd rate as a 3 out of 5 (if looking at the rules for Paths alone I'd bring it down to a 2 out of 5). Given that this review is for other people, I settled for an overall score of 4 with the expectation that others may not share my issues with the mechanics, or at least not be as disappointed with them as I am.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Solid feedback and opinions. You've definitely given a well-spoken critique that I will certainly take to heart when going through for an update. I sincerely appreciate the candid view and will try to use it to make the product better in future updates. Thank you very much for your thoughts!
The Lost Childer Play Guide
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 10:28:00

This book is fantastic for players and Storytellers new to V5 or Vampire The Masquerade alike. It offers great tools for introducing new players to the lore of Vampire, in the same vein as some of the old Merits that did so in older editions. Give your new players a leg up in their first games, or veteran players some interesting tools to use for fledgling Kindred entering the World of Darkness following the Final Nights. Highly recommend and well worth the $5 price tag!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Childer Play Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Mark Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 10:10:06

This was much needed for playable Sabbat in V5

There was a lot that went into the Sword of Caine, and it serves as an invaluable resource for those players who want to actually PLAY Sabbat in their V5 game. Not to mention that the book is BEAUTIFULLY designed. It has everything players and STs need to jump into a Sabbat game, and even includes loresheets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

V5 Storyteller Resources
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 08:58:23

If you are a V5 Storyteller this is a really handy set of docs that outlines the core rules of the book, (the V5 core book is not the best for presenting rules information concisely). Also this can easily be printed and made into a great ST screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5 Storyteller Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dark Myth and Legend
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 18:51:21

Dark Myth and Legend is an amazing book that details both monsters and items from legend. Ever want your vampires to encounter a Gryphon. Ever want your vampires to find the Mantle of King Arthur. Then this book is for you.

The Tabletop Gaming Club really enjoyed this book and recommends it to everyone playing vampire game that is infused with a little fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Myth and Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

MrGone's Vampire the Masquerade Fifth Edition Misc Character Sheets
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 14:15:34

These sheets are always helpful. Love the various options for Loresheets, Cotorie Domins and Relationship maps. These are great when explaining these part to players.

I haven't found any issues with pdfs when messing around with them. Just like the character sheets these are worth it and people shoudl give generously.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MrGone's Vampire the Masquerade Fifth Edition Misc Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Capital by Night
by Tatiana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 14:02:33

Material fantástico! Super bem elaborado, bonito, extremamente útil!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Capital by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3135 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates