DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Emerald Valley by Night
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 14:37:20

Excellent product with many interesting concepts at a nice price point.

The focus on humanity in the setting is strong and a inspired choice for a city itself that lacks the epic sprawl of the larger megalopolises. Personal relationships and stories are at the forefront here, though there are still the normal frictions among predatory kindred in a city.

A focus on Eugene's history in the white supremacist movement makes for innate villains, and the stories and backgrounds of the characters highlight that struggle nicely, as well as focusing on humanity as a core element of the game.

There are several strong story seeds presented, an interesting mystical location full of mystery and potential, and the presence of a significant historical personage that fits the theme of the work beautifully.

Only a minor caveat - the editing could be a tad better, but it's a minor issue.

And as a matter of personal taste, when a character from another game line is introduced I prefer seeing basic stats from within that game as well.

Five out five, one of the better examples in the storyteller's vault of the creativity and inspiration of the fan base.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emerald Valley by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

101 Plot Ideas
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 07:36:18

For 80 cents you not only get two sentences long plot ideas for Urban Fantasy, but also they come packed with concrete names of creatures, monsters and myths from real lore. One could investigate further the mythological names and expand upon these ideas very easily, as inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Plot Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Destiny's Price
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 21:22:56

The book may not have aged the greatest out of all of the old Black Dog Games Factory stuff, though to be fair, a lot of the stuff in the 'darker' White Wolf line were worse content-wise, so what can you do? It's certainly a book that has a mood inherent to it, and the weapons tables range from actually useful to outright ridiculous. Owned a copy as a teenager because I thought it was edgy and cool, have this copy now for posterity's sake, for the most part.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Destiny's Price
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mage: the Awakening - second edition / Spellcasting guide
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:13:34

This is one of the single most useful things anybody playing Mage can use at their table. Spellcasting is the most central, but also most complicated aspect of the game. Being able to fit all the information onto a single, double sided page is brilliant. I couldn't ever think of running a game of Mage and not having this available for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: the Awakening - second edition / Spellcasting guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Blood Atlas - Americas
by Lilly K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 05:36:38

Super helpful collection of maps and they are really pretty too! Really handy if you want to get an overview of what is going on around the city you want to run a campaign in without having to hunt around in a bunch of source books. Also helpful in finding a cool place where you could set a campaign... the relative chaos in the Caribbean kinda makes me want to run one there. Definitely looking forward to future installments of the Blood Atlas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blood Atlas - Americas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Library of the Damned
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 10:43:14

BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front): This is a great supplement to enchance the usage of the established lore books (Book of Nod, Revelations of the Dark Mother, etc.). It also really enhances the possiblities of using libraries (in a interesting way) in a chronicle.

An enterprising StoryTeller can use this book to liven up some of those research heavy games (Cappadocians, Blood Sorcerers, etc.) and add some nuances to story.

I have 3 criticisms, but only one is of any note. First, the actual criticism, the book is a little niche. While that is the point of the work, throwing an appendix with a story hook or idea in the book would show how someone can incorporate the info into their table game.

Second, I would have also enjoyed a commentary of the at least one of the lore books by the author, similar to how the Days of Fire (DtF) lore book was done. As a ST, it would enable me to use this book as a sort of reference thesaurus to those other lore books.

Third, James; we're still waiting on that annotated version of the Gospel of Philip....

This book is definitely worth the money, and is a prime example of the author's skill and attention to detail.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Library of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 (Mostly) Harmless Goblin Fruits and Oddments to Find in The Hedge
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 17:32:18

100 (Mostly) Harmless Goblin Fruits and Oddments to Find in the Hedge presents us with short write ups of various fruits and similiar things that characters can find growing in a hedge..and various mechanics involved in interacting with them. This product much like many of the authors previous titles is well written and presents us with very interesting concepts. The only problem with this title is the publisher's layout.... the title on the cover doesn't stand out from the background making it difficult to read. The font size seems a little small with no space between entries which make the text hard to read, (we had to zoom in on the pages).

Overall, the product is a great addition to add flavor to any changeling the lost game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 (Mostly) Harmless Goblin Fruits and Oddments to Find in The Hedge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Blood Atlas - Americas
by Benjamin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2021 10:11:53

A helpful and visually appealing guide to Kindred territories. Aside from the map itself there are explanations of how the territories came to be the way they are. A great resource that saves me the work of having to piece everything together from all the source books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blood Atlas - Americas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Marcus L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 15:50:07

VTM: 20th Anniversary is a classical game and should be played by everyone at least once. It hits home hard the "A beast I am, lest a beast I become" feel that it wishes to portray. Yes, you are a beast, but what are you willing to do to contain it and keep hold of your humanity? With amazing writing, little tidbits everywhere, amazing art, it's a complete game in itself without the need of sourcebooks, although I would recommend those as well.

A lot of media tries to portray Vampires as best they can but nothing hits home quite like the world of Vampire the Masquerade does. And with the ruleset, there is not a single skillroll you can't make easily, especially when it's simply up to you and the GM to determine together what skills and attributes are needed for the moment. Would spinning your revolver in a flashy way to woo a girl a Dexterity + Firearms test, or a Charisma + Performance? Everything from regular checks to combat feels easy to get into, and most of the rules are clear and concise in this 20th anniversary edition.

I bought the hardcover, and it's certainly a sizeable lad of a book, and the quality of the pages and binding is excellent. It feels wonderful to simply skim the pages and look through the chapters. Easy to find most things with a good index in the back, a sorely lacking feature of many modern games.

As World of Darkness games goes, this is by far my favorite and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in playing something darker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Into the Darkness
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 14:04:21

Into the Darkness is adventure written for Vampire the Masquerade but unlike most vampire adventures, the players don't play vampires but instead play mortal hunters. The scenario is broken into 4 basic parts, with lots of options provided based on what players do in that section of the adventure.

The Tabletop Gaming Club truely enjoyed this adventure. We strongly recommend this adventure as an excellent foray into playing mortals in the World of Darkness.

One minor error on the bottom of page 11 in the Jax-Broken-Dream description, there appears to be part of a sentence missing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Paths of the Thief and the Judge
by sam g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2021 09:33:03

Amazing work, well laid out and very idea provocing. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of the Thief and the Judge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Masters of the Art
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 22:14:22

There's a lot of good material for roleplaying in this book. The general distinctions between Archmasters, Exemplars, and Oracles, the discussion of how to maintain your humanity or at least something resembling sanity when long-lived, all of that's great. There's a few awkward places where it contradicts itself (in at least one case within a single paragraph) but overall it's solid. The book's greatest weakness is the Archspheres, which are not well thought out, and include some levels that actually do nothing, from the mechanics.

Overall, a solid book, and if the archspheres were redone the book would be a good thing to update for the current edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of the Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Into the Darkness
by Roslyn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 20:52:55

The Rabinoniwitz pre-gen was missing and the Shady pre-gen is included twice. The file has been updated to fix errors. Plenty of room for narrative and investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for letting me know. I have uploaded a new file that should correct that issue.
Vampire, Twentieth Anniversary Edition: The Classical Age
by Bavo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2021 12:04:55

Though the material is expansive and has promise, what is frankly poor presentation makes it an unpleasant read and currently unsuited as a product in my opinion. The writing, often one of the main selling points of the WOD universe, feels coarse and rough in many places. As if someone did a first pass to translate a lot of it, but never went back to finish the job. Furthermore, the book is filled with odd syntax, spelling errors, mistranslations (sometimes comically so, substituting "The Hug" for "The Embrace") and here and there entire paragraphs stay untranslated (Page 57, Ravnos for instance). In one or two places entire pages are missing. It feels very much like paying full price for a product that is still in Alpha or early Beta.

Furthermore, the PDF does not come pre-bookmarked, the content table does not provide a hyperlink structure and there is no index. This makes the book fairly useless as a sourcebook during play.

The content of the book, once you get past the poor writing, is actually quite competent. There's a lot of information, rituals, disciplines and clans. There's good basic information on Roman life and a few interesting hooks to run a game set in the period. The artwork is high quality and would make the book quite enjoyable, if not for the aforementioned problems. It's this potential that keeps me from entirely hating it. I do feel that making the entire vampire mythos Christian based in a setting where Christianity is far from the mainstream was a missed chance to explore the world of Vampire and the conflict of monotheism and polytheism, but I can understand not entirely wanting to rewrite an entire existing lore system.

TLDR: The book has promise, but don't buy it at full price before it's finished.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire, Twentieth Anniversary Edition: The Classical Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello, Bavo T! How are you. I think you might be wrong in your analysis. Grammatical errors have been heavily fixed, including dozens of revisions regarding the game's system. Maybe you haven't downloaded the new versions I've made available of the file. Search your library inside Storyteller's Vault, and enjoy your reading. I feel that you have discredited the quality of the book compared to its first version. But the fixing promise has been fulfilled and continues to be continually revised with each update. Hope give the change to read with the updates and who knows, change your perspective about the book. Hope you have good games!
Although I have previously answered about the errors and maybe a mistake in not having downloaded the updated version, I have to emphasize that there is an index. Just go to pages 5-8 of the book. Again, I hope you like it! All the best.
Paths of the Thief and the Judge
by Em P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 11:34:25

Great resource for gifts and merits with a good opening segue and interesting interpretations of both Auspices covered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of the Thief and the Judge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3071 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates