DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Into the Terrorium (A Post-Apocalyptic Scenario for TSRPG)
by Rama T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2024 21:37:01

I love the post apocalyptic. Into the Terrorium offers a nice side adventure for your plucky wastelanders. Fits Fallout, Exodus, Darwins world and any of the like. All the boxes are checked for this

1) Lost labratory 2) menacing B movie Giant mutant ants 3) Exploration

Nuff said. It is small and could be even added as a small special random encounter.

Thank you for helping the hobby!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Terrorium (A Post-Apocalyptic Scenario for TSRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House [Revised, Updated & Expanded]
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2024 11:33:35

Everything's great and the additional resources - heck, the maps alone - make it well worth the price. I wish there were another, specific table or two to round things out (maybe some spooky sounds, weather, haunting details, something?), but really great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House [Revised, Updated & Expanded]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Children of the Wolf (Cardstock Characters™)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2024 00:02:11

What good lookin' characters. Great wolf variations, and wereworf forms, especially the red haired wolfen



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Wolf (Cardstock Characters™)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Kobold Lair (An Encounter Area for 5th Edition)
by Anthony [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2024 16:57:34

Solid. Fit the need perfectly. This was easily woven into the campaign and helped spin off new quests after it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kobold Lair (An Encounter Area for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Experts
by Jared [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2023 07:41:51

This is a true gem of the 3.x D20 era! Fleshing out the NPC Expert class with dozens upon dozens of new options and new combinations. Sparked my imagination when I found it in print back in the day and I still use it as a reference when I run games today in any system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2023 20:14:06

This game has one of those game mechanic ideas that is obvious in retrospect, like all ingenious ideas. If you like playing on the go, and aren't into diceless play, this is a great solution!

It is a simple to learn system that really is good for playing without much equipment - a notepad or a cellphone notes app would be handy, but even this could be skipped in a pinch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
by Lindley W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2023 03:28:05

This is so simple yet works so well. I just used it with complete newbies who wanted to try to roleplay but were intimidated by crunch, and it was a blast. Intuitive and encourages players to let roleplaying take the lead over maths. It is so low-prep, fast and frictionless!

It's easily hackable. We used it with MUNE, no GM, google picking the numbers and a video game setting familiar to us all (Elder Scrolls) but I am looking forward to using it with game mastered one shot adventures that look appealing but are not worth everyone learning the system for, as well as solo roleplaying.

The one page printable booklet was super handy in getting everyone on board and playing, and reassuring in its tiniess.

We plan to try out FATE Accelerated character traits for a slightly more complex character building in the future.

Recommend the GM/facilitator watching some of the Youtube playthrough to see it in action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
On the Plane of Magma (A Fantasy Scenario for TSRPG)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2023 05:04:57

What cool art, a clever scenario and simple enough to follow for Travel-size players, each encounter gives examples of the numbers to hit and motivations for the NPCs and how they operate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Plane of Magma (A Fantasy Scenario for TSRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2023 04:58:11

Quick and clever mechanic. Very much a GM based system but with a lot of player agency to do anything. The printable, foldable booklet included is one of the more innovative ways to take this system with you anywhere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TSRPG (Travel-Sized RPG)
by John-Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2023 01:31:55

This is one of the most elegant "we're bored in the car and are losing our minds" game I've ever seen. This is SO going with us on our travels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creatures of the Wastelands: A Menagerie of Mutants and Mutations
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2022 11:07:53

86 pages of which 79-80 pages are the content.

A rather enjoyable book of strange and even stranger mutants.

More art work of the mutants would have been better, to give the MM (Mutant Master) some good descriptions to the players. Some of the art work is quite good.

I give 4.5/5 for this menagerie, and would have given a full 5/5, but, not many depictions of all the 'monsters', and some of them seem too strange.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of the Wastelands: A Menagerie of Mutants and Mutations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
At the Shrine of Othrys (A 5E Adventure & Sourcebook)
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2022 16:54:09

I like this on reading. A medium-sized, very-strongly-themed dungeoncrawl with the potential for faction play with several different groups of (evil) cultists showing up after the players enter. Creative treasure, particularly interesting consumable magic. One nearby probably-hostile settlement briefly sketched. The separate player-facing map is quite appropriate: of high enough resolution & detail for oldschool play; fancier than dungeonscrawler output, but not as unreadably cluttered or illegibly shaded as you find with a lot of commercial 5e maps. The "Continuing & Concluding the Adventure" section isn't an explicit timeline but it has a really nice spread of discussion of faction goals & possible evolutions, ties to nearby parts of the world.

Downsides: really verbose, hints of quantum ogres (the competitive factions explicitly scale with party level), and perhaps a bit too on the nose with the elemental theming - the vast majority of the native opposition is "two mephits of (appropriate quasielemental subtype)".

I'm not sure about the skill checks - there sure are a lot of them, but then players having advantage on knowledge checks from their background ought to be really common, so there's not too much information hiding or "roll to make progress", and the range of physical DCs seems reasonable.

Nits: both the terrain map and the dungeon map in the book have critical material in the center of the page - which means it's cut by the "gutter" of the book layout, and thus really hard to read. Art is really mixed stylistically and varying in quality, so for every piece I'd be happy to show my players there are two I wouldn't.

The 4/5 rating assumes you're playing Swords of Kos or a generic anything-goes D&D setting. I'd give this only 3/5 in any of the other pseudo-Greek settings - the shrine is particularly wedded to a Gygaxian inner planes and the Swords of Kos cosmology, and there'll be a lot of work to drop this in another world cleanly. For example, Arkadia has four great titans, but they don't line up so cleanly with the elements, there's not a lot of support for paraelemental lesser titans, the geographic associations of the titans are different which pushes one to rearrange the dungeon, redrawing the map; this in turn suggests replacing at least some of the mephits, etc... Even less of a clear fit for Theros or Thylea.

Preliminary review; will update if I can get my players to head toward where I've dropped this into the world map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
At the Shrine of Othrys (A 5E Adventure & Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
In the Footsteps of Hercules
by Derek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2022 18:58:16

I found this source book was really useful. It's versatile and detailed with a lot of encounters and adventure hooks that you can either use in the campaign provided by the book or pull out to use somewhere else. The Ancient Greece theme was really fleshed out and would be great for using in that setting, but you could also re-theme a lot of it to your own setting and still have it work great. I especially liked the Cave of the Tables of Knowledge as a really cool mini dungeon that I plan on using for my next game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Footsteps of Hercules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
In the Footsteps of Hercules
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 17:11:26

A really clever, inspiring idea, but a lackluster implementation.

A book trying to serve multiple goals: fantasy fiction, campaign inspiration / example, an actual setting. It certainly doesn't seem to really address the first goal; it's adequate for the second, but not useful; and as for the third, as one might expect, it's quite dependent on real-world Greece, with a bit of the authors' Swords of Kos setting for flavour.

The entire book has a grey backround image behind the text on every page; coupled with long passages in italic font this makes for difficult reading. It's an inexplicably poor choice to make a book that's not meant to be read? There's padding, repetition, and leaden writing in places; it looks like the author has an outline for "information I need for every settlement", filled that in, then tried to directly convert to prose; the result is not as usable as a bullet list or outline would be, but has all the plodding prosody and interest of a teenager's mechanical essay-writing.

I want to use something like this idea of a pilgrimage route in one of the 5e greek settings (Theros / Arkadia) and will update this review with notes if I can pull it off; it'd be a neat way to add a bit of sandbox and worldbuilding around some of the adventure paths that have been published for them. It also makes me think it'd be awesome to work on something resembling one of the medieval Christian pilgrimages - Campostela or Canterbury, perhaps. Is there something that would fit for Beowulf? In any case, it's going to take careful work to adapt to whatever game world society/theology one is working with.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Huo Ji, the Fire Rooster (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2022 21:06:05

An amusing monster with a fun theme. I did notice a few minor hiccups in the stats (a reference to "hellcart" proficiency and to Will saves), but nothing significant.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Huo Ji, the Fire Rooster (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 424 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates