DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2019 13:02:22

Disclaimer: I know JR Evans, though I haven't seen him in years. Straw Boss is... Hard core.

I like that the mechanics push the Fate envelope. I like that the part of the campaign creation process where players and GM detail the setting is clearly laid out and that the author provides fillable sheets so we don't need to do everything on index cards or paper ripped out of a notebook. I love the setting. It feels like... I don't know. American Gods + Reservoir Dogs or maybe . Evans provides a lot of evocative content in a few pages. And the sample adventure is... edgy. The good kind of edgy.

Do not look for kittens and puppies here unless they're guarding a supernaturally tainted meth lab. (Fact: I searched the text, and the words "kitten", "puppy", and "cute" are nowhere to be found.

I am super glad I picked this up. Extra points for making John Dee's legacy central to the game rather than a throwaway reference.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 09:02:12

I ran this at at local RPG convention are it went over fantastically. It's a good story, but a really good selection of PCs makes this module, I've even used them for other games ratehr than make my own!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Neutral Grounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2019 18:53:02

The material is definitely up to "Fate" Standards and extra useful in my WTC / Aether Sea / Freeport / Rifts mashup (that may have made your head up but it works, trust me - a testimony to the Fate RPG). I especially like the Plausibilometer convo pieces which helps set the dial on realism/authenicty in a Sci-Fi based game. Good work, authors!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Karthun: Lands of Conflict
by Trey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2019 00:58:28

An amazing, well detailed setting that is rich with adventure and possibility. Highly reccomended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karthun: Lands of Conflict
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Tachyon Squadron
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 05:44:56

Layout was great. New fighter rules look fun and engaging (and adaptable so when I get around to kitbashing Crimsion skies and fate using this) chracter creation easy and again adaptable. World is basically open with a few settings but no major spoiler arcs so you can make it whatever story you want. (its basically a supported "mercenery" unit like the Flying tigers in Earth history but if you want to do more hard mercenery (piolt has to pay for repairs consumables himself) Like Area 88 not much change is needed would have liked to see more about the enemies but cannot say it was really needed.only one other thing i thought was missing so I will put it here
An Irish Airman Foresees His Death W. B. Yeats, 1865 - 1939 I know that I shall meet my fate
Somewhere among the clouds above;
Those that I fight I do not hate
Those that I guard I do not love;
My country is Kiltartan Cross, My countrymen Kiltartan’s poor,
No likely end could bring them loss
Or leave them happier than before.
Nor law, nor duty bade me fight,
Nor public man, nor cheering crowds, A lonely impulse of delight
Drove to this tumult in the clouds;
I balanced all, brought all to mind,
The years to come seemed waste of breath,
A waste of breath the years behind In balance with this life, this death. although in my head while reading this i kept changing it to "somewhere among the stars above"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:33:33

I got to play this at Origins 2018 and had a blast! (Pun intended.) The no-skills variant of Fate is interesting and fast to play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:31:24

Although I prefer Fate Core, I have run Fate Accelerated to good effect. Since Fate Core and Fate Accelerated have the same roots, I have a few of the print copies on hand to lend/give out to the players. The basic rules are all right there and the Actions & Outcomes table on page 15 is invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Core System
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:24:33

Fate Core is currently my favorite roleplaying game system! It really can handle just about any setting. We've done postapocalyptic, pulp, space epics, superheroes, steampunk, and so on (I still have a hard time running horror, but that may just be me). The ability to handle any scene without looking up some peculiar rule (I'm looking at you grapple) is a godsend! The game really sings if you get buy-in from everybody at the table and they push the system to its fullest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Spirit of the Century
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:16:10

This was the first roleplaying game that introduced me to Evil Hat's Fate system. it was so different then everything else I was playing at the time (D&D, GURPS, Champions, etc.). I devoured it! This will always have a warm spot in my heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Spirit of the Season
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2019 22:55:55

The adventure is full of wacky hijinks for a more lighthearted Spirit of the Century game. Of important note is the section on Mystic Spellcraft, which I referred to often in my SotC campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Season
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Tachyon Squadron • Those Who Were Here Before
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 11:54:57

"Those Who Were Here Before" is a nifty little supplement for 'Tachyon Squadron,' which is itself a setting for the Fate Core system. If you aren't familiar with Fate Core, you probably should be-- it's one of the easiest, fastest-playing, most versatile systems out there. If you play Fate Core, you should really check out 'Tachyon Squadron,' too, especially if you grew up loving the tropes of rebellious hotshot pilots from TV shows like "Baa Baa Black Sheep" or "Battlestar Galactica" or films like "Top Gun" or even "Star Wars." And finally, if you already play 'Tachyon Squadron,' you should pick up a PDF copy of "Those Who Were Here Before" for your game.

With "Those Who Were Here Before," author Clark Valentine pulls a nifty trick-- he expands the emotional and thematic palette of 'Tachyon Squadron,' giving GMs the opportunity to introduce scenes right out of "Aliens" or add elements of Lovecraftian horror to their games, and to do so without derailing an existing game focused on PEW! PEW! PEW! starfighter combat. This scenario essentially introduces the possibility of alien horror to a standard 'Tachyon Squadron' game, framing that possibility as an incredibly rare encounter which might be a one-off experience for your pilots-- or might be the sign of more horrific things to come. It's your game, and "Those Who Were There Before" allows you to season it to taste.

I really like this supplement. Buy it now, or your name isn't Goooooooooooooose!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron • Those Who Were Here Before
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
by Sterling H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 16:13:09

Yes, there is no art, but the content in here is pure gold so I won't mark down for art (I'm hopefully it'll be in in the near future). I'm mostly a fantasy setting fan, but reading through this makes me want to play sci-fi Fate right now. There are tons of options/knobs/dials to play with that should suit anyone. I'm very impressed with this. Evil Hat normally does a bang up job, and continue to do so with this toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Accelerated/Core Conversion Guide
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 05:53:38

Well written and simple game. I have used it to lure many players into playing RPG's do to the flexibility of the format. The conversion guide helps to transition to the more complete (IMO) core version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated/Core Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fate Core System
by Dean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2018 15:48:45

Fate is a really neat system, but the biggest issue I have with it is that it seems to take a group of active fairly experienced roleplayers to pull off well.

The Fate system needs the players to have a ton of input into the world and be driven. This tends not to work well with a group that is experienced and timid. I struggled as the GM to get players to contribute and unfortunately the FATE system kind of falls apart if that is the case.

If you have a group that like mechanics-lite, story driven roleplay and you have players who love to regularily contribute to what is happening in a more impactful way, then FATE could be a really good system for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Great points, Dean. And honestly I tend to agree with you. If folks aren't comfortable putting their own ideas forward at the table — an act that Fate celebrates right down to its bones, and indeed, depends upon — it's gonna dud out for them. Thankfully there are plenty of highly motivated players out there that Fate works great for. :) Thanks for the review!
Improv for Gamers
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 08:25:03

I've purchased and reviewed Improv for Gamers. Check it out here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Improv for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 390 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates