DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by Mike R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2019 04:00:36

I really enjoy, as others have said, the more narrative aspect of the game. I always found it a slog to deal with 30 dice and a ton of numbers, I know many people with be disappointed that you do not have to employ Theoretical Mathematics to play the game any more but it leaves an opening for simpletons like myself to ease into it. My only real grip is that they entirely gloss over the races, giving a very light touch to make a character but not alot of background info. I assume this is to sell more info later in another book which is irritating but the trend in tabletops, parse out little by little dollar by dollar. I also bought the boxed set and yeah there are some rough edges but it is beautiful and works fine to get a game going, especially with new players to what used to be a daunting game for new people to engage with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by Dean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2019 20:46:08

For the most part I like the new changes. I understand that a lot of people are annoyed about the 'crunch' or meticulous bonus-grabbing parts have been replaced by a more narrative, streamlined Edge system but for myself and my players that is absolutely brilliant. We get to focus more on our characters/story rather than it becoming a tactical wargame.

If you are new to the game or (like us) found that the meticulous advantage-crawling adjustment bonuses/penalties, the disparate mechanics for the Matrix, Magic and Mundane tasks were getting in the way of enjoying an intriguing and fun setting than this is the edition to play then you will probably enjoy 6E

If you enjoy the crunch of meticulously adding every bonus you can wrench out of your gear and abilities or you enjoy your maximum Force rated spirit replacing every other team member (as you did in 5E) then this might not be the edition for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by dan t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2019 15:13:15

For all that is good, intresting and innovative in this edition it is let down completly by scattered and missing rules.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 00:02:28

A much needed improvement over 4th and 5th edition, but the quality of the printing is kinda weak. I know some will expect more and be hurt by disappointment, but the game is still very good despite the flaws, and this edition has changed things way more than 5th did and for the better.

Positives
  • Unique definitive setting. Shadowrun has had great world building.
  • Streamlined (FINALLY). Although this is still a complicated system, the last editions were needlessly difficult
  • Diverse character creation. Classless system that lets players fill a role on a team that the GM can build around. The depth of what you can do unique to you is amazing.
Negatives:
  • Editing/playtesting. At the time of writing this, some rules seem to be left out. In step 3 of character creation, nothing is written about the karma carrying over to step 4, which is obviously whats supposed to happen. Unarmed DV isn't written anywhere, ect. It's a mess.
  • Same old mechanical traps. Shadowrun has always been a game where people min/max a lot, but I can't help but feel sad that it costs so much karma for the Aptitude quality and taking that skill to 10 is so expensive. Certain weapons are just plain better than others. Some people enjoy this, but it's a bit steep.
  • Some art is recycled. Catalyst commissions very good artists but the last few books they've been recycling very recent artwork, it's not like everything is old, but can't help this hurts the quality of the book.

I'm sure the next few core books and an update far in the future to this one will satisfy me, which is why it gets a 4/5, with the positive changes beating the negative editing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 18:10:06

The game is poorly constructed, obviously did not go through any serious playtesting, and is not significantly "easier to learn and play" as they put out as a big selling point. Shifting the cognitive load is not the same as reducing it. Would not recommend. 1 star.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by Wade A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 15:46:15

Thie reduction in number crunching is a big net plus. The pdf isn't TOTALLY without error, but compared to 5th and many of the 5th supplements, it may as well be perfect. The streamlining and rules layout are far more clear and leave very few ambiguities in the mechanics. The core ruleset gives them room to develop the expanion rules in all kinds of different ways.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2019 20:25:09

After all the people saying how terrible this edition is I am plesantly surprised. Lets get this out of the way there are errors, it needs errata fixes but the layout is the second best I've seen in a Shadowrun core book and it is easy to navigate. Character creation is probably the best I've seen of the priority systems. Skills are more similar to the 2e days. Unfortunatly there are no gear packs so it is still a nuyen slog. Edge is expanded alot, this could be good or bad depending on your take. Theres alot to take in with it. Theres also some unnessasary rules like the wild die that seem to go against the idea of simplification. Combat is streamlined but worded very poorly making it hard to tell if its actually improved over 5e by just reading it. If you have been reading about armor being worthless, I wouldnt go that far but it is weak, this may actually be ok as most average opponents would get taken out by an average double tap. The session we have played it seems more lethal in an already lethal game but its not going to be one shot lethal. There are also options that seem to have slight differences where none was needed like fall prone and hit the floor. Magic is cleaned up from 5e, the differences may seem minor but CGL continues to improve an already great magic system. The Martix is a slight bit more complex than I had hoped for but really great job overall. We are getting close to getting away from the private game session for deckers. Rigging is slim and probably the weakest part of the book, theres always 7e... Critters are cleaned up and the GM section is the standard stuff. I think with some errata clean up and some revisions to a few rules this may be the best edition of Shadowrun yet. It could also use a few rule options like +2 DV to make magic weaker or something similar. One of the things I really liked in 2e and 4eA was the sidebar of optional rules to dial it in for your group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Jennifer B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2019 17:10:04

I'm literally going through this book with a black sharpie crossing out sentences. This book badly needs an editor. Apparently Catalyst Game Labs owners' are a bunch of criminals who decided to not bring charges after their leader embezzled money (for an extenson on his house), and then kept that guy on at the company anyway (name of Loren Coleman, google it). http://ogrecave.com/2010/03/18/catalyst-monetary-trouble-rumor-gets-official-reply/

Other things I don't like:

  • The core rules sections are very difficult to read. Players would hugely benefit from some structure and an editor to cut out the drek. Put in some diagrams.
  • They literally reuse art in the book.
  • A lot of the art is not "new", it's from older Shadowrun editions. This leads to the sense that 5E completely lacks a visual language/style.
  • Apparently 6E doubles down on these mistakes and introduces lots of copy pasting.

Yes, I still play this game with my friends, but without the technical depth I'd like. Basically I handwave a ton of stuff. The publisher doesn't care and/or has the worst company culture, the kind that would produce this doorstop.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun: Corporate Shadowfiles
by Matthew J B. Date Added: 08/15/2019 08:34:55

This is unreadable, and therefore useless.

I have download this on 3 separate occasions on two different computers, and while the pdf with load into a pdf reader, the original scan is blurred and so you cannot read it.

I would like my money back, please, or better yet, update this with a readable copy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Corporate Shadowfiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
by Kristopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2019 05:42:21

I1 None of the PV values are correct. 2 there's no crit tables on the cards. 3 I paid a high price for some coasters.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun Legends: Worlds Without End
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:09:33

A sad ending, but a good story, is always bittersweet. I like the connections between ED and SR. I read the trilogy out of order, but this is still good. I like how Harlequin isn't a complete Mary Sue- I feel like Spector actually salvages the character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun Legends: Worlds Without End
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun: The Neo-Anarchist Streetpedia
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:06:37

Lots of good info. There were some bold choices to alter the usual format of shadowtalk/jackpoint, which didn't necessarily pay off. QC on some of the stories could have been better, but others were very good. A decent source of inspiration that could have been much better with a bit of love and polish.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Neo-Anarchist Streetpedia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun: Mercurial
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:04:21

Absolutely killer, and surprisingly easy to adapt. I ended up running a "reverse" of the adventure with an Anarchy group, putting Bull and Johnny 99 as antagonists and players as agents of Kyle Morgan (It was a one-shot). There was definitely enough information in this book to support that kind of turnabout.

Hard to run nowadays since the twists are so well-known, but definitely a good read for anyone trying to build a good SR adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Mercurial
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun Legends: Never Trust an Elf
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:02:15

Not really the best SR tale out there, but it gives a lot of good lore- some of which isn't addressed in the SR rules proper until much later in publication history. (Such as orks with human lifespans) Wish there was more followup on some of the plot threads, but that's early SR novels for you! Worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun Legends: Never Trust an Elf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowrun: Chicago Chaos (Anarchy)
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:00:21

Absolutely loved both the fluff and the new stuff for the Anarchy system, which can always use more love! The missions in this can be easily adapted for any edition of Shadowrun, and I appreciate the details about NPCs that help for players branching out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Chicago Chaos (Anarchy)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1079 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates