DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Bards & Minstrels (Fantasy Add-On)
by Kristian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 18:46:24

I love the idea of using Performance as an Arcane Skill while also being able to integrate Tests and provide Support while performing. Pair this with most of the Social Edges in the core rules, and you've got a highly functional bard in your Savage Worlds game. I personally love playing support roles in RPGs, and I'll definitely be using this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bards & Minstrels (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bards & Minstrels (Fantasy Add-On)
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2020 03:29:57

An interesting supplement describing an Arcane Background based on the Performance skill. Very useful to everyone trying to recreate one of the iconic fantasy archetypes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warrior Adept
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2020 09:16:03

This is a really well written Arcane Background. I know that it is part of a setting Ron is working on and I cannot wait until I have the chance to see the whole setting in action! If you like the idea of a Warrior Mage with a psychic weapon, this is prefect for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warrior Adept
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Necessary Evil: Necessary Races
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2020 15:32:52

Adaptation of the Necessary Evil's races to the Supers Powers Companion 2nd edtion. Much needed information :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Necessary Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Vehicle Guide
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2020 18:57:36

Sorry to say, but I'm very disapppointed in this product. Coming in at 21 pages should have been my first clue. What I was expecting (and I fault the authors for not posting a decent full-page preview) was a full toolkit. Now, don't get me wrong - what was presented was an excellent series of charts (pretty much the entire book) of the useful base characteristics of vehicles by type and size. Thus, as a bare-bones start, thie product is useful.

What it is not, sadly, is comprehensive.

I'd hoped to see a product with pages devoted to various vehicle add-ons and components, a la Science Fiction Compantion. The fact that this book cites the Companion as a useful book is only indicative of what is truly missing. Also, there are ZERO sample vehicles of any era or type.

Insted, the author advises builders to cite real-world stats where possible, and extrapolate game stats from there. I get not trying to hard-code math conversions - Savage Worlds is not that kind of game, thank God. But some ideas of developing relevant stats would help. Also, advice on when to list nitty gritty aspects. For example, vehicles in 1930s tomb-robbing campaigns set in the jungles of Africa or world-exploring vehicles in science-fication setting need an "endurance" stat related to food and fuel. Such a stat was very useful back in the day of WEG Star Wars d6 system.

For example, I would love to see an author really dig into 1920s cars - which had an amazing breadth of beautiful design - but for which it is damned hard to get even basic stats such as acceleration, top speed, durability, passenger, etc. My 1920s-era players are sick of the Model T, and prefer to drive a Grey Ghost or Dusenberg.

I digress. This guide has the start of an excellent product, but feels less than half-finished. Even the section on non-mechanical vehicles is a simple page of suggestions, with no idea how to mechanically stat such vehicles nor a list of cool ideas. (I'd say see GURPS for some inspiration on biotech vehicles).

All-in-all, a decent product worth $3.00, not $7.00.

EDIT: I'm revising my review a bit. The book does state on it is a "conversion guide, and not a set of rules for building a vehicle from the ground up." Again, that's fine and the confusion could have been solved with a more detailed description and a full-size preview of that page and one of the chart pages. Just to be fair. I hope the author does another vehicles product with all sorts of build items, add-ons, and examples. THAT would be a great idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Vehicle Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bards & Minstrels
by Kristian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2020 18:20:43

I love the idea of using Performance as an Arcane Skill while also being able to integrate Tests and provide Support while performing. Pair this with most of the Social Edges in the core rules, and you've got a highly functional bard in your Savage Worlds game. I personally love playing support roles in RPGs, and I'll definitely be using this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bards & Minstrels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Orbital Decay
by Clint W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2020 15:30:06

I was skeptical at first, but after reading this and mulling it over, this is a good base for a mini campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orbital Decay
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bards & Minstrels
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2020 18:15:12

An interesting supplement describing an Arcane Background based on the Performance skill. Very useful to everyone trying to recreate one of the iconic fantasy archetypes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bards & Minstrels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Companions & Familiars (Fantasy Add-On)
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2020 23:42:03

Most of the SWAG pdfs are very simple, which is fine for what they do. This one stands out as a very thorough document on the subject of companions and familiars. I consider this a must-buy and Pinnacle might consider acquring it and integrating it into the SWADE version of the Fantasy Companion. Even though it is geated towards the assumption of fantasy characters it will be easy to use for other campaigns. I am thinking about using it for drones and robots in a more futuristic setting. The sample characters and Companions are full of good ideas.

One more thing that I would add is that you could easily use it to make buddies, being like normal characters that are built on 28 points instead of the 32 for animal companions. These buddies would be created like normal charactrers except they pay for their Race and their Attribute points are not preallocated to 5 and their Skill points are not preallocated to 15. The 4 fewer points is that they would not have the three default disadvantages of an amimal companion. This way you could have your primary character have an Extra buddy that can go on adventures with them, and not hve to wait until Legendary to take a Sidekick.

This pdf addresses the concerns that have come up over the years when players want to have an animal companioon, a familiar, or (with my suggestion above) a second character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companions & Familiars (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Orbital Decay
by Wurriato L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2020 05:24:43

Not bad, could be better.

Great ideas here, specialy in the bestiary, but too short in other areas. I miss some adventure seeds to. In any case, good buy for anyone interested in running a Savage World campaing with a 70-80 space horror movie.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Orbital Decay
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Petramancy
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2020 15:17:50

Very nice Arcane Background that uses gems as a focus to cast powers. I find the option to create magical traps especially interesting.

This one ROCKS! (I just had to... )



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petramancy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Warrior Adept
by Kristian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2020 13:09:41

When I first read over The Warrior Adept, I found myself excited by each feature as I read through it. By the end, I was outright giddy. Ron nailed it with this product.

This fits snuggly into any setting that features individuals who can manifest a psychic/magic weapon from sheer will and who can enhance their own abilities with powers. The options for enhancing the Spirit Weapon are flexible, allowing players to customize it to suit their combat styles.

Conveniently, I'm kicking off a new Savage Eberron campaign, and I'm including this as an option for anyone who wants to play a kalashtar psychic warrior/soulknife.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warrior Adept
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Warrior Adept
by Venatus V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2020 07:09:56

A well thought out Arcance Background that covers a needed trope: magical weapon users. The AB is flexible enough to allow for unique customizations and localizations in your particular settings.

The "flaws and features" aspect of the Spirit weapon is new and unique. It doesn't seem like it will bog things down too much, but it is hard to comment without seeing it in play. An extra once per rank Edge makes choices regarding advancement very tricky - and this is not a bad thing!

From what I understand the author has playtested this with real gamers around the table. In my opinion, that increases its credibility a great deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artificer's Codex
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2020 18:42:10

I'll keep this short, but, really a great product. Well worth of it's well deserved SWAG award. I love this product and I'm going to try to fit it into any SWADE campaign I run. The layout is professional, the editing is flawless, and there's a ton of imagination in here.

The Savage Community is lucky to have so many creative minds swirling around in it's orbit, and Kristen and Jenn are two of those many stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artificer's Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Summoner's Circle
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2020 18:39:15

A really nice product. There's a lot of thought and imagination in this 'deep dive' into what really amounts to one power in SWADE. It's really impressive that Dylan dreamed up this much material. Quite honestly, I'm both jealous of him and just a little afraid.

Seriously, get this product. It can be used in just about any setting that has magic, from fantasy to scienct fiction, (why can't they be robots?).

Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Summoner's Circle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 871 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates