DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:12:54

I LOVE the artwork in this book. It really primes the imagination. The GM Guide's hilariously macabre airlock (prank?) illustration on page 41, the tense liftoff scene on page 53, the "Abe Lincoln, space sniper" portrait on Player Guide page 13...just to name a few. It's a terrific book for space sci-fi inspiration. This is another great value from the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

HardNova 2: The Intercosm
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:04:14

This is a terrific add-on for HardNova. I bought HardNova II and couldn't wait to pick this one up afterward. The sheer number of pre-built characters, ships, and other background information is really appreciated and makes the game more colorful. I've already printed off some of the characters to run a space dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2: The Intercosm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:02:03

I really appreciate that Precis are supporting HardNova with this product. The art is creative and colorful. The Migado Diplomat cracked me up and my kids enjoyed examining the various characters. I really recommend this set if you're running HardNova or just like the Sci-Fi theme. The printing options are also appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:58:30

You get a lot of value out of this set, and you can choose from a variety of styles for printing. I have an old 1990s synthesizer keyboard and had to laugh when I rested a few of these figures on the keyboard, and realized it looked just like a cyberpunk landscape. Way to go Precis and thanks for the variety of formats and instructions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:56:22

This download is absolutely packed with value. You really can't go wrong if you're interested in the wild west. I hope to use some of the other systems to play a first contact scenario using HardNova II, or involve some other sci-fi or horror elements (Ghostories). Big thanks to Precis for their value-added approach to these games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dark Horrors & Hidden Places RPG
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 22:20:08

The link to this game appeared in my inbox a few days ago. What a pleasant surprise.

Here is a game, nominally set in the post near-apocalyptic world of 1884. I say nominally as the only real reference to the period is a brief timeline setting out the calamity that struck, and forever changed, the earth.

Firstly, a very few negatives, some of the prose seems a little haphazard and despite the low page count, rambles a little in places The Precis rigourous level of editing, seems lacking. Secondly, this world-shaking (literally) event is referred to in the book as “The Tremors”. I don’t know whether this is intended to be ironic, but it sounds a little underwhelming; a bit like describing The Great War as, “A bit of a misunderstanding”.

Two neutral points: As mentioned above there is no real background to the game, no sense of setting. However, the author quite rightly suggests turning to Google. Indeed, a wealth of information is merely a click away. Also, the game is described as entry into the wealth of OSR material. I am not so sure about this but the basics are there, the iconic abilities, Armour Class, HP and so on.

Now the good stuff; tempered by a few observations.

Character generation is extremely fast and a hoot. It turns out capable characters and includes a selection of skills to further distinguish them even those belonging to the same class. Each ability is generated with a 4-dice roll and each class gains to bonuses to the result. All characters have key secondary statistics such as AC and Health (HP) determined by reference the abilities rather than consulting a class-based table.

Characters have two additional stats, Moxy which is spent to use Advantage in the same manner as D&D fifth edition; and Sanity which serves in a similar fashion to Cthulhu Sanity points.

There is a very small shopping list of equipment but I’m OK with this, I don’t want the players to be pouring over a table of irrelevant items. Additionally, new characters start off all but destitute so a list of goodies would prove irrelevant. The weapons and armour are defined by damage, range, and categorised by utility: Light, Medium and Heavy.

Character generation includes a few spells for a new Arcanist (magic-user) to select from. It’s a very narrow range with most not only being combat-related but some are duplicates of others presented in the same list. Different names but identical effects. This is not a huge issue as the players are encouraged to create their own and there is an excellent table to assist with this.

The basic mechanics are discussed in the chapter “GettingThings Done”. I’m curious about this…to succeed in an activity other than combat the player throws 1d20 and adds the character’s ability score aiming for a result of 21 or more. To my mind this makes every action just a little bit easy. Abilities are generated with 4d6, dropping the lowest die giving an average of 13. That sees a typical character requiring 8+ to succeed. In the example play-through, none of the players fail an action check.

Combat is concise and applies no modifiers, with the exception of Advantage. I see this as a good thing, all the characters are equally capable, and I enjoy a simple resolution system.

Health, Moxy and Sanity are recovered through short and long rests; similar to D&D but the scale is grittier – with the intervals lasting 3-hours and long rests lasting up to 8 hours. This doesn’t seem quite gritty enough and when I ran my first game, I used a short rest of 8 hours and a long rest of 72 which suited me much better.

Spell casting requires a Wisdom roll which negates the need for the target to make a saving throw which I like. Failing a casting roll results in Sanity loss. Dropping to zero Sanity requires a roll on a short table describing possible effects of temporary or permanent insanity. Fun for all the family.

The monsters are an excellent mix of evocative enemies: The Devil Sisters are evil nuns; Injectors are sadistic women holding grudges against men (is there a trend here?) and the Razormaw is a technologically altered horror that can move on two or four limbs. Referee aids contain a slew of 1d20 tables that quickly generate scenarios, new and yet more horrible monsters, colourful NPCs, exotic weapons, magic items, and spells. Excellent.

Finally, I was delighted to find not one but two adventures. Many games fail to provide an adventure that reveals the author’s intentions for his world and this is always a mistake.

The first is a basic dungeon crawl, and the author admits as much. I imagine it serves the purpose of introducing players to a new game and new-ish system. However, next we have a full-blown sandbox adventure that is quite simply excellent. This chapter alone is probably worth the asking price. It includes great locations and fascinating characters, fully defined in the same manner as the PCs. Brilliant.

Finally, although you may or may not like the sound of the game from my review as it needs a tidy up and drifts a fair distance from your typical OSR ruleset. However, you cannot deny that for the quality of content, this game is ridiculously cheap.

If you’re interested, here’s a link to the adventure I wrote for my first session. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ocHqkNVSiQx5IoP_ELUn4mdpC1X6SCII/view?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Horrors & Hidden Places RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Foreign Element RPG
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2020 16:16:54

If you want an 'Aliens' RPG then look no further. OSR style! Over half the book is setting detail, info on the corporate powers which control humanity's destiny, and on the 'Great Blackout' which has left Sol isolated from it's once prosperous colonies. It's up to you; a ragtag band of colonial marines, corporate spies, and ex-cons; to find out what happened to the colonies. And there WILL be giant buggy aliens to battle admist those derelict ruins! Not quite as combat focused as the similar 'We Hunt Bugs' RPG, but brimming with a lot more setting info for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreign Element RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I just wanted to clarify that it does not use OSR mechanics.
The Solo Wargaming Guide
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2020 20:31:49

It's ok. It's too much theory and not enough helpful information.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Wargaming Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Solo Wargaming Guide
by david c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 07:35:05

You won't be disapointed. Simple but fantasic ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Misty Isles (Classic Reprint)
by Erik T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2020 07:10:44

I love this reprint, absolutely love it. There's enough info here to keep a GM/DM whatever you want to call them busy with their players for a LONG time. Calling this an adventure would be incorrect, it's more like an entire campaign setting and it's one of the first for D&D. Like the other Wee Warriors DM Kits it will need some fleshing out and preparation by the DM. The maps are beautifully reproduced here and the text is crisp and legible. It seems like it was originally set up to be played by low level characters but any DM worth anything can certainly raise the stakes with this kit. There's plenty of intrigue within these pages but it's up to the DM to decide how far and where to take it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Misty Isles (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

High Valor (Revised Edition)
by Konstantinos P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2020 02:18:40

Amazing! Thank you for bringing back this hidden gem! Storytelling at its best!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Valor (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Palace of the Vampire Queen (Classic Reprint)
by Erik T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 14:09:21

I can't say enough good things about this reprint. The artwork on the borders of the maps is crisp and clean as is the line work on the maps themselves. The imperfections in the hashlines on the map have been dutifully recreated giving this reprint a truly authentic feel to the original. The text is clean, and is a faithful recreation of the orginal as far as I can tell. Descriptions are sparse in this publication, practically non-existant but this is not a critical comment from me as this Dungeon Master's Kit is more of an outline for an adventure; it was expected that the Dungeon Master plop this down into their campaign and flesh it out with their own details and expand on the bare bones story given at the beginning of the book. There are no added tables or stat blocks in this reprint, as there were none in the original since it was assumed by the authors that the reader would have access to books with the stats for creatures and fighting men readily to hand. Not to belabor the point, but this is as far as I can tell a completely faithful recreation of the original. If you're interested in owning a piece of gaming history or don't mind putting in some minimal work for an adventure then you need to buy this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Palace of the Vampire Queen (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Dwarven Glory (Classic Reprint)
by Erik T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2020 22:29:16

This is a stunning recreation of this classic title, the text is clear and legible, the maps are crisp and sharp. I've been looking over the text carefully and it's a faithful recreation of the original word for word as far as I can tell (minus the welcome removal of some glaring typographical errors in the original). If you don't want to use the additional "Mythical Section A" that was added on to give more flavor to the title you don't have to, it's not required for this "DM's Kit" but I like it and it's well written within the style of the original publication. I absolutely love what Precis Intermedia has done in preserving this title including letting the reader know what parts were added onto the original so an "authentic" experience can be had if one wishes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dwarven Glory (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Palace of the Vampire Queen (Classic Reprint)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2020 15:54:31

Full review with other Palace of the Vampire Queen related material here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/01/classic-adventures-revisited-palace-of.html

In the beginning, there was a belief that all DMs would naturally create all their own adventures and there was no market for pre-written ones. The only printed adventure out at this time was "Temple of the Frog" in Blackmoor. Seeing a need, the Palace of the Vampire Queen was written by Pete and Judy Kerestan. Yes, the very first adventure was co-written by a woman. The first edition was self-published, followed by a second and third edition by Wee Warriors (1976 and 1977) and distributed exclusively by TSR.

The "Dungeon Master's Kit" (module was not being used yet) presented a simple adventure with a singular goal; defeat the Vampire Queen. The plot, such as it is, is very thin even by the standards of what would later be the norm. The maps are fantastic, but the descriptions are little more than that; what's in the room in terms of monster and treasure. We get a background, the missing princess of the Dwarf King Arman of Baylor. Vampire Queen herself remains nameless.

The adventure itself is fairly straight forward. Go to the Palace, defeat the monsters and the Vampire Queen and save the Dwarven Princess.

Despite, or maybe because of, this limited background this adventure can be used anywhere with nearly every version of the game. I became aware of this adventure many years ago and it immediately went on to my "must find" list. Around 10 years ago I was able to get a copy and I ran it for a group using Moldvay Basic/ Cook Expert (BX) D&D. It was a lot of fun. There was no indication on how many characters were needed or what levels.

The adventure reminds me a bit of the Dungeon! board game. You walk the halls, kick in the door, kill the monster, take the treasure, repeat. Of course, this adventure is the first of such adventures so it gets a huge pass on this. There is a lot though here to keep any DM and party busy.

Since 1976 the adventure has had a few reprints. The first ones were by Wee Warriors. These prints regularly go for over $1,000.00 on eBay. There were two such covers, the "black" cover with a castle in the background and the "queen" cover, featuring the vampire queen herself.

Now today, Precis Intermedia has a new cleaned up reprint of the adventure.

This version of the adventure also preserves much of what made the original a classic. The PDF of this book has a "special feature" to show a reprint of the original NSFW art. The print copy is all paper, with the cover made out of heavier weight paper (like résumé paper). At 24 pages it might be the most faithful reproduction yet. While the cover is new art, the interior looks like the classic. No additions have been made to the text. The maps are cleaned up, darker ink and clearer to read.

At under $5 this is a great price for a piece of RPG history.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Palace of the Vampire Queen (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Barbarians Versus... RPG
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 06:47:48

Completely over the top fun. The mechanics and setting both strike a perfect balance between humour and functionality. It's good humour and good mechanics combined. In addition to facing down the alien lizardfolk and their high tech devices scenarios are also provided for battling greedy dwarven artificers and undead farm animals (zombie meat!) looking for revenge against the carnvirous barbarians.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians Versus... RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 325 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates