DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 22:56:43

The Lunar Exalted have always been in the worst spot compared to the other Exalt types. In 1E, Lunars were safely regarded as the worst written of all the splatbooks, with the initial intention of never being playable only to be written without coherent themes in mind and then pigeonholed into a ravaging barbarian archetype. While 2E Lunars was certainly an improvement, that was certainly a bar that was low enough to trip on. In terms of their presentation they lacked a coherent place in the setting beyond sidekicks to Solars or else nebulous social engineers without any of the mechanics needed to actually bring this about. Their charmset was also awkward, and poorly put together.

3E offers a genuinely coherent vision for Lunars by starting with a simple idea of opposition to the Realm and its successors. They lack the passivity of 2E Lunars, who were unusually tolerant of a government that considers them enemies that must be purged on sight. However, they are not pigeonholed as rampaging destroyers of 1E, either. They have a charm set that's far better equipped towards shaping and building societies, as well as elements of tricksters and manipulators that go into far more depth than prior editions. The Lunar power set is flexible, creative, and thematically evocative. The art in the book is, compared to 3E's core, far more consistent in quality along with some fairly briliant pieces in place, and the setting fluff gives Lunars a far stronger role in a setting.

Even if 3E is not your preference, I do recommend this book to Exalted fans, both to finally give Lunars a coherent place in the setting as well as have examples of powers and abilities that are both effective and interesting. This is a definite improvement compared to poor showings from prior editions, and after the stellar showing that the Dragonblooded also benefitted from I am very eager to see how future splats and archetypes develop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2021 10:27:32

CotBG is excellent and probably the most essential addition to the V5 game line. It collects all of the clans of death, now condensed into bloodlines under a single 'family' clan, the Hecata. This book is big, it has the Harbringers, the Samedi, the Nagarajah and yes, my favorite clan of Revised edtion, the Giovanni. Included are rules for their unique discipline of Necromancy which now falls under the purview of Oblivion, tapping into the powers of the Underworld to fuel their necromancy; thematically one of the best representations of this power in any edition of VtM, (yes, it should taint your soul). Additionally you get Loresheets to represent all of the death clan bloodlines in the event you want to play a more unique vampire. You get a great story that focuses on these clans, though you dont have to be Hecata to play in it. Onyx Path delivers yet another steller book to expand the core rules of V5 and I hope to see more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:19:08

Aside from re-introducing the Hecata back into V5, what does this book actually add to your game?

1) Each of the included Major Religions/Cults is full of useful world building and Character options. The history and general motivations of each group, make it easy to include them into any campaign. 2) Examples of progression through the various groups, give Players something tangible to work toward, if they want. 3) New SPCs to fill the emptiness of the night. Let's be honest not everyone has the time/desire to sit down and create a mix of random characters to throw at their player's chracters. We get new Animals, Ghosts, Ghouls, Kindred, and Mortals. What storyteller doesn't like having options to pull from? 4) Survival is easier in a group right? Included are multiple new Coterie types to help flavor your Story/Domain, or maybe just find a better fit for a particular group/setting. 5)The new Powers, and Rituals/Ceremonies help to build interesting if not terrifying Characters for players and storytellers alike. Expanded options to Oblivion for bringing Necromancy back to the table and fleshing out the Hecata. Several of the included faiths introduce unique powers all their own, and could easily be used to remind players just how monstrous Vampires can be. 6)Bloodlines not neccesarily enough remaining to call themselves a clan anymore, but they are still here. A useful inclusion to add even more flexability in allowing players to create the character they want to play. Again, options are good. 7) Yeah it's called Humanity. Regardless of what it is called, it is what keeps you from falling to the beast within. The inclusion of Conviction lists for each of the major faiths, demonstrates how a Vampire might differ from say a Human, in their thoughts and actions.

I don't want to give away everything that is inluded in Cults of the Blood Gods but you'll be glad you got your hands on this one! This is a great resource for Storytellers and Players alike, both new and established.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 22:52:53

tl:dr Cults of the Blood Gods reintroduces the Clan of Death to V5, gives details on vampiric cults, provides new mechanics (loresheets, powers, predator types, etc), and gives a story featuring the Clan of Death to tell.

As a fan of Vampire: the Masquerade lore, Cults of the Blood Gods is easily one of my favorite V5 releases to date. This book opens with a well written fiction giving just a hint of how the Hecata came to be formed, with several smaller additional pieces after the introduction. Those first pieces gives a good taste for what is to come in the rest of the book.

I'll be honest, none of necromany based clans or bloodlines in prior editions ever really caught my eye, with the possible visual presentation of Baron Samedi. Other than using one as an SPC as a Storyteller, I hadn't been interested in playing one. Cults of the Blood Gods spurred my interest in playing a character of the recently formed Hecata clan. The merging into one clan creates many interesting roleplaying opportunites, whether it be between the different factions of the clan, the opportunity to play through what happened within the clan once the Family Reunion takes effect, or how they present themselves to outsiders under the Hecata banner. I like how Oblivion is presented and the steps taken to differentiate Oblivion Ceremonies from Blood Sorcery Rituals.

While vampric relgion has been addressed in other V5 books, none have done so in a way that has felt playable. Cults of the Blood Gods dives deeper into the subject with multiple cults, some new to Vampire:the Masquerade, some from previous editions that are presented in a way that they still feel new. For the first time in V5 the Bahari, Church of Set, and others feel playable with digging through multiple books from prior editions. In addition to cults for vampires, the book also provides cutls for mortals (that are run by vampires) and a section on how to create your own. Again, the topic of mortal cults have been covered in older editions of VtM however in this book the subject is covered in a way that gives more detail into how cults function. I don't plan on building my own cults, but this book gives you plenty of information on how to do so.

The book ends with Styx and Bones, which gives a story that can be run highlighting the clan of death. It is a decent enough story, I just personally would rather explore other aspects of lore and metaplot presented in this book. If someone asked me to run it as an ST I would, but it is not something I would run on my own.

In addition to the above, Cults of the Blood Gods sprinkles in new machanics in the way of Loresheets, Discipline Powers and Amalgams, Rituals and Ceremonies, Predator and Coterie types, and more. The art through out the book is amazing. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who plays V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harmony Acres
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 14:15:50

Harmony Acres is a micro setting for Pugmire. This booklet introduces to a villiage called Harmony Acres. The book gives us a chapter on the history of the villiage, a chapter on the current status of the villiage (including promient places of interests and npc characters), and a chapter on creature aka monsters in the area. The final chapter is a serious of Plot Hooks that can be used to spark adventures.

The Tabletop Gaming club enjoyed Harmony Acres. We had fun exploring Harmony Acres and recommend this product to GM's of Pugmire.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Harmony Acres
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Trinity Continuum: Aeon
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 10:36:52

Now, I'm biased, I played a lot of the original White Wolf game and loved it. And I love this version, it is a great space opera setting with deep plot and a fascinating universe to interact with. The rules build nicely on The Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook, though in fairness there are layout and referencing issues with the book itself. The psionic powers, which lie at the heart of the setting are really well done and allow an amazing variety of in play options. If you want to run a Babylon 5 style epic sci fi adventure this is the setting for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Aeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 22:29:41

Fantastic update for all of the clans of Death in VTM; the Loresheets allow the various bloodlines now united under the Hecata banner to retain some of their original flavor while greatly expanding the range of character options for players who've started in 5E and adds a lot to the current worldscape. Really, really excited to receive my print copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 18:57:14

A welcome return to Chicago. The city provides the perfect backdrop for 'The Sacrifice' and the player influenced outcome to the Lasomba's defection from the Sabbat. This setting and its characters becomes far deeper bringing with it, the many supplements which followed; Chicago Folios and Let the Street Run Red. Oblivion (Obtenebration) returns to Vampire and does so, in style. Truly a beautiful book, its quite the love letter to the series and the best starting point for Vampire: The Masquerade V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 18:51:28

Power Prey opened and introduced my 4 players to Chicago and Vampire: The Masquerade 5th edition. They were swept up in the narrative causing chaos in their wake. So in all, a great beginning! New SPCs, 4 strong stories and locations, plenty of antagonist stats, loresheets and rituals, lore and an additional Predator Type. What more could you wish for??



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 18:46:28

Fantastic supplement for Chicago by Night. Its given a great many plot hooks to interweave among my Chicago by Night chronicle. The Anarch, Camarilla, Independent and Mortal stories give players a chance to experiene and explore far more content with a whole new list of cast characters, and reward them with fresh loresheets and bloody (great) Rituals.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2020 08:45:15

This, like Chicago Folios, is a book for the storyteller; it has probably some of the best scenarios for V5. It is a big book, comprising 250 pages; divided into sections similar to Chicago by Night and Chicago Folios; however, what makes this book of particular interest to me as ST is rules that are included in side bars for things such as Lupines, Lupine kinfolk and sections on Antagonists and Loresheets. The second half of the book has Kindred biographies of SPCs that can be easily dropped into your game. Best of all, you get a pretty indepth overview of Kindred domains such as Indianapolis and Milwaukee. Also, you get whole new Blood Sorcery rituals that can be introduced and that like the Loresheets are linked to these two domains. Overall, the quality of the POD is much better and improved from previous POD books Ive bought here, the page quality is decidedly better, not the previous chalky paper, this is a glossy paper similar to the traditionally printed books of V5 by Modiphius; Im so impressed with the quality that I purchased a second copy, (premium color, its more expensive but the quality and vibrancy of the color is excellent).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Vigil Watch: Dromyas
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2020 12:50:33

This is hands down one of my favorite Slarecian Vault product until now! It takes one minor element of the setting (the new Minotaur playable race introduced in the Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad) and builds upon it lore-wise, creating a very interesting location to visit in a campaign. It has lore, history, culture, some tension (and a nice Baba-Yaga-like villain), as well as a couple of spells and monsters to top it off (really like the spontaneous golem, but I have a soft spot for spontaneous golems), all of which being well-connected and helping bringing this city alive. Special mention to the cartography, which manages to capture the look and feel of Scarred Lands maps from the old Campaign Setting. Strongly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vigil Watch: Dromyas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Children of the Mighty: Unique Races of Ghelspad
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 09:46:26

Children of the Mighty Unique Races of Ghelspad is a collection of pre-generated characters featuring some of the more unique races of Scarred Lands. The characters presented are pretty interesting and the book is great when needing a quick pc for a game.

The book only has one flaw... and that is the font/design of the character sheets make them a little hard to read, but overall the product is solid.

The Tabletop Gaming Club recommends this product for players needing a quick pc. We used them to play through a couple of modules and we had fun doing so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Mighty: Unique Races of Ghelspad
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Desert of Lost Relics
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 09:41:01

Desert of Lost Relics is Part 4 of the Vengeance of the Shunned adventure path for Scarred Lands (5e). Its a fanstastic adventure. The moducle provides handouts to get the players invested in the adventure from the start. The module provides a lot of dramatic tension with its initial scripted encounter. The "dungeon" part of this module is provided to us in the form of a well designed fortress.

The Tabletop Gaming Club started this adventure yesterday and so far the group has had a lot of fun. We have not played the previous modules in this series but this module appears to be able to stand on its own. We recommend this module to any GM looking for a fun module to run their players through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Desert of Lost Relics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Consumed
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 09:00:19

Consumed is a great little adventure for low level (5e) campaigns, that is designed to fit inot any Scarred Setting. Its versitile enough to be able to be dropped into any existing campaign. The enemy introduced in this adventures are cool and disgusting at the same time.

The Tabletop Gaming Club enjoyed this little adventure and we recommend this adventure to any 5e GM to have in their arnesal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Consumed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1328 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates