DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
by Hugh A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2022 11:40:07

On the surface this seems like an improvement by streamlining advancement into a liner instead of logarythmic format (set xp to advance a skill or trait dot by dot instead of using a multiplier of xp cost times dot required), but actually, with V5 now out - it seems antiquated and does not offer much else outside of it's new way to spend xp.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beyond Electric Dreams
by Amanda P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2022 04:46:54

This is an awesome addition to the Trinity Contiuum. I love the art, and especially love the sidebars. Fan creations like this are what's great about Vault/Nexus. It allows people to produce well-crafted deep dives into niche elements of the game that are unlikely to see much 'official' material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond Electric Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
by Aowyn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2022 04:46:51

Lunars: Fangs at the Gate was, based on what I was initially told about the Lunars, based on their write ups in 1st and 2nd Edition for Exalted, was something I was a mixture of pre-emptively dissappointed in and curious to see how Lunars would flounder yet again. I was extremely happy to see I was completely wrong, and the Lunars presented for Exalted 3e makes them among the most compelling Exalted in the context of the greater setting, and their purpose in it.

Mechanically, the Charms are far more readable and have more utility than they did in 1st and 2nd Edition Exalted. The focus on attributes is the same, but its done in a much more deliberate and universal manner, boiling down the extra complexity of knacks into a far more usable and easy to grasp system alongside, as a whole, far more better and focused charms, with Knacks and Charms just being rolled into charms. Mechanically, the Lunars exist above the Dragon-Blooded and below the Solar Exalted, as expected, and, based on the basic mechanics we have for Exalted NPC stats, pretty on par with Liminal and Sidereal Exalted.

But the greatest aspect of Fangs at the Gate isn't good crunch, it's the excellent fluff. Lunars are somewhat notorious for some of the particularly gross or nasty parts of their characterization, and feeling relatively out of place in the larger setting, and existing as the lesser to Solars, rather than a fully dynamic Exalted culture. That has since been changed, with the Silver Pact being a coalition of states meant to be the primary opposition to the Realm, Dragon-Blooded, and their Sidereal string pullers. There are 400 Lunars to 300 Solar Exalted (including their subtypes), so the Solar Bond is an optional player choice, rather than having the looming spectre of a controlling Solar-type exalt who could show up at any time to force you into submission. The Beastmen were reworked to merely be either the Children of Humans and Lunars in a Hybrid form, or those that passed a special trial constructed by Lunars, rather than the previous descriptions for how Beastmen were made. Many Lunars as a whole, like Raksi, Ma-ha-Suchi, and Lilith were rewritten around their established themes, and the 3e takes on their characters is a refressing take while still being true to their core themes.

The final aspect is the one that spoke to me the most. Luna loves outcasts and survivors, doers and those pushed to the fringes. The appeal of shapeshifting and personal liberation has blatant appeals to non-cisnormative people, and as a whole, this book weaves that in wonderfully. Luna loves their children, and the gender-queer of them aren't treated any lesser, and are given the bodies they always wanted. Its neither diminished or played for queer-baiting, and several key characters are presented as Nonbinary, Trans, and Genderfluid in respectful ways, and as a whole, as a Transwoman myself, from their lackluster place in earlier editions, Lunars are simply put hands down the Exalt that I adore the most in 3e, purely from this Exalt Book alone.

This book was beautifully written through and through, and definitely worth the price, even at full. The mechanics, fluff, and themes are excellent and well constructed, and finally gives Lunars a damn amazing place in the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lunars: Fangs at the Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beyond Electric Dreams
by Cory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2022 23:43:11

Beyond Electric Dreams is good.The book takes a subsection of the setting that had previously held little interest for me, that being youth culture and the Bang scene, and delves into it in a way that grabs my attention and leaves me wanting more. Scott draws upon the core concepts of the Trinity Continuum to introduce new factions that fit seamlessly into the world of Trinity Continuum: Æon. The book contains new paths and edges that both well written and interesting. The new mechanical elements introduced in this book are well-written and interesting as well as feeling like obvious additions to the game. Things that feel less like additions and more like things that were there all along just waiting for someone to put them on the page.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond Electric Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Exalted: False Images
by Ellen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2022 16:45:55

False Images is a complex murder mystery, which becomes an occult mystery as well when the Night Caste Solar's made-up scapegoat abruptly becomes (or turns out to always have been) a real person. I enjoyed finding out the answers alongside the main character. Fortunately, the answers do turn out to make sense within the setting. There is one plot thread left hanging at the end (an antagonist's motive) but I don't mind, it leaves the door open for sequels. Main character Novia Claro is a fairly good person in a quite unpleasant city (Nexus), though willing to do slighty questionable things for money.

I was a bit surprised by the syndicates (gangs) extorting protection money within local territories, since Scavenger Sons explicitly says this would violate the Dogma against raising taxes. I guess that interpretation of the Dogma might have been changed for Third Edition, although I honestly don't understand why it never gets gangsters killed by the Emissary (or, so rarely that multiple gangs are willing to operate in the city). Death by Emissary is one of the worse ways to go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: False Images
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kith and Kin
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2022 08:17:56

Amazing player's guide with a LOT of characters options!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kith and Kin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2022 20:37:26

The adventure is really bad, full of Banality. A shame when you know the message of this game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Demon: The Descent Quickstart
by Tobias K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2022 02:50:18

I really like the game line Demon The Descent, it offers amazing characteroptions and if you enjoy spy missions, a secret war, unreliable allies and a universe fighting you, this is a good game for you.

I have run this jumpstarter at least two times. It brings good advise, makes sure everything goes smoothly and actually can be played in one session, if you want to. As an European I had no idea why the last location would be choosen as the place for the final confrontation. After a google search I could see the visual appeal but yet. It took me quite some time to make the connection because on the surface absolutly nothing says techno angle revoloution in this place. We had fun, drama and at least one finale in which shit went down, tension was off the charts and powers clashed. 4/5 would rebell again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2022 23:13:06

This is the first game I have purchased in the "They Came From..." series. I will be buying the others in the series. There is no other game I have found that deals with this type of game. For some, this game may not work for stories they want to tell. If you are a fan of Hammer films and B-movies you will love this game. The Cinematics mechanic is great, you can do 4th wall breaks in a fun and often humorus way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Guide to the Night
by ADOLFO [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2022 04:23:35

I loved all the new settings that the writers suggested in this book. There's even fighting in 0 gravity!

Please release more vampire the requiem official content!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Technology 2028
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2022 21:21:10

Technology 2028 does a great job of setting the tone of what life is like in the Nova Age for Trinity Continuum: Aberrant. The author does a good job of advancing modern technology without going to futuristic. Most if not all of the items are usefull for Baseline characters in addition to Novas. These technologies do more than add more stuff for Players to use, they do a lot to aide StoryGuides on creating a near future world setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Technology 2028
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From the Pits of Hell!
by Pineapple P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2022 06:01:04

Are you bored of boring humans and their boring human bodies? Is the origin story of the birds and the bees getting old? Are you tired of running from the zombies?

Now you can BE the zombie! There's five new monstrous Archetypes to play, your dreams of all monster mystery gang are finally coming true. Save the world or damn it all to hell!

This is clearly a lovingly crafted supplement, with nods to a number of beloved pop culture monsters from the 80s through to present day. Just because you are a bad guy, doesn't mean you are a bad guy. Or does it?

There are bespoke monster hunter villains to hound and harry your Abominable Creation, Shapeshifter or Undead characters, damage tables for banes such as garlic and sunlight, perks and quips meant to make your monstrous existence less of a tragedy. A glorious addition to your They Came From Beyond The Grave library, with its tongue so firmly in its cheek it has trouble chewing.

Excellent value for the price, full of inspiration for monster characters to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From the Pits of Hell!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2022 03:37:22

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming: 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart (44 pages, free at DriveThruRPG). I used Tourniquet: Solo rules for Vampire the Masquerade (same place) as the solo engine. I did use the four characters that are included in the RPG rules.

So, during the first scene the PCs are all together and they receive the mission: a “new” changeling came into the area and then disappeared. The PCs go to the beach/boardwalk/carnival area, describe the missing guy, and get some positive results. The PCs are pointed in the direction of a particular warehouse that can be seen from where they are at. What the PCs don’t know (and I am surprised to discover) is that this was actually an illusion. The PCs get to the warehouse, go in, and quickly notice that the guards are not carrying weapons. Erissa uses her high charisma and the conversation gets going. He was never there. The female guard closes her eyes, and then tells them that she can see him holding a small mirror and he is looking into it (yes, I was surprised again).

The PCs go back to the carnival and enter the mirror maze. In the middle of it, they are attacked by four temporarily-enchanted individuals. The PCs knock them out and find Joshua all tied up. He then tells them about the Unseelie causing problems. The group now heads toward the beach. On the beach, they are forced into another fight, this time with the Unseelie. The PCs win that one too, and move on towards their freehold. There they encounter more Unseelie and Erissa goes into diplomacy mode. She tells the Unseelie that they can have a portion of this beach town. They agree and leave the area. Actually, she is not authorized to do this, but this problem can be sorted out at another time. Give this interesting adventure a try! The solo engine was fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Night Horrors: Nameless and Accursed
by REMI T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2022 21:07:35

Useful and rich sourcebook full of plot hooks and detailled, interesting mages NPCs. You need to buy this sourcebook if you play a Mage campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Nameless and Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Scion: Masks of the Mythos
by Preston B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2022 13:10:21

Okay, right off the bat I want to start by saying that this book is a 10/10 for me. It accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do and is, simply, sublime in its execution. That said, I also want to be clear that this book isn’t a “complete game” or anything. Masks of the Mythos is a sourcebook for Scion: Origin and Scion: Hero. The power level of this book is very much on par with hero level scions and while I haven’t done any head to head matchups dice pools are all pretty similar.

So, let’s do a quick rundown of my, personal, highlights:

  • The opening fiction “The Bog Woman” if wonderful, and hits all of the correct notes to get the headspace right to play this game. I have likely reread it a few time as I dove back into the sourcebook because of the feelings it evokes.
  • The chapter quotes may be the best Onyx Path has ever produced. They range from Neil Gaiman to Harriet Tubman to Neil deGrasse Tyson and every quote seems to exactly encapsulate the tone of Masks in a different way.
  • I am a fan of Lovecraft, but by no means an expert on the Mythos. That said, the principal members of the Mythos Pantheon all seem very well done. From Cthulhu to the King In Yellow they are all flavored well and those that I do recognize evoke the stories that I am aware of. Each member is thematically distinct as well from the others in a way that the Scions can all have interesting interactions if someone wanted to run a fully Mythos game.
  • The Mythos Birthrights serve as excellent inspiration, but I REALLY wanted more. I know that I have struggled with Relics in the past in games, and while the ones presented are fantastic, 2-3 more Relics and some more Birthrights in general would have been welcome.
  • Mythos fatebinding was presented in a very cool way. Honestly, I didn’t expect a separate fatebinding system, so this was one of the better surprises of the book.
  • The New Knacks are wonderful, but I don’t think I would have commented on them (because if you have read this far into this review you expected Knacks, but the sidebar on 47 is a VERY useful reminder about player agency and what knacks can and cannot do.)
  • There is a picture on page 58 that I just loved. The artist utterly nails this look of shock.
  • The antagonists section is well done and the fact that they go all in on beings like Father Dagon is a wonderful touch that likely won’t see much play, but gives storytellers a great jumping off point for similar creations.
  • Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the first appendix. The authors saw fit to give is a full 15 pages of information on how to translate Masks up to Demigod tier play. This gives this book a lot of value for some groups and will allow for MANY more groups to gain inspiration from the materials within.

If you are even the least bit interested in adding some terror from beyond the stars to your game, by this book. It is absolutely worth it and will continue to add value to your game for session after session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Masks of the Mythos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1598 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates