DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 00:40:55

Dissapointed in the binding, Cheaper than finding the original print but you would need to hire someone to rebind the book as the pages will fall out. I wish Drivethru RPG would have the option to choose bindings. I like to have my books intact for a long time.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Hunter: The Vigil Second Edition
by Stephen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2021 15:25:17

Just a brilliane overhaul of a beloved game from start to finish. Adapting old Vigil to fit with new Chronicles rules is a no brainer but the Hunter game seems uniquely suited to the new rules. I am also a fan of the new Slasher setting. But, for me, the real bonus is giving concrete rules on how to create custom Compacts and Conspiracies as well as the new Conspiracy "Council of Bones". Great work all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Many Names of Freya
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 15:07:34

The writers of Many Names of Freya have tackled this often-overlooked deity with loving care and brought so more in depth options for Scions to portray the multifaceted goddess with respect and depth. A quick but thought provoking read, a worth addition to this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Many Names of Freya
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deviant: The Renegades
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 16:56:50

An excellent game for a wild variety of supernatural being not previously covered by the Chronicles of Darkness game. My only regret is that it doesn't include a more unified setting inside, but it's solid enough for people to build their own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deviant: The Renegades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Books to Find in Ghelspad
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 10:02:34

Great ressource for the Scarred Lands, full of nice ideas for a random book in any Scarred Lands game. Bonus point, it also doubles as a random NPC name generator if you only take the names of the authors of these books, so it's really nice.

Minor caveat, the use of "Dunanhae" (from 3.X edition) instead of the 5E "Chardunhae", and I'd like to have seen the languages in which these books are written, even though most of the time it can be quickly deduced from the contents ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Books to Find in Ghelspad
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! Yes, I used Scarred Lands: Ghelspad as the primary reference, because, well, I liked it better than the updated versions. So, there may be some errors to fix, both here and in other supplements. Languages, yes, in some cases they could be quickly determined. In other cases, though, the books' origins are up to the GM. So, perhaps, the languages might be one of several.
Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
by Troy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 09:35:05

Mummy is a strange animal. It has very different starting conceits than most Chronicles of Darkness games. First, when your mummy awakens, it is full of power but very little idea of who they are and why they are awake. They regain more Memory as they remain awake, but they also lose power at the same time. It gives an interesting pressure to each descent where you're racing against the clock of your own power. Also, the more Memory you gain, the more likely you are to develop your own desires and maybe want to rebel against your Judge (the dread power you serve.) However, if you do not do what your Judge wants, they can punish you by taking away some of your Sekhem and/or your Memory. So you can't just flip your Judge a bandaged-wrapped middle digit. You need to figure out a way to bend the rules without breaking them to accomplish any goals other than what your Judge had decreed.

Second, mummies do not experience time in a linear fashion as humans do. They, instead, can wake up (or Descend in game terminology) out of order. Their first Descent might be in 2021, but then their second could be in 1776, then 1942, then 420, then 3442 on Mars. It is an elegant way to get around the whole, "this may be my first time playing this Mummy, but they had to have awoken at some point prior to this, why are they statted as a beginning-level MummY?" question. It also allows you to tell very different stories than are normally possible. You can have a Mummy wake up to find out a Relic has been stolen from a nearby museum. They do their investigation and figure out how the thief broke in and stole it. However, they can't figure out WHERE the thief is. They seem to have just disappeared with the Relic. The Mummy then goes back to sleep and wakes up a few weeks earlier, and using the information they learned on how the thief broke into the museum, they steal the Relic for themselves before the thief can. That's not the kind of story you can tell in most RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

New Wave Requiem Poster
by Ross D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2021 08:43:14

Who FOLDS a poster for shipping? Tubes are cheap. It would have been appropriately priced and an excellent value, but all of that is ruined by the big CREASE right in the middle of it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
New Wave Requiem Poster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Player's Guide to the Contagion Chronicle
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2021 23:14:06

If you're looking for some Chronicles of Darkness crossover, this is 100% worth the price. This book is what was missing from The Contagion Chronicle book because here we get the answers to the crossover questions raised by the "core" book. Now, I LIKE The Contagion Chronicle plenty for what it is, but it kinda promised crossover stuff that didn't QUITE materialize. No, this book won't give you EVERYTHING you may want, but it does make managing werevolves, mages, vampires, and even stranger monsters thrown together into your stories a lot easier. You'll still have to put effort into making it work, but at least you'll have some solid direction. I also love the "peek behind the curtain" vibe of some of the sidebars. Again, so worth buying, even if you don't have The Contagion Chronicle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Guide to the Contagion Chronicle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2021 09:33:17

Oh boy where do I start, 20th anniversery mage the ascension should have been great. Mage the Ascension was one of the first RPGs I ever picked up, I had a passion for the story and the idea of such an urban fantasy. Unfortunately this is an echo of it's former self. The layout and formatting are decent enough but the art is incredibly mediocre. It's sanitized to the point of having no soul. Everything is written to be as inoffensive as possible and with it there is no daring or flare. Several factions are renamed to a more politically correct name and the focus has moved from the traditions to the orphans, because hermeticism is bad or something. The book is incredibly preachy especially when you get to the appendexes. Don't get me wrong, the game is very playable and the rules themselves are just 2nd edition in a new packaging. But i'm going to quote dragon magazine 39 here, published in 1981

"If someone uses a fantasy game or novel as a soap box or a pulpit, that person has...turned a form of art into a form of propaganda or pornography." - Dragon Magazine Issue 39.

I'll stick to the older editions if I want more mage, or my own homebrew urban fantasy setting. This is a hard pass for me, but don't be surprised if this review is deleted soon. DTRPG acts awfully suspicious when it comes to negative reviews.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Storyguide's Guide to Telling Stories: A Guide
by TJ W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 18:24:30

Sean is a friend of mine, that being said, if you are looking for a general guideline to the rules of any of the Trinity Contiuum titles The Storyguide's Guide to Guiding Stories: A Guide, is an excellent treatise on the rules and developer's intentions. It fills in some holes in the core, such as vehicular combat, and provides plenty of examples of how to use Storypath. It answers questions like, how do I build a death ray with super science? When and how does Scale apply? I have run three Storypath campaigns and found the house rules to be useful and conservative attempts to try to interpret rules as written and intended, but your mileage may vary. This isn't the prettiest community content available and I caught at least one typo that crept in, but aside from those minor quibbles, I would highly recommend it for anyone looking to get a better look at what Storypath can do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Storyguide's Guide to Telling Stories: A Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2021 23:12:20

They Came From Beyond the Grave! (TCFBtG!) is a comedic horror game that uses the Storypath system and the second release in the "They Came From..." series. Like it's predecessor, They Came From Beneath the Sea! this game is set as a movie or TV show where the Players have the meta-knowledge that it's a filim but the characters do not. For those unfamilar with Storypath games, the characters roll dice pools of d10s by adding an appropriate skill and attribute to determine the number of dice rolled. 8s and above are successes. Characters can add additional dice by saying a Quip or using a Trademark connected to their archetype. The gameplay itself is horror based and the comedic element is introduced through quips, one-liners the Players say before making a roll, which if deemed amusing enough for the situation add dice to the roll. The inspiratin of the game is the Hammer Horror films released in the 60s and 70s like Dracula with Christopher Lee (and the 5 or so sequels he reluctantly went on to star in due to contractual obligations). Tone at it's core is darker than the 1950s B-Movie based They Came From Beneath the Sea! but that doesn't take away from the humor or the fun that can be had. TCFBtG! shines in providing a monster hunter gaming experience while encouraging a relaxed and joking atmosphere. It works well with what I want out of game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Storyguide's Guide to Telling Stories: A Guide
by Troy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2021 12:39:02

Full disclosure: I am writing this review based on a free copy provided by the author.

This product is meant to provide clarification, commentary, guidance, and houserules for using the Trinity Continuum: Core rulebook.

The Good: The book does a great job of making the rules clearer than they were written in the core book. It also has useful suggestions on how to apply the existing rules to situations where it is not obvious how you'd apply the rules. (There is great part of the book where he gives examples of using every attribute with the Aim skill to fire a gun.) It also points out where there are inconsitencies within the core book and offers guidance on how to resolve them. The author does an admirable job of walking the line between explaining and critiquing the rules in the most useful way possible.

The Bad: As someone who has run around 30 sessions of Trinity games, I don't agree with some of the interpretations, house rules, and suggestions, but I also don't see any obvious problems with following them.

The Ugly: Like any self-edited and -published book it has some errors in layout and typing, but it is still very readable.

Overall, I think this book is extremely helpful, and it addresses a number of questions I've seen on various internet forums and sites regarding the system. It is well-worth your money and time to check out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Storyguide's Guide to Telling Stories: A Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
by Nikula A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2021 15:16:28

Best of the Kickstarter Stretch Goal Novellas so far. The Silence of Our Ancestors provides an interesting, short and contained detective story that wield's the setting's unique concepts in a creative and fun way. The story contains the best depiction of demons I've read so far, and made me more interested about the Wanasaan than any other source yet. I sincerely hope we'll continuation to this story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
by Erlan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2021 22:34:01

Play as Immortal atemporal demigos, with apocalyptic powers but very bad memory. In this book you will find the rules to play Mummies, which are very unique and present many interesting strong points. 1- You are not only immortal but atemporal: play one session in 1980 CE, play the next in 300 BcE. 2- Your powers have an inverted progression: you start as strong as a demigod, and lose your powers with time. When your energy is too weak, go to sleep, then wake up in another era again as a demigod. 3- Create and manage cults: have a group of followers that worship you and do things for you. Some are immortal too and will be with you for eaons (or play as the cultist instead of a mummy). 4- Many of the systems creates stories: want to learn the highest level of a power? Do an investigation to find how is done. These gives tons of tools to the ST to keep players engaged. 5- Tombs: design mini dungeons with everything from relics other can steal to traps.

I knew very little about Mummy before this 2ed book, now is the game I want to ran the most.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deviant: The Renegades
by Ian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2021 11:20:18

This is the game I would have made if I were a good game designer. The themes are applicable to a wide variety of modern media. The mechanics have breadth and depth without being bogged down by countless exceptions and requirements to flip to other sections to look up how other rules work. You can make nearly any kind of character you could desire - even takes on the other game lines in the Chronicles of Darkness. I love the core book deeply, I can't wait for the Clades Companion and Devoted Companion, and I hope that we will get to see other supplements in the future. They will all be instant-buys for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deviant: The Renegades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1400 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates