DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
M20 Book of the Fallen
by Alexandre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2021 12:37:33

I'll start with the posivite : the new nephandic factions and the npcs are a good inspiration for a game of M:tA.

Sadly, the ggod stuff is drowned by various superflous matter. First, SO MANY CONTENT WARNING. Seriously, he author do not trust its readers. Also, with so many content warning, the "dark" stuff seems almost tame, like a bad horror movie. The author is also quite patronising, using a game supplement to publish an essay on his values and his worldview.
Second, the desciption of the Nephandi esclusively based on somekind of "being a predator is the true evil", without any other conception of evil. This make the Nephandi quite one-dimensional. Also, the author really like its onw bizarro cosmology, binding the ST into some kind of "qiloppoth or nothing" approach to nephandic magic. Third, for a book that repeat that this is not a player book, all the in-game options are very "player-friendly". No real "antagonist" options. Now, I know that this is a stapple of the various WOD books, but the fact that the author do not really want to give ST options to how to use nephandi (because : "don't harm your player, be kind, think of your players sensibility" - see first point), the book give a wreid "player's guide to the Fallen" feels. So, the author did not wanted to write the book, make it unreadable, push its own ideology. Go buy the original Book of Madness, or the Book of Madness Revised or Infernalism : path of scream.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Book of the Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

M20 Technocracy Reloaded
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 19:32:24

I want to preface this by saying that I am not a Mage player. I've looked into the game a few times over the years and the it just never clicked with me. Until I read this book. I found myself connecting to the Technocracy more than I ever did with the Traditions. I think it's due, at least in part, toe spending the past 15 plus years working in Corporate America that made things a bit more relateable. Anyone who has had to sit through a performance review can account of how dreadful they can be and this book nails that feeling perfectly. The style of writing style throughout felt more relatable than over MtA books I've read (or attempted to read). There's a conversational tone throughout the book. You aren't reading a text, it's a conversation with the writer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Technocracy Reloaded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2021 15:46:21

firstly, these 20th WOD books are beef big books! just letting you know ahead of time.

now, this game is really fun! once in a while, i pull this game out and run a one off where a pack of werewolves are in a turf war and it's a fight to the death. super fun!

there are plenty in information and plot hooks in this book to have political intrigue type stories and heavy RP.

my only gripe, is that it takes 20-30 pages to finally get into how to make your character, it's a pain, but it is what it is.

overall, highly recommend this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Randy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2021 01:54:29

Of the 5 main classic World of Darkness games, Changeling: the Dreaming was always my least favorite. This edition actually makes it #2 (after Mage 20th). It's fixed so much! The balance, mechanics, world description, and kiths are all so much tidier and well-explained.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Alexandre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 08:48:55

The book is bland and uninspiring. Even the revisiting stuff feels like a mandate.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Alexandre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 08:47:17

Not a bad book, but it didn't have the "wow" of the old WW books. It is just that desing decisions are so.. visible, and there is not a desire to create a world, but simply to create a game supplement.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Tai J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 07:39:27

The book is phenomenal.

It is actually a tome, hardback, solid, well bound, the artwork is absolutely stunning and for the price it's amazing. I am in love with this book, and am so glad that I got it.

On receiving this masterpiece, I am off now to buy the Tarot Deck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Troubadors & Tenders of the Grove, Pugilists & Pact Makers
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 13:58:36

This product is good, but it misses just a few marks to become great. My main concern is that the wording could be much improved to better match 5e conventions. Most of these ideas are interesting and fit really well in the Scarred Lands (a druid that can summon a herd of street cats, yes!) but an editing pass is much needed. Balance is also sometimes questionable as well. As for the previous book by the same authors, the layout switches back and forth between one and two columns, which feels rather odd.

Some common editing mistakes I found are :

  • use of "CON", "CHA", etc instead of "Constitution", "Charisma", etc; HP instead of hit points, etc
  • lot of words starting with Capital letters when they shouldn't (Advantage, Disadvantage, Attack of Opportunity),
  • words sometimes missing in a sentence,
  • some features not mentioning at which level they are gained,
  • spell names not in italic
  • some effects missing (notably, the base effect of the defensive state for the Call of the Stray)
  • inconsistent interline (makes reading really awkward, I know that you want everything to fit on a single page but still...)
  • the DC for the Pounce ability is not 5e-like
  • some effects don't specify what type of actions are required to activate them
  • some translation issues ? "reflexive action" instead of "reaction"
  • some abilities using "time per day" instead of using a long rest mechanics
  • some copy-paste errors ("mother of dragons" instead of "the Null")
  • use of "the player" instead of "you"
  • use of "Reflex" saving throw from 3.X era
  • a list of spells would have been useful

By the way, the defensive state for the Call of the Stray effect is perhaps the most overpowered (it can grant a +12 bonus to AC, which is way tooooo much) and I would definitively nerf it at my table. (That's not the only balance issue I found tbh)

Also, it is not clear whether the Forgotten Necrotic King refer to Ahrmuzda Airat (which should be known by any historian familiar with Hollowfaut history) or if the authors imply another entity?

Again, there are lot of good and great ideas in this book, and it would be a 5-star product for me if it were a bit more polished.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Troubadors & Tenders of the Grove, Pugilists & Pact Makers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
by michael s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 13:45:00

Sh? She? She? Low expectations for this one but high hope. Such a great idea and loved the orginal but its just so overly complicated



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 08:20:00

First, let me say that the Exalted setting is beautifully written. The worldbuilding is novel, fascinating, and well thought out, with a wonderful amount of attention paid to the implications of even minor setting details. The characterization is solid, and the potential plots are limitless. Considered as a work of fiction, this book is a masterpiece.

Unfortunately, considered as a game system, this system is almost literally unplayable. The combat system is built around a division between "withering" and "decisive" attacks that is both horrifically clunky and constantly pulls you out of the gaming experience to engage with a dissociated mechanical abstraction. The arbitrary "crafting XP" system makes crafting feel like a video-game grind rather than like being a master craftsman, and the use of Lore as a skill to rewrite the setting rather than to obtain information undermines any attempt to create the illusion of a internally consistent reality. The XP system fails to use the full advantages of an XP system, with XP primarily being handed out for completing sessions rather than any in-game accomplishment and with little to no provision for the GM to use XP to reward player success. The Attribute+Ability system is confusing, with several things being made Abilities that really should be passive effects and an Attribute system that is hard to follow.

This is all the more frustrating because Onyx Path had no need to use such atrocious mechanics. If they had simply built the EX3 game to run on the same combat engine, Ability+Skill system, Beat/XP mechanics, etc. that they already use for their Chronicles of Darkness system, this would be easily a 4-star product, possibly 5.

Though I will note one last caveat: I was very impressed with EX3's social influence system. The idea of teired Intimacies and the way they interact with social influence is one of the better ways I have seen of building a defined social influence system that gives social characters power without being horrifically broken, and this is one area where EX3's rules are better than those of the CoD system.

I hold out hope for a conversion of this setting to a more playable system, but I can confidently state that I will never play or run a game using these rules.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Time is Come Round: The Contagion Chronicle Jumpstart
by André B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 12:02:42

Nice story and development... Good puzzles. Excellent for new players... BUT... I can point some things that annoyed me:

1- At some poits have page link unfinished (p. XX)

2- Could describe the merits at characteres page

3- I missed a scratch of Deimos Energy Solutions plant with some interesting points

4- Bans and Banes Effects

And for Gods sake.... Translate your materials to Portuguese. We have a HUGE base @Brazil and we are still playing V:TM 3rd Edition just because we dont have material in our language.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Time is Come Round: The Contagion Chronicle Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Paweł M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 13:48:05

Absolutely one of my all-time favorites. Huge amount of information in really nice looking book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Scion: Frost Giant Butt Warriors
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2021 13:18:30

Hemmingway, Shakespeare, Stoker, Tolkein, and Martin

All hacks in comparison to the literary genius found within this tome. Frost Giant Butt Warriors is a literary masterpiece, unlike any I have ever seen before. Combining a compelling, and often times awe-inspiring, combination of world building, character development, internalized struggle, and description within such a short book that I was left in absolute awe for hours to come. The author manages to keep you on the edge of your seat, wondering what will happen next the whole time as you are left worried yet interested in the future of this piece.

I would not merely reccomend this for its techincal and literary merits though, make no mistake, as this is also the single best RPG supplement I have ever had the pleasure to find, and was surprised at its cost. A supplement such as this is a must have for any fan of Scion wanting to expand their view of The World, as it presents a side of it we have never seen before. Not a mere exploration of the Myths and Legends we find in The World, this book shows us the human nature as well and what it is to truely live in a world based off mythology.

My only complaint would be this is a single story series, as this truly had the maings of being one the biggest additions to the RPG world since the invention of 7 dice sets. I can only hope that the coming Scion Anthology decides to look toward this great for its inspiration, and seek to not only live up to its legacy but surpass it.

6/5 stars, a must read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Frost Giant Butt Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2021 14:31:46

An amazing addition to your Chronicles collection, and something I look forward to running with earnest. Mummy is not just a game of curses and revenge, as you might expect from a more Universal Pictures view of the monster, but of lost identity and a struggle between maintaining one's self and the ideas of who they are.

Whether you plan on running a short or long game, Mummy's lore and mechanics can support your vision. If you get tired of your current setting, you can completely change it up and use the exact same characters with no problem. I don't think I've played any game which gives the freedom, both mechanically and lore wise, to play with your players as an ST in a long while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy: The Curse Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Dillon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2021 02:15:58

I purchased the premium, hardcover print. What i got, was flimsy paper and washed colors.

the only color that isnt muted is black and i honestly feel like i might tear the page when i turn it. I honestly hope they sent me the standard copy by mistake.

The game is great.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1374 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates