DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Grimmworld
by Malcolm C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2021 02:32:51

Honest Review: I helped playtest for which I received a copy of the game, but there was no expectation of or any other incentive for providing a review. Grimmworld is a fast-moving, flexible system that facilitates great storytelling. The card-based system is innovative and refreshing for people looking for a different way of managing randomness and control: sometimes you just have to play a card you don't necessarily want to and sometimes you can make a situation really go in your favour. The great thing is it makes the game very inclusive as all players are encouraged to get involved and make decisions about what cards to play and when. I am a huge fan of the Romantic/Gothic time period and the Downings' take on it with a sprinkle of faerie and alt history makes it just the right balance of accessibility and defamiliarization for novices and experts. If you can afford it the hard copy is a great looking book. Sized and mocked up like a period travel journal, there are great illustrations and clever details you will enjoy. I highly recommend Grimmworld as a quick to pick up system that gamers of all stripes will enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimmworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Realms of Death: A World Resource for Arrowflight
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2021 14:47:35

I bought my first copy of Arrowflight in 2002, and it has remained my favoutite fantasy RPG system ever since. Over the years I have acquired all the various expansions for both editions of the system, and I was awaiting Realms of Death with some considerable expectation ...

The book is perfect bound with a good front cover and excellent internal artwork, although I did find the map a little hard to read (must be my eyes!). The artwork is in the same 'computer generated' style as Lands of Enchantment, and looks pretty nifty - and it certaily fits with the setting. The setting for this sourcebook is of a fantasy 'Africa' - and this is all but unique in my experince! Whilst a few RP games have dabbled with non-European based fantasy settings (Maztica etc), very few (if any) have been based on an entirely African theme, and this makes both a welcome change of feel, pace and substance. Rich in 'history' and with oodles of additional rules, options, ideas & setting specific monsters & character options, Realms of Death is both a major addition to the Arrowflight setting and system and a good read in its own right.

In addition to the setting, more material is provided on the settings own 'Underworld' - both the Caverns of Chaos & the City of Truth get expanded material (including more Demonic and Angelic race stats), and (much more interstingly) a big expansion of the settings theology also provide a glimpse into some of the non-human/variant human religions and their gods realms.

I did spot a few typo's and formatting errors in the book, but these are very minor and will probably be missed at speedy read speed or at a cursory glance - and they do not detract from either the value of the book or its material.

The PDF contains the exact same material as the book - BUT I did find my copy of the PDF has an annoyng formatting error - some of the artwork appears to have had the images 'flipped over' vertically, resulting in some unsightly distortions that spoil them utterly. I've yet to decide if these faults are a result of the download, or they're systemic to the PDF itsefl. Whilst they do NOT affect the value of the material and rules one bit, they do mean that anyone printing their PDF will get a less than 100% version compared to the print copy.

The book rates the full 5 stars given below, the PDF gets 4.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Death: A World Resource for Arrowflight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Santa's Soldiers, 3rd Edition
by Chloe H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2021 09:36:02

Very witty! Perfect for someone like me, who can't go an RPG session without a pop culture refreance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Santa's Soldiers, 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dime Heroes Pack
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 11:52:12

I was looking for a quick pulp rule set to run a quick game at an RPG party. This did not disappoint. Simple and fast with just enough rules to not get in its own way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dime Heroes Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Santa's Soldiers, 2nd Edition
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 15:09:08

Ran this the Wednesday before Xmas instead of my usual D&D. Had 9 PCs. Everyone LOVED it! Took the original Dead Letter scenario, added in secret TINSC (There is no Santa Clause - "tin-sink") Part to the Anti-Christmas villian set, with "Postal Inspectors" equiped with 'The World As It Really Is' ("TWAIRI") ray guns that give -1 to Xmas Spirit score. A zero and an elf simply becomes a cynical short person. Also equipped the Inspectors with "Postal Regulation" book grenades - they explode (10ft radius) papering the targets with postal reg pages that stick to them, immobalizing and blinding the target for 1D6 turns.

Will see if I can work up a Valentine or Easter adventure next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Santa's Soldiers, 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Broadsword
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2016 14:34:39

A quick simple system go play out that cool fantasy world you have had stuck in your head for years.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Broadsword
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Santa's Soldiers Presents: A Very Krampus Christmas
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 14:09:46

I found this adventure aid a little disappointing. I was looking for an aid that would help me throw Krampus into an existing campaign as a Christmas aside. What I found was a wealth of background information for people who have no idea who Krampus is, which it seems to me is not who would be interested in the product. That background information is readily available on the Internet. The rest of the material, which related to ideas how to bring Krampus into a campaign and statistical information on Krampus and his minions (which is the part I thought I was going to be excited about), turned out to be bound with iron shackles to the game system of the creators of the product, and just to read through it assumed and demanded intimate familiarity with that system. Also the tone was a little silly in places, which to me is not a deal-breaker, but combined with the product's other weaknesses turned me off to the supplement. I suspect this tone is characteristic of their whole game system, which I found jarring--and this opinion should be consdered pretty definitive coming from a player of such romps as Toon and Bunnies & Burrows! For a truly entertaining and engaging read on Krampus, I'd instead refer gamers (or anyone else) to Brom's eponymous novel Krampus.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Santa's Soldiers Presents: A Very Krampus Christmas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
"...bound with iron shackles..." we see what you did there. :) As stated in the product description, A Very Krampus Christmas is a free supplement for the Santa's Soldiers RPG, so it logically follows that the presentation of the character and stats would support the Santa's Soldiers setting and system. We're sorry it didn't work for your needs, but then again, it was never intended to be a system-agnostic game aid.
The 1PG Compendium
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2016 20:08:04

Considering I paid $30 for the PDF alone on RPG now, I'd say the price point for the print is great. The Compendium does not include the expansions from Hengeokyi Studios, which is why I'm giving it 4, not 5, starts. But the system is functional and easy: 1D6 roll under a target of attribute plus skill. For most of us, gameplay is a rarity that often takes place over google hangouts, Skype or FaceTime with old friends sperated by distance. This type of gaming necessitates a rules-lite system. And let's face it, spending and hour or more designing a character was cool at 12 years old; over 40, it's not even worth it. You'll have your characters ready in 5 minutes or less. I won't say this is the best rules-lite system out there, but it's certainly worth a look at this price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The 1PG Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Airship Daedalus RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2016 13:35:45

Put simply this is a terrific game. It is set in a pulp adventure world of the 20s and 30s and promises high adventure, evil villains, derring do and probably a few cliffs to hanger. There are plenty of pulp style role playing games on the market already so what makes this terrific? 3 things.

First is the book itself. It is gorgeous. Bright and vivid just like the pulps of old (in fact it includes snippets of old pulp comics, plus a few of the Airship Daedalus web comic) with an intuitive layout. It is also nicely self-contained with plenty of material beyond the basic rules and character creation. Potential settings, missions, npcs and organizations give you great world building blocks for your campaigns. And of course there is a strong bestiary and a great equipment list that includes vehicles both practical and fantastic. (And yes I am talking about rocket packs. Rocket packs, people!) And Airship Daedalus casts a wide pulp net so the fantastic extends to psychic, magic and spiritual powers as well.

Second is the character creation. God, the character creation is so much fun. It is intuitive first of all and not beholden to classes and alignments. You can create the character you want with the skills you want and not get bogged down in whether it is appropriate for a priest to take points in Seduction. But the true strength of the character creation is in the Liabilities and Behavior Tags sections. These allow you to generate an extra pool of starting skill points (or some nifty Assets) at some cost to your character. It could be bad luck or a bad sense or a fear or a delusion or a stutter or a nervous fidget or a curse or so many more. Most of them come with penalties to various skill checks (like Ugly has a penalty to Seduction and Social rolls) so there is plenty of strategy in determining what is worth which penalty. Plus it gives you so much to role play. In one afternoon I created 2 characters. The first is a psychic detective who thinks he is the last descendant of Ghengis Khan, is afraid of spiders and sings The Heebie Jeebies when nervous. The second is a sharp shooting smuggler who is a fanatical communist with a deep intolerance for the wealthy and a run of bad luck. And you get all of that before game play even starts. Wheee!

Third is the XPG system. This skill check system is straightforward and intuitive. (I've used that word a lot with reason.) The default system is 2D6 though I prefer the D12 variant. Your Stat (like Agility or Perception) plus your skill (like Stealth or Awareness) equals your target number. Roll equal to or less than your target number and you succeed. In combat and other cases the margin of success determines the strength of the outcome. No separate rolls for damage. Snakes eyes equals awesome and doubles your success margin and boxcars equals bad and now you're in for it. I have played the XPG system as game master and as player and in both cases its simplicity is welcome as it frees up more time and energy for role playing. (Make an Awareness check. Ok I missed it by 1 but I do have a +1 for hearing so that succeeds. All right, you hear voices to the side but cannot make out the shadowy shapes. And away we go.)

Full disclosure, I am a friend of the creator and gave him feedback on some drafts. But I can honestly say I would be just as giddy over this game if I just happened upon it. (Don't believe me? Then buy the game and prove me wrong!)

Fantastic world building, fun character creation and intuitive game play make Airship Daedalus a must for RPG fans and a great starting point for the RPG curious. Do yourself a favor and check it out



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Airship Daedalus RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Santa's Soldiers Presents: A Very Krampus Christmas
by Deb Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2016 18:11:52

Definately a fun addition to our holiday game! I loved this suppliment!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Santa's Soldiers Presents: A Very Krampus Christmas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Airship Daedalus Vol. 1
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2015 08:46:04

This book is a finely crafted homage to pulp adventure. The art, writing, and presentation are all designed to be as authentic as possible. If it were possible to distill listening to heroic radio serials onto paper the result would be Airship Daedalus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Airship Daedalus Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Broadsword
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2013 16:23:31

Love this for a one shot, or with a few modifications, mainly by adding Legends of Steal, a campaign. I find that with the right GM, you can get a lot of adventure in 2-3 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Broadsword
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Star Legion
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2013 20:29:38

This game was fun and easy to use to tell the tale i wanted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Legion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shriek
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 16:33:00

Shriek is a 13-page horror game that tries to capture the cheesy thrills and chills of slasher flicks. There’s not a whole lot of room in 13 pages – discount the cover, table of contents, and character sheet and it’s actually just ten pages. The rules fit on one page, but they could have used some expansion.

For example, the RULES OF PLAY don’t actually explain what the stats are, instead referring to the character sheet. So you have Buffness, Looks, Craftiness, and Brains. Perhaps the authors assumed they were all self-evident. Less evident is Guts – you might think that’s hit points (this is, after all, a slasher game) but it’s actually sanity. Failing a Guts roll causes you to lose Wits, which act like Call of Cthulhu’s Sanity points. Lose all your Wits and you go insane. For hit points we have Blood. For reasons known only to the authors, Guts, Wits, and Blood are Secondary Stats. Why? What are they secondary to? What does that mean? No explanation.

Popularity, which acts a lot like Dungeons & Dragons’ Charisma stat, is used to influence other characters by rolling under Buffness or Looks. Your popularity is solely determined by how hot you are, in other words. It’s clear that this game is not meant to capture a particular form of slasher flick.

Skills aren’t referenced by name – you’ll have to read the character sheet to figure out what they are – and they are of dubious application. Whup-Ass is used for attacking and defending, Gym is used for evasion (really?), and Shooting is used for shooting. It would have been funny if all the skills were tied to high school classes or slang. Alternately, the skills could just have been clear and easy to use, like naming the attacking skill Attacking. Instead, Shriek vacillates between all three styles.

The next page, CHARACTERS, is a copy of the rules on the earlier page with an accompanying character sheet to clarify, RULES OF PLAY. Suddenly the complete lack of reference to attributes visible on the character sheet makes sense. Although it appears second, RULES OF PLAY is actually a copy of CHARACTERS. Do we really need to be reminded twice that wearing a bicycle helmet gives you a bonus to your Armor Value but lowers your Looks because it makes you look like a dweeb?

There’s also a Status Table at the bottom that gives each character “something cool.” The players roll 1d6, which begs the question: how many characters in a slasher flick are losers, have a bitchin’ wardrobe, and psychic powers? Usually just one, right? It might have made more sense to assign each character something cool (oddly named “Status Table”). Not to mention the headaches of psychic powers, which are handled with “just tell the Ref what you want to do and use your Brains as the target number.”

FOR THE REF covers standard horror advice for running a game, like telling players “because I said so.” UNNATURAL WEIRDNESS gets into the weeds of using psychic powers, magic, power levels, magic vs. psionics (psionics? I thought they were psychic powers?), artifacts, and power boosters. The scenarios include one-page riffs on Night of the Living Dead, Friday the 13th, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Christine, and uh…The Texas Chainsaw Massacre again.

For a beer-and-pretzels horror game, Shriek comes off as incomplete, created by D&D gamers who liked the idea of a rules-light game but their geeky nature prevented them from following through. The game’s tone is surprisingly humorless and the one piece of advice (“because I said so”) is pretty bad. With just ten pages to impress, Shriek goes out with a whimper.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shriek
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Daisho: Samurai Adventure
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2011 16:08:19

All the rules on 1 page - well, kind of. There are a couple of supplemantary pages of "advanced"! rules. Daisho is a rules light RPG of swashbuckling samurai adventure which has almost no connection to historical Japan and takes its inspiration from bloodthirsty samurai movies where swiftness with a blade is more important than knowing the history of the shogunate or the intricacies of the tea ceremony.

And its none the worse for it - the game almost demands a breezy, devil-may-care approach. Everything is done off a single d6 roll, combat can be deadly but the game advises if your character bites the katana to simply roll up a new one and rejoin the adventure. You also get 6 adventure plots for your money of varying quality - the one about the secret ninja school is the best.

For the price even if you only play the game once you've gotten your moneys worth and you'll probably play more than that - a crisp little beer and pretzels rpg for when you need to scratch a Far Eastern itch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daisho: Samurai Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 54 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates