DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 10:40:13

This is a fine adventure for the price, the only quibble I would have is that more maps and diagrams would be helpful. It's a good start to the author's proposed series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Traveller: Makergod
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 16:31:11

Since starting Drinax in 2015, I had long wanted to take my players to icy, untamed Oghma. Potential 'fall guy' for the Drinaxians vis-a-vis the Punitive Flotilla, testing grounds for the nascent Pirates and their crews, or just a dangerous place with dangerous people, the planet had its mystery and reputation (and uses). The PCs were going...and it was going to be a lot of work!

Fortunately for me as a harried GM, there was suddenly a nearly fully-developed treatment of the world, its inhabitants, geopolitics, a lead-in scenario, technology and a sandbox (icebox?) the likes of which one usually associates with boxed sets (Tarsus?) or full softcover books (a la Sword Worlds), costing 3x as much or more. The cartography and schematics are first-rate, and the more modest endgame maps and plot twist inspired me to a much bigger effort of my own linked to other elements in my campaign-something I could never have done without the foundation this book provided. It is shaping up to be an epic conclusion to the current arc of the campaign and I must say-this book is the single most impressive Drinax-related Traveller product I have purchased other than the full campaign itself, which I backed on Kickstarter.

While capsule descriptions and short stories (cf. Arunisiir, Torpol Cluster, various Drinax fiction) are of some help, few feature such a broad and nicely detailed approach as the Makergod product. If this author creates more such books set in the Reach, I will put my money down without question!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller: Makergod
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

High Guard
by Roy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2020 09:41:43

Excellent book overall. As with almost all Mongoose books, I find the organization a bit haphazard. It is sometimes hard to find what I am looking for in the book. My biggest complaint is that the pdf is locked in such a way that I am prevented from adding my own bookmarks. I can still copy it and share it I don't care about copyright issues, so I'm not sure what they are trying to prevent. The book looks very nice and has a very large assortment of ship stats and layouts. The new isometric maps look great, but I wish there were 2D maps that would be easier to use on a VTT. The sale price of $30 is suitable to what is offered, but I think the full $50 price would be a bit steep. If you are playing game that focus on ship improvments this books is a must have. The core book does not include very much for upgrading or building ships, and high guard has a lot of detail in this area.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

MgT Traveller Map of the Trojan Reaches Sector
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 22:14:35

Very sloppy work; art overlays text in several places, leaving the vuewer to guess what was meant from the two or three letters visible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
MgT Traveller Map of the Trojan Reaches Sector
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Morgan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 17:01:16

This book improves on the 1st edition of Traveller in many ways. The art is considerably better, and many of the careers look to be improved, with handy charts for navigating the complex character creation that Traveller has always used. It fixes many of the problems I had with 1e. So why 2 stars? Because it's $30 for less content than the 1e corebook, despite a higher pagecount. While the book has retained one of the quintessential traveller rules bits - world/universe creation - it has needlessly omitted starship design. This is a huge part of the utility of Traveller and vastly reduces the books value as a single volume RPG resource. This would be less irritating if the book didn't waste pages with overly designed tables (the weapon tables are tremendously inefficient wastes of space) and functional advertising for upcoming products that look like they'll be mandatory to get the same material we got in the 1e corebook.

Is it bad? That remains to be seen. The mechanics don't look like the same level of disaster that 1e's Vehicle books or Mercenary was, but in their incomplete state and the clear assumption that future supplements will be mandatory purchases, along with some issues related to the files (wonkiness with the printer friendly version, etc) ensures that I'll be looking elsewhere for my Space Opera fix.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Knights of Solaris
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 21:25:10

Knights of Solaris is a fantastic addition to, or basis for a Traveller campaign. The new abilities and equipment are a lot of fun to use, and seem really well balanced. Looking forward to more material for the Solaris setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
by Kaladorn O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 04:47:38

I got mine in the Kickstarter. I've played Traveller since 1981 (38 years...) and I've loved ships, deckplans, and the advanced character creation, esp of various militaries. However, for a long time, there was nothing really usable as a way to run an active duty campaign. Now, for small ships like a Gazelle class close escort (about 3x as large as a Free Trader), you could probably ad-lib that one as a GM. But the books about major fleet elements had destroyers, cruisers, battleships, carriers.... nothing you could play with except as a wargame of sorts. You are pretty small on one of those 500,000 dTon battlewagons.

Then, along comes this Kickstarter and we get a 'big' ship compared to most of the ship's players will ever own. About the only close examples I can think of sizewise might be King Richard liner or the Azhanti High Lightning Class Cruisers. But none of those took the time to focus on the role playing aspect of "How do I play an active duty campaign on one of these?". That's where the magic in this product lives. It not only gives you the huge pile of cool deck blueprints and some description of what and where, but it deals with how you can actually have a role-playing campaign amidst such a vast vessel.

Now, from the KS, but not in this, we got the first adventure (and there are several others) that form a campaign which will give even more info on how to run a long campaign from a big ship. It's a kind of gaming many of us imagine we'd love to do, but never really had a good guide on how to do it and how to not simply make the players the senior officers and then watch them try to become bandits with the Dread Death Planet Roberts.

This product and the adventures that need this as a base are as good of a take on how to actually run an active service campaign as I've ever seen in any game that involved large military vessels or big units (grounside). The campaign style is different to your 6-vagabonds-in-a-40-year-old-tramp-trader. These people operate in a world of ranks, rules, laws, and orders. They also live in a world of tough fights and a lot of things that force can't solve directly (and some good practice at other means of dealing with situations). I think this is such a breath of fresh air for players old and new that most of us, finances allowing, should add this one to our collections.

I just wish I'd had the money to join the Great Rift kickstarter too. This one won my heart though. And my wallet, and I don't have as much to spend as I once did. I have a redhead in middle school that has first call on available monies. (Pity the mustering out benefit for some PCs isn't 'child support' or 'a dependent NPC').



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Jeremiah Thunder Mountain
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 08:23:09

This is great add on to the Jeremiah D20 Modern RPG. I watched the TV series and really enjoyed it. When I found the 20D Modern Rules for the Jeremiah Universe I knew I wanted to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jeremiah Thunder Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 08:22:03

I watched the TV series and really enjoyed it. When I found the 20D Modern Rules for the Jeremiah Universe I knew I wanted to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Book 1: Mercenary
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2020 17:10:07

Contains an amazing amount of information, especially for the standard "Third Imperium" universe. Great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book 1: Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Luke H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 04:15:15

Ran this with a group of friends who are new to Traveller (I'm not). They really enjoyed it and may be converts from their usual fantasy shenanigans. I've been GMing for over 30 years so where there were the occasional holes in the plot or things that weren't fully explained, they didn't phase me. They actually made it easier to fit into my planned campaign. If you're the kind of GM who wants everthing spelled out for you, maybe this is more of a 4 star product. Player satisfaction is my number one criterion and at the price, this is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/06/2020 12:06:21

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreon supporters.

As an aside: Man, it’s been too long since I got to review a Traveller supplement! I really love this game.

So, we get new careers here, and the book explains them all in the beginning, before going on to depict them. All careers have in common that they have a DM -1 for every previous career. System guards also have a DM-2 if aged 34 or more.

The first career would be the Athlete – the assignments covered here are electronic, physical and vehicle sports, with qualification being DEX or END 6+. Interesting: The Career Progress for e.g. electronic sports requires EDU 5+, and DEX 7+, vehicle sports requires INT 5+ for survival, SOC 7+ for advancement. These career progress notes are provided for all careers, just fyi. 7 ranks of muster out benefits are provided per job (including cash), and each career comes with 6-entry skills and training notes that list proper personal development benefits and service skills. Provided you have a minimum EDU of 10, you also have 6 advanced education entries here – all of the careers feature this. The three assignments each come with 6 entries as well – vehicle sports could, e.g., be vacc suits, while physical sports might be recon or even carousing.

Progress in ranks is noted in its own table, with 6 ranks provided – vehicle sports would e.g. net you Drive 1 or Flyer 1, Persuade 1 and SOC+1 over its course, while physical sports would net STR+1, END+1 and SOC+1. These make sense to make, and from some names for a couple of ranks to the benefits, these made sense to me. A 6-entry mishap table and a d66 event-table complements each of these jobs.

To give you an example regarding the Athlete: Among the mishaps, we have exposing corruption among the owners, which results in not being hired anymore, illegal drug use, or standing up for a cause the public doesn’t like – these mishaps can also have benefits. The latter, for example, reduces your SOC by 1, but also nets you D3 Contacts! I like these as conductive to roleplaying and character development.

Events can range from a mishap sans being ejected, and also some risky bits – such as e.g. being offered performance enhancers, which might blow up in your face…or not. You might gain a Rival, or your clubbing nets you some seedy tricks, like Streetwise 1, Carouse 1, etc. You might gain an experienced promoter, noble contacts, etc. These are surprisingly diverse and mechanically (and roleplaying-wise) interesting.

The second career is customer service, which requires INT 4+, and uses assignment skills instead of Service Skills. The assignments featured are company representative, corporate prostitute and waitstaff. At this point: Kudos for a tasteful and non-explicit rendition of sexwork! For Survival, these require INT 4+, END 6+ and DEX 5+, respectively, with SOC 8+, SOC 6+ and EDU 7+ required for advancement. At the 6th rank of personal development, we have Jack-Of-All-Trades here, which makes sense. Company Rep and corp prostitute btw. share the ranks and bonuses, which, I admit, makes sense. The mishaps here are interesting as well: Sticking up for a co-worker might cost you both your jobs, but also nets you an increase of Advocate by one level, and an Ally. Conversely, the event table here may net you an Enemy among the customers. Toxic work culture can happen, and you might, by accident, kick the president’s dog – which might net you a Rival, but also Animals and Steward increases by one level. I also liked the emergency entry – on a successful DEX 5+, you gain Medic 1…on a failure, you roll twice on the Injury table and take the lower result, but become better known – gaining SOC +1. The entries are plausible and make sense, and yes, they include streaming.

The Frontierist might be archaeologist, prospector or terraformer, and required EDU 6+, with EDU 5+, DEX 6+ and EDU 5+ requires for survival, respectively. For advancement, we have SOC 7+, INT 6+ and END 7+ - which, once more, make sense to me. In this career, the dispersal of skills and training is particularly nice: Electronics, Science, Gun Combat, Broker, Mechanic, Investigate for the prospector? Makes sense. The mishaps here are particularly interesting if you’re like me and sometimes lean towards running an experimental solo-adventure – you can be left for dead, for a year, as one of the Mishaps, and running this as a one-show survival? Heck yeah. Among the events, we have incarceration due to being thought of as a spy, and uncommon issues, like the encroachment of civilization interfering with your work – nice!

The medical professional requires INT 6+, and the assignments are surgeon/nurse, long-term caregiver, physical therapy, with EDU 4+, END 6+, EDU 5+ being required for survival, respectively. For advancement, we need EDU 8+, SOC 6+ and INT 7+. Once more, there is obviously a LOT of thought that went into these – long-term caregivers can get, for example, Mechanic and Electronics as well. For ranks and bonuses, to give you an idea, the physical therapist not only gets Medic 1, but also Athletics 1 and Admin 1. As for mishaps, they similarly make perfect sense for the career: Being friends with a couple of medical professionals, I can attest that burnouts in particularly make sense. In the event section, we have also some rather cool ones, such as medical care used as art.

Finally, system guards have a Qualification of INt 6+, commission SOC 8+, and is used instead of the Navy/Scout careers on the Draft table in the Foreven Sector. The assignments are crew/line, inspectors, and planetary patrol, with DEX 7+, INT 6+ and INT 5+ required for survival, and EDU 5+, EDU 6+ and EDU 7+ required for advancement, respectively. Special here: Beyond the personal development, service skills and advanced educations, we have an additional column of skills and training for officers (Comm only). Kudos! The mishaps here respect the harsh realities of the job – a comrade might die for you; you might be fired by accident as an admiral’s last order, but come out of this with the repentant admiral as a Contact…you get the idea. The events include inspections, being adrift in space for a while, or finding an abandoned ship.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are very good on a formal and rules language level. Layout adheres to roughly a 2-column standard, but ultimately, everything is subject to the demands of the table. The supplement is laid out in a pretty printer-friendly manner, with white background. The artworks used range in quality from high (vast majority; see cover for the style used) to somewhat uncanny valley (the final one for the system guard is a CGI piece I really didn’t like). The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience, making navigation simple, smooth and painless.

Dale McCoy Jr.’s career collection was a pleasant surprise to me; I expected a well-designed offering, but this manages more, namely that difficult tight-rope walk between being universally applicable and widely-useful, and yet maintaining pronounced and interesting roleplaying angles. There is always a chance inherent in the mishaps, one that makes sense; from the survival and advancement requirements to the personal skills to the muster out benefits, this book shows that a lot of genuine thought went into these. The careers may be crunchy, but they offer a lot of roleplaying opportunities, and going in-depth, are on par regarding their benefits as well. All in all, a great little supplement, well worth checking out. I am pretty much bereft of means to complain about this, and the material works in play; there is so much care in the small details here – not necessarily evident at first, but once you get into it, you notice how carefully this was crafted. My final verdict will be 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2020 02:21:49

Was looking forward to this coming out. We have a physical therapist, waitstaff and a table full of various auto-racing fans and those careers are covered in this book. Also pretty cool Drone Racing career is also included. Character Creation is one of the best parts of the game and there is a random event chart for each parent career (athelete, customer service etc). Lots more art than i would have expected for the price and really well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Darin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 21:36:13

A good 'Introduction' to hopefully a fun, rambuncitous and rollicking adventure.

Youtube reveiws offer an indepth, blow by blow play through in which said reveiwer goes about raising a couple of points. For myself? I would recommend "Starship Geomorphs - Traveller" to help things along.

I, personally, am very much looking forards to see where the adventure will go.

In all a good 'Extra' for gamers wanting more things to dissvover/interact with around the region of Sindal expans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Paranoia Interactive Screen
by 4510156017537163 K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2019 13:26:30

My big problem with this is unlike other digital DM screens this is not printer friendly. It's a bummer that they didn't seperate the info onto different pages to be printer friendly. As someone who uses a modular DM screen it's a real dissapointment to try to figure out a good way to print it to fit in there. I don't want to have to take this to a print shop. It's also a steep price for a digital DM screen without any other content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Interactive Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 773 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates