DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tome of Fantastic Items
by Jean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2020 16:36:18

Magic items add some spice to any character or story, and this book is awesome to help with that!

Not only this supplement includes dozens and dozens of pretty neat gear, but it also adds optional rules for regulating the amount of players' items and for creating cursed items.

After a short intro, the first section brings detailed rules for magic items commerce: buying, selling, prices and rarities. The next two sections propose a creative way to deal with hoarding, curses that can be added to magical gear, and specific rules for identifying the items' special properties. The main section entitled "Magic items" brings 10 elixirs, 9 weapons, 8 implements, 22 wearables, 19 general miscellanea and 14 legendary equipment... all brand new! The final section includes treasure tables for different XP layers, and the appendix with printer-friendly tables is really helpful.

IMHO, the content is great for any Genesys fantasy campaign (by and large, each item is unique and has cool mechanics), since it can also be used as a source of inspiration for your own magical items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Fantastic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

And the Stars Never Rise: A Something Strange Genesys Adventure
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2020 20:19:19

I was part of the playtest group for this and received a free copy once the product was released

My group enjoyed this short scenario. My group of experiended players really enjoyed the single session play through. I have not run this for all new players yet, but it does look like it would bea great short introduction to Genesys as a system.
For a short adventure, there was a lot to do, but it was not overwhelming to prepare. Each scene is well summarized and enough information is provided to move the story along if the players do something unexpected. The combat encounters are well balanced but do require some planning on the players part. There are a couple spots that could be overhwelming if the players approach the game like a typical dungeon crawl and just kick open every door. The layout and are is excellent. I really apprecaite that the stat blocks and rules from the Something Strange setting were included in this scenario and the research rules addendum is an excellent add-on to the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
And the Stars Never Rise: A Something Strange Genesys Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
by Kersten K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2020 21:54:06

One of the main feedback from other GMs who try out FFG Star Wars or Genesys systems is that often inventing effects or narrative flair to effects from advantages and threat can become a chore, this guide is a great for finding ideas for exactly that! On top of that you get great idea for gradually learning and implementing magic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Tome of Fantastic Items
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2020 10:05:55

This is simply AWESOME. Over 80 items and they are well-thought out, and very detailed. As a creator of magic items myself, I know how difficult and it can be, and this is 40 pages of goodness! This really should be in everyone's Genesys library if their campaigns involve magic. Can't recommend this enough, and this is from a guy who will have two magic items supplements of his own by middle of this month, on DTRPG! (But hey, buy ALL of them!). Seriously though, no overlap, and this book is simply incredible. I accidentally bought 2 of them, and I'm not even mad about it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Fantastic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey! Thank you very much for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed it. =)
Haedra's Shard, Part 1
by Jon-Philip I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2020 08:54:01

After purchasing this adventure just a few days ago, I was able to get it up and running with very little extra preparation required. The writing is pretty solid throughout and really shines in a few places. Moreover, the adventure itself is interesting and fun. My group particularly enjoyed the custom adversaries the author created. They have some creative abilities and weaknesses and they provided an adequate challenge to our group of new player characters. Overall, I strongly recommend this module for anyone who needs a quick go-to for their Terrinoth campaign. I'm looking forward to the promised sequels and hope they come around soon!

A few minor points of critique: (1) Overall, the adventure leaned toward the easy side. While the combat encounters were challenging, the adventure gives players more than enough information to draw fairly obvious conclusions about what's going on and where they should be going. As a long-time GM who has put together many of my own adventures, I definitiely understand the anxiety of wanting make sure players have enough information to make sense of everything happening. In this case, some more subtle clues might have added an enjoyable layer of mystery. (2) There were some minor inconsistencies in the way that information was organized throughout the module which lead to a little bit of confusion the first time I read through it. Sometimes encounters were alluded to that hadn't occurred yet and so forth. Really, no big deal, just something to think about. (3) As far as pdf functionalty goes, it would have been nice to be able to hide the background layer for easier printing. Other than these few minor points, I found this to be an excellent product and well worth the very reasonable price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Haedra's Shard, Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 02: Darius Whittaker
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2020 08:04:03

Keith Kapple continues to deliver excellent work for Ready....Fight! Darius has a great background a presonality present clearly for easy use in a game. While he's designed for Ready....Fight!, there's also advice for how to include him in other campaign settings. The supplement also offers a new talent and new unarmed combat attack type. The art and layout is superb and matches the style of the official Genasys products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 02: Darius Whittaker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Critical Elements : A Critical Injury Supplement
by High M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 19:54:24

This is a great product for those looking for a little more control over critical hits to help fit the narrative! It cuts down on what might feel a little bit random, especially when it comes to called shots. Great job with this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Critical Elements : A Critical Injury Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 03: Wardunn Stonegrip
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 16:42:29

My favorite part is that this micro-supplement. billed as just a npc, contains the world building for an entire new order of dwarven monks. with areally creative and amazing story behind their philosophy that. offers a great deal of material to build stories out of.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 03: Wardunn Stonegrip
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Slaves to Fate - Adventure for Genesys RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 10:48:18

Slaves to Fate is a 20-page adventure for the Genesys system that can be used as a stand-alone scenario or, more ideally, as the prelude to the Forever Winter saga.

In Slaves to Fate players find themselves at the center of a dire prophesy that leads to a frozen apocalypse known as the Forever Winter. Its also a dark and unforgiving adventure set in a dark and unforgiving setting, which by the way is part of its considerable appeal.

As the module begins, the PCs are slaves of a logging expedition intending to harvest lumber from the Everdark, a strange and horrifying forest. We’re quickly introduced to a new starvation mechanic which sets the tone for the adventure to follow; players will instantly realize they are in for a test of survival. While many other adventures have begun with PCs as slaves, its handled far better here than in most as players are given wide latitude in how they want to plot their escape. Its also dramatic: just as they begin to affect their escape the camp is set upon by beastmen that savagely rip everyone to bloody pieces. The newly-freed slaves must dive deeper into the forests if they wish to survive. Love that opening scene!

One of escapees—either a player character or NPC—is secretly an agent of a cult dedicated to bringing on the Forever Winter. This individual, known as the betrayer, secretly guides to party to a shrine deep in the forests where the ancient prophesy will be realized. There’s a wonderful opportunity for roleplaying here for a player who secretly takes this role, and because he is being controlled by a magical amulet which releases its hold once the Forever Winter is unleashed the character can continue forth in the campaign as a standard PC.

Here we’re also introduced to the Corruption mechanic, which tracks party members as they slowly fall under the sway of the amulet and become vassals in its ploy. Rolls are made but players shouldn’t know for what, which may cause paranoia among players. Adding to the paranoia is the sense that nature itself is against them: trees seek to entomb them, wolves attack, and redcaps (fey of the forest) shadow their moves.

The adventure culminates as the Forever Winter is unleashed. PCs are helpless to stop it; like the coming of seasons it is inevitable. Players may well feel a sense of doom and failure, but there is also the promise of a thrilling saga to come.

Slaves to Fate introduces a new playable race, the doppelganger, which is a fey shapeshifter rather than the predatory doppelganger of D&D. There are also a number of new monsters, including Redcaps and Worg.

The pdf comes with a hyperlinked table of contents. Layout is solid, with beautiful artwork bringing the adventure to life in all is dark glory. There are some editing and spelling mistakes, but they’re minor an easily overlooked for the strong storyline.

The best thing about this adventure? The grim mood, reminiscent of dark folklore, and the sense that one’s existence hangs on a razor-thin edge. Huge kudos for the atmosphere.

As a stand-alone adventure Slaves to Fate is a very good outing, but it truly comes into its own as the launch of an epic campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slaves to Fate - Adventure for Genesys RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
by Alex N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 01:56:26

Great ruleset. Cant say enough good stuff about narrative dice vs the d20 system. I appreciate FFG including section on crafting your own everything (equipment, monsters, etc).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Genesys Foundry Graphic Design Templates
by Gudmundur I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2020 07:16:44

Creat tools. Too bad it's only compatable to inDesign CC and not CS6. For small countries such as Iceland the license cost is staggering as there is no monthly subscription and no Adobe support for CC.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Foundry Graphic Design Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Setting Notebook
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2020 03:43:53

Very helpful tool to design a setting! And just a great resource overall! While cranking out other projects, I'm using this to continually build a setting. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Setting Notebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Seth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2020 03:48:50

This setting does everything for me that most fantasy settings do not. Rather than putting a fantasy coat of paint on characters with modern outlooks and places with modern visual language (e.g. Waterdeep), Inquisition truly transports the players to another world. The ways people lived, felt, and thought a millenium ago (about the world and each other) are wildly different from today and, while you wouldn't have wanted to live in an era dominated by sentiments so alien to our own, Inquisition does an excellent job of showing on every page how those differences (from 'us' and 'now') are ripe material for deeply engaging and exciting RPG campaigns.

Also, I bought the bundle thinking, "this ought to have at least 80% of what I'd need to run a campaign of Witchers with Genesys." I was wrong. It has at least 95% of what I'd need to run a campaign of Witchers with Genesys.

Thank you, Guillaume!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: First Scroll - Fiction from the Core Set
by james s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 18:53:33

i love everything FFG touches when it comes to L5R... the gameplay, art style, organization of material. Homerun. Been playing this system in campaign for 2 years now since the beginner box, and more does not come out fast enough!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: First Scroll - Fiction from the Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Critical Elements : A Critical Injury Supplement
by Seth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2020 22:18:19

Critical Elements is a neat and well presented module for adding some gruesome crunch to the Genesys Critical Injuries subsystem. The hit-location injury tables are thought out, thorough, and follow the patterns established by the official critical injury table, making them easy to integrate with other Genesys settings and content. I'd definitely return to this supplement before running a Ready...Fight! campaign, for example. The Talents are likewise very well balanced.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Critical Elements : A Critical Injury Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 339 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates