DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Found Folio Volume One
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2019 02:32:22

"Found Folio is a collection of roughly 130 monsters converted from 3rd edition (most notably the in print 3.75 edition) of the world's first fantasy roleplaying game back to 1st edition (and to an extent, original and other old school editions)." The Found Folio Vol I does exactly what it says on the tin. A collection of converted 3.5 monsters ready & willing to go into your latest adventure or dungeons as a pay what you want title. There are seventy one pages of wall to wall monsters of malice waiting to be inflicted unto your players's PC's! Monsters are always something that a dungeon master can always use for dungeon & adventure design. Jeremy Reaban is a one many OSR band that takes & designs some very well thought out products. Case in point is the Found Folio, this is an OSR monster book that clocks in at seventy one pages. With two monsters per page the Found Folio packs in some great 3.5 OGL monsters converted over to OSR stats with both descending & ascending armor class. The monsters have a solid all round set of old school stats. For example here's a Bomon a type of giant vampire bat as an example; "Boman FREQUENCY: Uncommon NO. APPEARING: 2-8 (colony) or 4-32 (swarm) ARMOR CLASS: 6 (Descending) or 14 (Ascending) MOVE: Fly 15”(b) (Classic) or Fly 40(good)' (Neo) HIT DICE: 2 % IN LAIR: 25% TREASURE TYPE: None NO. OF ATTACKS: 1 DAMAGE/ATTACK: 1-3 SPECIAL ATTACKS: Attach SPECIAL DEFENSES: None MAGIC RESISTANCE: Standard INTELLIGENCE: Low ALIGNMENT: Neutral Evil SIZE: S (1' long) L/XPV: 1/20+2/hp (40) xp Boman are a magical form of vampire bat, cursed by the gods. While able to subsist on cattle, deer, and other animals, they prefer the blood of humans, humanoids, and demi-humans." This style of layout & stat block is familiar to any Advanced Dungeons & Dragons dungeon master or player. This is a pay what you want book with plans for more in the series; "Found Folio is a collection of roughly 130 monsters converted from 3rd edition (most notably the in print 3.75 edition) of the world's first fantasy roleplaying game back to 1st edition (and to an extent, original and other old school editions).

Volume One consists of monsters you might actually use in a normal game (dungeon or wilderness) since they are all monster I've used in my game. Volume Two is planned to convert various player races, Volume Three on outsiders (demons, devils, daemons, demodands, divs, etc), and Volume Four (if i ever get that far) will probably be on dragons (which despite the name of the game, are creatures I am loathe to use in play) "

Despite its simple design & purpose there's lots of legs in this volume perfect for getting together a Saturday night special adventure or a Sunday old school creature feature. The monsters are vibrant & very well done with just enough detail left out for the dungeon master to fill in what's needed. There is artwork here but its lean & its not really necessary per say. The interest is in the monsters & how to use them. There are lots of familiar faces here some of quite nasty & dangerous aspect for old school play. What I can see actually using the Found Folio for is old school adventure construction where the dungeon master needs something a bit different for a dungeon or wants to surprise the players with a new & very deadly creature. The production values while not high are well thought out with easy to read fonts & solid stat blocks that don't clutter the landscape. All in all the Found Folio does a nice job of introducing lots of nicely converted & monsters who might be new to the jaded playing palettes of experienced players. Monsters find their value with the dungeon masters who are willing to think outside of the box when designing adventures. Here the creatures are engaging enough to warrant your attention & a few of these monsters are perfect for both gonzo & solid old school dungeon design. Do I any complaints about the Found Folio?! Maybe that I wish it was longer. Overall a healthy four out of five for the Found Folio in my humble opinion.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Sitchery Blog For More original OSR Content Please subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Found Folio Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Found Folio Volume One
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2018 16:49:54

A collection of creatues from various 3.x sources converted back over to "Advanced era" stats. What it lacks in art it makes up for in number of monsters (typically two per page). Lots of 3.x faves here, ready for your OSR games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 00:25:32

Three nights ago, strange lights and screams were heard from the local temple of Ishtar. Grotesque humanoids, wearing tattered clothes and wrapped with chains, emerged from the very walls, causing murder and mayhem within Can the PCs save the temple of Ishtar from the incursion of the chain devils? I'm always on the look out for another Sword & Sorcery old school style title, so I began to look around Drivethrurpg. Generally this is a dangerous thing to do but there are few 'pay what you' want titles that caught my eye. Incursion of the Chained Devils is one of those weird titles that you don't usually come across but this time I listened to the little voice that said, 'Grab it'. This is a weird & interesting little beast of an adventure that hearkens back to something I would have snatched up as a twenty year old dungeon master. "H3 Incursion of the Chain Devils is a module for 4-8 characters levels 5th to 7th using the first edition advanced rules" This is an expansive & sprawling module with a sword & sorcery horror adventure aspect to it. To be honest about it, I was quite happy to come across this one on a Sunday night. This adventure only clocks in at about eighteen pages but its a really nice change up from the investigative adventures I've been running into lately. Its a really nicely put together module that has more in common with a Conan novella like Red Nails & Eighties horror classic Hellraiser by Clive Barker. This is a module that you can drag & drop right into your existing campaign world such as Hyperborea. It won't make a ripple in the local campaign world & its been designed & written that way; "Much of this depends on where you locate the Temple. If you locate it in the wilderness, you could have the PCs stumble upon it and decide to simply loot it. You might simply drop it into an existing city in your world. If you do this before you plan on running the adventure, the PCs might go and visit the temple, either for healing or to enjoy themselves. Then when the temple gets invaded, they might wish to go to the rescue simply because they know the people there and wish to help. The PCs might also be hired by a fleeing priestess. They might get a vision from the goddess herself. They might also be in the need of clerical henchmen and decided that rescuing some would be a great way to recruit." What I love about Jeremy Reaban's stuff is that he doesn't screw around with his adventures right in the description there's a focus on his OSR sources & where he's gotten material for his adventures;"As with previous entries in the HS line, the focus is firmly on combat. There are 20 rooms and likely 8-10 encounters. Most of the monsters are backward converted from third edition and full write ups are provided." The material here in HS3 is balanced, deadly, & will kill more then a few PC's before they navigate & solve its mysteries. Its made to do exactly what it says on the tin. There are new monsters, some interesting encounters, and everything is geared to be DYI D&D friendly. So in case you haven't noticed this is right up in my wheel house, you've got a lost temple out in the middle of the desert wastelands which could be placed in the Diamond Desert in AS&SH. There is a ton of pulpy monsters in this one & a fully fleshed out adventure location which makes this really nice adventure to add into the back end of B4 The Lost City. In fact the temple in HS3 Incusion of the Chain Devils could be another above ground section of the ruin's environs from B4. There's no reason why another cut off section of the city from that classic module. What I'm saying here is that HS3 Incusion of the Chain Devils is modular enough and packed into its own niche so that it can be used with other old school products with little effort.

Things in HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils are keyed to bring PC's right into the middle of the action. The cenobite like ' kytons' are original enough to make a lasting impression on a group of AD&D players and weird enough to actually be usable in a one shot adventure that will last several sessions. There are several factors to keep in mind when running HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils:

This is a straight up adventure with a few twists & turns that challenges, maimes, & the monsters will aim to destroy PC's. The loot is well laid out in the adventure & PC's greed could get a party killed. There are bunch of band new monsters that have the potential to be used outside of HS3 for cults, NPC's or to create your own Lovecraftian cult of lust & depravity.

Infact this adventure could serve as a bridge gap adventure location for say AS&SH Ghost Ship of the Desert Dunes & B4 The Lost City. The temple location has enough going on to allow a DM to place it when & where they want it in the creeping sands of their old school wastelands. So what does HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils mean in terms of a sword & sorcery adventure? It puts the infernal right into the PC's laps & turns up the old school heat. This adventure doesn't dance around encounters with devils. Those are front & center right in the middle of the whole affair. This means that not only is there the lost temple but the focus is right on the black sorcery aspect right away. But does this mean I like HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils? No because I love it. This is an adventure that puts the combat front & center, magic weapons are a must not the except. There's no hidden agenda here, no mid adventure switch around or anything special to complicate matters. This is straight up monster fight and a deadly sword & sorcery romp.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want To See More OSR support for this & Other OSR titles & Retroclone systems? Subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HS3 Incursion of the Chain Devils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC8 - The OSR Amazon Warrior
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 10:58:01

There are times when a PC wants to play the pinnicle of Amazon warrior battle hardened steel in human for in a sword & sorcery old school game. This is exactly what PC8 - The OSR Amazon Warrior By Jeremy Reaban brings to the table. This is an old fashioned kick ass lady warrior capable of taking down foes with some real teeth & old school steel. She is exactly what she sounds like an apex Amazon warrior. This is a well balanced PC class that clocks in at six pages of ass kicking warrior fun for the table. The best part is that the class isn't simply for the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons or OSRIC style games; "Although primarily intended for first advanced edition, it also contains tables for other popular versions: original edition, basic and expert edition, and the cyclopedia edition." So is she Wonder Woman with the serial numbers filed off? Umm not exactly, a closer analogy might be a Xena style character in her earliest adventures or a feminine tribal 'warrior of history' style character. According to the add, these ladies of sword & mythology are," extremely athletic and a skilled warrior who fights without armor and is stronger and faster than others." And that's exactly what the design & the numbers of the class portray. The PC class is a capable warrior able to dispatch her foes & still have the skills to protect her fellow adventurers. This isn't race as class here but straight up PC Amazon fighter with a few add ons that echo popular culture & classic mythology. Make no mistake these are deadly women & they can mess you in the wilderness or the dungeon. The writing & design are tight, the PC tables are no nonsense & these ladies would be right at home in a mythic sword & sorcery old school setting or even in a sword & planet setting with little issues. Clever DM's could built entire adventures around them with these ladies being used as NPC Amazon lost world temple guardians, generals at higher levels, diplomats, & even the leaders of entire Amazonian mercenary companies. They're kick ass & this is another well done Jeremy Reaban affair five out of five for easy of use, no bull stats, & this class has plenty of fodder for the DM that needs something a wee bit different for their players. Don't forget to toss the writer some coins for his efforts so we can get more great PC classes! Eric Fabiaschi Sword & Stitchery blog Want to see more great original OSR content subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC8 - The OSR Amazon Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC7 - The OSR Summoner
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 09:18:49

Although this class is called a summoner, and the servant is called an eidolon, directly invoking the Pathfinder class of the same name, it appears to be based more directly on the Sha'ir of AD&D 2nd edition, with a more versatile and combat-oriented companion. This is too bad, since I like the idea of adapting Pathfinder classes (which have interesting themes and fun powers, but are bogged down by too many options and long paragraphs of legal text about how exactly the powers can and cannot be used) into a simpler rules set.

This isn't the class I was looking for. Admittedly the Pathfinder Summoner is on odd fit for older version of D&D, since it is an arcane caster, but one with combat abilities roughly equivalent to a cleric, balanced by having a more limited set of spells. But the appeal is the eidolon, a chance to design your own mix-and-match personal monstrosity to serve you. I'm sure that system is rife with potential for abuse, but the comparatively limited options here (choose one of 7 different forms, which, aside from appearance, you only can customize once every three levels) just doesn't hold my interest. Combined with even more limited spell casting (equal or fewer spells per day as the already limited old school wizard, the need to send away your eidolon for an uncertain time to get spells, and the all-too-high chance that doing so will be for naught) and there isn't much to tempt me into using this class.

The ability to summon other beings at higher level is probably partial compensation for limited spell casting, but the limited chance of success, high monetary cost, and the fact that it is very reliant on DM interpretation makes it of limited utility. Plus, in my experience old school games rarely get up to 9th level or beyond anyway.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
PC7 - The OSR Summoner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2016 15:17:24

YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones was written by Jeremy Reaban. I have featured some of his products on my blog in the past.

Y in this case might stand for Yuggoth, which is the home-world of the Mi-Go, or at least one of their outposts. This adventure, designed for characters 6th to 10th level for any old-school game, heavily features the Mi-Go. While he describes it as a "Science fiction" "dungeon crawl" only a tiny bit of work is needed to make this one horror or a mystery. Afterall, people are going missing, strangers are showing up in town and there is that whole eerie cave system.

Like most of the old-school adventures, this one is light on plot and heavy on the dungeon crawl atmosphere, and that is by design really. The adventure is simple enough but there is so much more that can be done with it if you want. Note: I should point out this is NOT a criticism of the adventure, quite the opposite really.
So basically the Mi-Go are in town and they are doing what the Mi-Go do, removing brains from bodies and putting them into other bodies or their special cylinders. The brains stay alive and are even immortal after a fashion. They are also experimenting on the local fauna. A couple of things in this adventure jumped out as me as hitting that 70's/80's nostalgia sweet spot. There is a Flumph the Mi-go can't figure out. A bionic Sasquatch! (I mean really, was this written just for me?) I biologic towel, a Valley Girl brain, and this whole "Escape to Witch Moutain" vibe about it. There is a witch and Swanmay in it as well.

Personally I would take Jeremy's advice and expand the module a bit. Have the party meet the old witch Gwen in her "old" form, but then encounter her again when she is in one of the brain jars and then again when she is in her new body. Also, I'd make all the Mi-Go's human form all look roughly the same; perfect, blonde, blue eyes, devoid of any real personality. Like something out of Village of the Damned. Liked they learned how to be human by reading it in a book. I'd also make their plans a little more nefarious. This is a scout group looking to colonize this planet. Makes that bionic Bigfoot look a little more scary if you ask me!

Obviously, a good companion to this adventure would be Jeremy's own OSR Warlock. Make Gwen a warlock AND the one responsible for bringing the Mi-Go here. I'd also play it under Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea. Give it that "colder and darker" feel that AS&SH can provide. Plus there are already a number of good Lovecraft Mythos beasties in that game.

My biggest issue with this adventure is where do I use it? I have so many choices to be honest. I could easily slot it in as a "Monster of the Week" story, but that would sell it's potential short. I could make it part of a larger campaign, but I would also want the Mi-Go to be more that just a one shot.

In any case I know this will be a fun one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC1 - The OSR Kineticist
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/28/2015 11:38:34

A good example of what I call a "blasty warlock" is Jeremy Reaban's The OSR Warlock. Like his Witch Hunter book this book has a number of nice features in addition to the class. The class does not cast spells, it does have lot of special powers. This is by design and owning to the stated OGC and pulp sources. The warlock here does get some spell like abilities in place of powers. It actually works rather nicely What I think makes this book special is the level advancement tables for "First Edition", "Original Edition", "Basic/Expert" and "Cyclopedic Edition". Plus the author has a section of notes on the class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC1 - The OSR Kineticist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/21/2015 13:53:57

This book has a number of nice features in addition to the class. The class does not cast spells, nor does it have a lot of special powers. This is by design and owning to the stated literary source. It does have some skills such as read magic and turn undead. What I think makes this special is the level advancement tables for "First Edition", "Original Edition", "Basic/Expert" and "Cyclopedic Edition". Nice feature if you ask me



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC2 - The OSR Exorcist
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2015 10:27:27

There are few classes that can put the fear of the gods into vile villains like the exorcist, this class has so much potential for solid gaming goodness and so much abuse as well. Straight out the gate this class is more Hollywood then witch's hammer so let's make that clear and this class has all of the facilities to allow it you the DM or player to use this one with anything from OD&D to straight through to AD&D 1st edition or any of the retro clone gaming rpg systems.

So what is the exorcist and how is it put together? Well believe it or not this class isn't a variation of the cleric. Instead we get a fulfilled developed fighter variant.

According to the pdf's introduction;'The Exorcist is a warrior dedicated to combating

supernatural evil. As such, the Exorcist has an immunity to baleful magic which increases as he gains in level.Basically this is a perfect class for either Lamentations of the Flame Princess set during the height of a fictional witch infestation in a pseudo historical Europe or other setting infected with the demonic or supernatural. The PC class reads like a variation of the fighter from LoFP whose seen far too much action and perhaps has had a brush with the demonic at the cost of a bit of their sanity only to have it replaced with faith to help pull them through. This sets up the class for all kinds of bits and pieces of the burned out veteran of wars whose turned to hunting and battling the supernatural on their own terms. Using this sort of set up allows the DM to use this class for all kinds of NPC's. This means that with a little imagination the DM could use the class for a Wild West setting as the victim of the Civil War, the War of the Roses, etc. Now please bare with me but I don't see this class as something that would stand up the horrors of something like 40K or Warhammer. Instead what we get is a PC class that dove tails right into a party of fighters, paladins, clerics and blends into the background to provide leadership, support, and to help beat back the forces of Hell itself. But this class can easily lend itself into other fictional settings and circumstances. This class could easily be added into Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea as a very welcome addition to an adventuring party. Seriously with the zeal and pulp nastiness of the setting these guys would fit right into the wood work of Hyperborea. The OSR exorcist and the witch hunter PC class make excellent additions to that game as well. I'm also reminded of certain episodes of Lost In Space when rereading this entry this morning. There always seemed to be a burned out veteran of some interstellar war. A crusading adventurer who would save the petty humans once again. This kinda brought home the fact that the OSR exorcist might make an excellent investigator of those supernatural or xenomorphic threats in the Outer Reaches of space. Eric Swords and Stitchery Blog



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PC2 - The OSR Exorcist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC5 - The OSR Tomb Robber
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2015 08:11:55

Someplace between one am and the morning I just rolled in and I'm thinking about a sort of neglected class, the tomb robber. The often talked about but seldom seen class has been lurking around the bounds of pulp magazines for years and years. These wonderful little adventurers break into tombs and crypts making off with all manner of relics, artifacts, and what not. The OSR Tomb Robber From Jeremy Reaban is a three page 'pay what you want' affair that covers all of the basics of this class in spades. Right out of the gate this pdf's byline got me thinking of certain films of the Eighties, see if you can tell why from the introduction: While most adventurers are tomb robbers at some point in their career, some make a specialty of it. Part scholar, part fighter, part thief, they specialize in looting ancient tombs and dungeons. Trust me, this mix of old school Indiana Jones, Alan Quarterman, and the sneak thieves ages past are right in here with the pulp sensibilities of this pdf. All of usual suspect races can become a tomb robber, Dwarf, Gnome, Human, & Half-Orc. This class is a compromise between fighter, thief, and a specialist of sorts. They have has a lore ability similar to a Bard, giving them a chance to know legends as well as potentially identify a magic item. The focus here is on the PC and this product contains tables for running the tomb robber in OD&D, First Edition AD&D, Basic and Expert D&D, and The Basic D&D Encyclopedia style games and the retroclones of these games. Does this class do what it sets out to do? I think so, there are several options on the table to play a pulptastic tomb robber in the OSR of your dreams. Here the PC has everything that a thief can do and a bit more besides and that's fine. I can see this class getting a ton of table top or adventure screen time. There is a ton of useful bits in the three pages this pdf covers, this includes everything from gun running a pulp adventure to picking the locks from a local temple to the tomb puzzles as well as guardians. This class can deal it out with the best of em. The OSR Tomb Robber From Jeremy Reaban is concise, balanced, and covers all of the basic ins and outs of the class. I can see using this for everything from pulp adventures. This is just what the doctored ordered if your interested in mixing your D&D with everything from OD&D to more modern games as well. The essence of the class is perfectly suited to any number of retro adventures where the skill and wit of the tomb robber is needed. Everything in the tomb robber is done for any number of OSR platforms from OD&D to OSIRC this class covers all of the bases and leaves enough room for the DM and players to get plenty of mileage and room for customization . In point of fact I can see this class being adapted into other OSR or retroclone settings. This class can double for the cautious and yet deadly xeno archaeologist and despoiler of tombs on alien worlds . The tomb robber makes an excellent addition to any old school adventure party. The tomb robber is incredibly useful in the post apocalyptic wastelands where several of this PC's skills can add so much to a party. Given the relics and artifacts of the ancients this really is a no brainer to add in this class into your mutant spawned party of murder hobos and adventurers. Jeremy Reaban does a fine job squeezing everything into three pages of pretty much retro adventure hero into a decent class of tomb robber goodness. My recommendation is to pick this one up. Eric The Sword & Stitchery blog



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PC5 - The OSR Tomb Robber
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2015 02:06:07

Its about two O'clock in the morning and I've just gotten back from a game, tonight the subject of the Witch Hunter came up with my players. And one of them suggested we take a look at PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter From Jeremy Reaban. This is a 'pay what you want' title from Drivethrurpg and emulates any number of pulp characters from Robert E. Howard's Solomon Kane to Vincent Price's Witch Finder General. Clocking in at five pages, this title adds a bit of flare to the PC class but this is a strictly meat and patatoes no nonsense download. And that in my opinion is a good thing. This isn't a download that wastes your time at all and gives options for playing this character with humans, half elves, and half orcs respectively. Over the years I've used several of the author's character classes for players and NPC's alike, the focus here is on the PC and this product contains tables for running the witch finder in OD&D, First Edition AD&D, Basic and Expert D&D, and The Basic D&D Encyclopedia style games and the retroclones of these games. Everything fits into five pages including the author's suggestions and options for getting the most pulptastic options out of this PC class. But is this a well done PC class? With bits and pieces of the clerical abilities mixed in with the combat skills of a fighter the witch finder has a lot to offer a party and does it with some style. This is a PC who could be a fantastic asset to a party or a fantastic ass depending upon the player's reaction and take with this class. Everything is in tact to get the most out of the witch hunter in all of its aspects. This class rings with the swash and buckle that a DM expects and I was taken back to my youth with Marvel's Solomon Kane as all of the aspects of the story are there in this class in spades. From the stand point of a DM this is an excellent addition to the tool box of the DM for creating an NPC. But for the characters this is an excellent class to keep games moving. Given the history and weirdness of these characters this is a great class to have. Adding in a witch hunter is a great show of faith in the people that the players are playing with. All of the high points of the class feature some solid write up action with a springing board for the imagination of the players. All in all this is a nice up change for games and I could see adding this class to everything from Lamenations of the Flame Princess to fully flesh out and engaging AD&D first edition campaigns. I can even see using this class fully done for a White Star campaign or other futuristic adventure as well where the pulp is just about coming off of the ceiling. All in all I was really glad that I took the time to grab this one on Drivethrurpg and its pretty well balance and very nicely done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PC3 - The OSR Witch Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC1 - The OSR Kineticist
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 14:36:22

Decades of playing D&D has left me with a "sweet tooth" for classes or various and sundry types, and this Warlock class was a nice treat. A short read, no unnecessary fluff or filler, and several different class progression charts to cover Original D&D, AD&D, B/X and Rules Cyclopedia versions of the game. The class itself has several signature spell-like abilities that may or may not unbalance your game (Fly at will at level 7 is suspect, depending on whether level 7 is low power or high power in your campaign), as well as limited access to a limited number of wizard spells.

I could see this as being a useful class for a D&D campaign, and it is easy enough to modify (say, switch the spell selections available or change some of the signature abilities) that it could spawn a whole family of related sub-classes.

For the price, this is a five star product to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC1 - The OSR Kineticist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

PC1 - The OSR Kineticist
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2015 18:38:42

I'm always looking into some variety of the traditional spell casters in OD&D or AD&D, the warlock is a new addition that needs some air play and needs to get some time at your table especially if your looking for an alternative to the tradition wizard or sorcerer of the campaigns. I've been looking over various OSR resources over the past forty eight hours and one of the resources that's been in my favorites que has been this little PC class by Jeremy Reaban. The Old School Warlock is statted out for all of your old school favorite edition rpg systems from OD&D style games to AD&D 1st edition. Basically the Warlock is a person born infused with so much magickal energies that it is literally a part of them. The whole class made me think of 1980's magickal using characters such as Zartanna and the Squadron Supreme Arcanna. This class includes a bit of everything from spell casting abilities to a hint of telekinesis as well. Everything is pretty nicely balanced for a spell slinger with with some power behind their abilities. The balance is grounded towards the occult power of the character and in theory this class looks like a nice magical asset and alternative to the conventional wizard or sorcerer of the adventuring party. The writing is clear, the PC generation crisp and the play looks like from reading over the class pretty nicely done. This is a pay what you'd like but I actually like the cover so throw the man a few shekels to get more art for his next project. Do I see being able to incorporate these PC's into a game? Yes I actually can see using these natural born spell casters into a game as a nice secondary or alternative class where the magical energies are leaking into the world. I can even see these giving the warlock a try in Lovecraftian sword and sorcery campaign where the dimension gates have caused leaks into reality causing all kinds of weird mutations. This could lead to the origin of such a class as the warlock. Alternatively there could be a ton of uses for this class in the post apocalyptic wasteland such as a Mutants And Mazes campaign for Mutant Future where Labyrinth Lord's fantasy elements are used in tandem with the wasteland aspects. This class could in point of fact be used to compensate the lack of sorcerers in a game of Thundarr The Barbarian. This class could easily be added to Tim Snider's massively wonderful free Thundarr The Barbarian download over HERE The warlock fills a great need for such a class right into the back end of this campaign quite seamlessly. But that's not all here with the warlock because of the very nature of the class it can easily be added into a pulp game such as Trey's Weird Adventures gambit as another option for PC's. Or it could be used as yet another alternative for a pulp game of low powered super heroes. This class could be added right into OD&D or Swords and Wizardry with little problem. The warlock is just that flexible to add itself to just about anyplace where the infusion of magick is in the mix. The balance is such that this class could be added into the background of your favorite old school campaigns and no one might be the wiser. The author has done a good job tailoring the bits and pieces to work on a variety of levels and backgrounds. Is it worth the download? Well its sitting on my hard drive and waiting for use with a good number of one shots and adventures that I've got waiting in the wings.

Eric F The Swords and Stitchery Blog



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2015 01:30:42

I'm a Jeremy Reaban fan, I've reviewed his modules in the past and they're really usually very well done with clear and concise adventure settings and goals in the OSR tradition. When someone pointed out that he'd done a Lovecraftian OSR adventure I was pretty excited. But add in the fact that this adventure features one of my all time favorite Lovecraftian alien races 'The Mi Go' and we might have a winner. This adventure introduces a Mi Go hive and dungeon complex and does it in twenty excellent pages of material that will challenge PC's. This dungeon features enough twists and Lovecraftian turns to keep the action moving. But this is really a mid level mini campaign adventure with central plot hook of introducing the Mi Go into your old school campaigns.

The Drivethrurpg blurb gives away a bit of basic adventure plot:From the depths of space come the Outer Ones, better known as the Mi-Go. They travel the universe looking for metal to mine and brains to steal. Now they have landed on a planet ruled by sorcery and steel...

YS1 - The Outpost of the Outer Ones is a fantasy adventure module for early editions of the world's most popular fantasy role-playing game, particularly the first Advanced Edition, but directly usable with virtually every OSR game. Despite being inspired by the works of H.P. Lovecraft, it is a dungeon module, not horror or investigation. It is meant for character levels six through ten, depending on which rules system used. This adventure introduces the Mi Go into an old school adventure of Lovecraftian fundamentals that hits the high notes of OD&D style fun but in a way of dangerous exploration of one of the weird and more then slightly disturbing Lovecraft aliens from the Whisperer In The Darkness. I can see using this adventure with Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea and other OSR retroclones that use sci fi and science fantasy technological items as treasure. The nature of the encounters is on the same high side of science fantasy adventure. And it has a very weird and more then slightly pulpy flavor to the encounters and high handed weirdness. The adventure has more then a bit of a lethal aspect to it but this is to be expected when dealing with the Machinations of the Mi Go and here their really in their manipulating bastards mode.Cults, dungeons, and other sanity shattering goings on are happening right in the heart of The Outpost of the Outer Ones. The look and feel of Outpost is one of isolation, other-worldliness, and a sense of gonzo dread in the cold depths of the world of Mi Go. This allows the adventure to work on a number of levels of the weird, where PC's are pulled into the deep end of the Mi Go's world and they might be altered forever by the experience. The maps are well done, the adventure concise yet with plenty of room for expansion and DYI old school dungeon mastering. There is more then enough meat on the bone for the PC's to get into a huge amount of trouble and not survive the experience. And that only adds to experience of this module.

There are times when a DM needs a nice mid level bridge gap module for a one shot or bridge gap adventure. This is a nice Lovecraftian option. And because of the science fantasy nature of The Outpost of the Outer Ones this adventure has a lot of uses. With a game of Lamentations of the Flame Princess this adventure could provide a welcome mid point Carcosa adventure bridge with the PC's finding themselves in the middle of YS1 and then Carcosa. YSI is weird and gonzo with some really interesting twists and for games such as Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea where the Mi Go appear this makes YS1 a nice optional download and one shot. For games such as OD&D or AD&D 1st edition YS1 is a nicely nasty way of introducing in sci fi elements with a Lovecraftian twist. These are Mi Go with options who have evolved with the times. Some of the views in this adventure point to an evolution of the MI Go mind allowing PC's to get brought into an adventure at they weren't expecting in the usual fashion. Do I think YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones a solid investment in old school adventures?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
YS1 The Outpost of the Outer Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

HS1 The Lost Shrine of Sirona
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2015 11:16:20

HS1 The Lost Shrine of Sirona From Jeremy Reaban is a really nice 'The Pay What You' Want' downloadable adventure that sets off to do something fairly simple and straight forward. It seeks to provide an evening's entertainment and do it well. This it succeeds in quite nicely and the module is 'pay what you want' The module revels in its 'hack and slash' ethos and sometimes that's really all that's needed for a party of PC's. The text is concise, the maps pretty straight forward, and it does exactly what it says on the tin. This is a really nice mid point adventure and crawl with a location based adventure plot. Here's the drivethrurpg blurb: Remember when adventures were mostly about going into a dungeon, killing monsters, and grabbing treasure? HS1 The Shrine of Sirona is the first (hopefully) in a line of small modules that focus on the somewhat neglected and usually disdained "hack & slash" style play. HS1 The Shrine of Sirona details a small (10 room) dungeon shrine that was been invaded and occupied by monsters. It is intended for 5th to 7th level characters using the advanced first edition of the most popular fantasy role-playing game but should work with all modern simulacra, and armor class is provided in most ascending and descending formats. My advice with this adventure is to use it for an experienced party as mid range plot point crawl and hook for your campaign against the forces of darkness. It can provide a jump point for the events and ideas of what's happening in your OSR campaign or use it as a beginning stepping stone into greater things. Or this adventure could simply be an evening's entertainment for a party of experienced PC's. The module is only six pages long but don't let that fool you, there are some monsters and things that could easily end your PC's quite easily. This module could be adapted to your OD&D games or retroclones but your going to have to gut the monsters and use the locations. With a game with pulp roots such as Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea. There is going to have to be level adjustments for the encounters and the monsters will have to be ported over but because of the way combat and the rest of the setting works this is a nice mid point pulp filled bridge gap action adventure style game night run. This is a nice hack and slash adventure with plenty of room for DYI improvisation by a DM for fitting it into they're campaigns. Because is statted out for AD&D 1st edition. This is a perfect jump point for an OSRIC game or some 1st edition style retro clone system as well. Using the adventure should be a nice and clear experience for a veteran DM and a nice up switch for someone who wants a fast, concise, and well thought out 'hack and slash' style game. Clocking out at five pages this module provides a nice bit of violence and good old fashioned 'kill the monsters or PC's fun' with a bit of a nice up tick of a smattering of smartly written encounters, rooms, and more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HS1 The Lost Shrine of Sirona
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates