DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Elements of Magic (Revised)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 07:07:53

So many years after I first purchased this product, this is still one of the best supplements I've ever incorporated into my games. My players really love using this magic system - it's completely spoiled them for the old Vancian ways of doing things. When I've got a new idea for a fantasy game I want to run, I'll often give my players a choice of systems, but I don't know why I bother. They always choose the same thing: our bastard mix of D&D 3.5 and Pathfinder 2, with Elements of Magic. They just want a chance to play with EoM again.

From what I've read about the new edition of Pathfinder, it sounds like EoM won't work with it very well. This makes me sad. Because this is a really fun and wonderful product, and it will be sad if later generations of gamers never encounter it because the systems can't support it anymore. As for us, we'll probably always keep our old system books around, just so we can run an adventure with Elements of Magic once in awhile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elements of Magic (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 01:42:46

I bought the WOIN Starship Construction Manual in both print and pdf. Upon receiving my download, I was anxious to start reading on how to design ships. After reading it, I am pleasantly suprised how easy the system is. Campared, to Traveller's ship construction, this is a breeze! Simply, choose from a list of options and keep track of everything via the provided worksheet.

Ships are rated according to their Hull Class which represents the overall size of the ship and each Hull Class provides specific values for Tonnage, Cost, Crew requirements, Cargo Units, Defense, Fuel, and Initiative penalties. Cargo Units or CU represents the total number of components that you can add to your ship. Your ship has a Super Structure that represents how much damage the hull can take before the ship is destroyed. It has to be manually calculated and starts at 3 times the Hull Class.

Then you buy your CPU budget which represents the maximum capacity of your computer to operate ship sytsems and components. Your CPU can reduce the total crew requirement, give bonuses to your SOAK and Defense as well as determines the number of CPU Cycles which is basically the total number of things the computer can control. Max FTL determines the limits of your ships ability to calculate FTL navigation coordinates to get somewhere, which effects the ships overall speed.

Sensors will be needed as well to detect ships as well as scan planets to determine atmosphere composition and whether there is life. They have a range and can provide bonuses to Defense. Then you can buy a Navigation Computer, which can increase your FTL speeds by making your ship more efficient in the routes that it plots to take advantage of hyperspace shortcuts or gravity slingshots.

Your ship will need an engines for propulsion as well as to provide power to all the various systems. There are a number of options for a variety of settings and tech levels such as engines using liquid fuel, fusion reactors, ion engines, solar sails, hyperdrive engines, and anti-matter engines that are the equivalent of Star Trek warp engines.There are even optional exotic engines such as probability drives and a rotor drive capable of making your ship travel in space and time.

There are a ton of weapon options as well such as phasers, projectile cannons, nukes, missles, railguns, quad cannons, ion cannons, railguns, disruptors, torpedos, particle beams, blasters, and even mines.

As far as defensive options, the book has a variety of shield systems and deflector shields that provide a SOAK value for the ship and absorb damage. There are variants for armor such as ice armor, rock armor, fluidic armor, organic living armor that heals, and regenerative nano composites that can heal both the armor and hull underneath.

Additional systems such as cloaking devices, tractor beams, fuel scoops, external cargo bays, command and control systems that provide bonuses to friendly ships that are in range for their Initiative and attack rolls, Electronic Warfare Systems and Counter Measures, as well as Hardened Electronic Shielding.

You can provide additional crew and passenger compartments, add hanger bays, repair bays that can fix your ships Super Structure, cabins, galleys, messhalls, ship bays, brig, sickbay, and holodecks. Finally, the book ends with 6 new ships designs such as a transport, cargo ship, battleship, research vessel, Seeker Scout, and Carrier. Then there are 3 ships that we have seen before in the NEW Core Rules such as the ugly egg-shaped Junker Courier, the Talon, and the Endeavor Cruiser. The artwork for these ships are grainy as well.

My only complaint is that there are no rules to damage any of these specific ships systems. I'm also surprised that it does not have rules for adding a hydroponics garden to feed your crew or options for Life Support Systems as well as rules for adding gravity to your ship. The head/bathroom should be added as well. These areas are completely ignored yet they play a critical role to a star ship. It would have been nice to have rules about building ships that can only stay in space as well as models that can land on a planet. There are no rules about manueverability either.

There are no bookmarks in the pdf either. It makes trying to reference rules in it a pain in the ass.

Overall, I am impressed with the Starship Construction Manual. It allows you to build a variety of ships for your game in a manner that is straight forward and not too complex. Unfortunately, most of the art in this book is recycled images that appear in the NEW Core Rules. I'm also disappointed that there were only 6 new ship designs and I wish the artwork for them was better too. They look so blurry! There are still no deck plans either for any of the ships either. Plus, I wish that there was a way to damage a ships sub systems. I give this book a 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Bride of Portable Hole
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2019 17:21:48

It's like getting really drunk and then suffering through the hangover; at some point, and after a certain age, you're going to have to go there; so you might as well just take the plunge, and go there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bride of Portable Hole
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
by Jon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2019 21:08:10

I have to agree with the first review, I really enjoyed this one, especially the modern take on the Samurai. Very useful and cool supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[WOIN] W1: Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2019 15:20:25

I was really excited about the Fall of Somerset Landing as it is a fully written adventure that allows a GM to run the movie Aliens. I have to give the WOIN creators props for creating this just for the idea alone. I've always wanted to run a game based on Aliens. Thank you for delivering this cool adventure as well as a sourcebook for the setting. The art is amazing. I love all of the vehicles and ship designs. There is some recycled art in here though that is used in the WOIN NEW Core Rules, namely the chick with one side of her head shaved that is sitting down as well as the pod from Oblivion with the car sitting next to it. As a side note, I wish that whoever came up with the ship designs in this book did the rest of the ship designs in the NEW Core Rules and Ship Construction Manual.

The book provides a map of the solar system and it shows some new races that are available such as synthetics and Jovians. It also adds new careers such as laborers as well as marine careers. Then there is a section on new equipment as well as guns and pulse rifles that we saw in the Aliens movie. I was disappointed that there were no pictures of these weapons but we all know what they look like from the movie.

If you plan on playing this adventure as a Player, STOP READING NOW. Because I am posting some spoilers. You have been warned. SPOILERS AHEAD.

This adventure allows the PC's to play as colonists on Hadley's Hope just before they encountered the aliens. They are newly arrived colonists and the adventure opens when they are on a shuttle that is landing at the colony. An accident occurs and the pilot gets knocked out and the PC's will have to land it.

Once they land, they will be given a tour of the colony and during the tour they will have a hostile encounter with some people that are angry because there was a recent dispute about wages with the Company and they feel like the player's are here to take their their jobs and a fight ensues. The tour continues and they are left at the bar. On a view screen in the bar is footage from two explorer of survey footage that will make everyone rich and people are excited about it and celebrating.

The adventure jumps to the next day to the players first day of work. There is not much detail about what they are doing or what their jobs are. Make something up because the adventure does not go into any job duties for colony life. At some point, there is a commotion and they bring back 1 of 2 colonists that went messing last night during a survey mission when they were sent to investigate an alien ship. A xeno is attached to her face and she is rushed to Medlab. - Yep, there is still 1 colonist left at that ship.

The adventure fast forwards and there is an abduction and the players are sent to check it out with a team of marines. The marines go in first are attacked and killed but one person is abducted and the players must go in and look for clues.

The next day people are start to come up missing one by one and then more and more each hour. Eventually, the 2 leaders of the colony come up missing and then Mr Lee from the company orders the PCs to go into the reactor to get some specimens. He will be waiting on a shuttle with a company of marines to guard him. If they want a ride out of here, they must do as he says.

In APU Reactor, they will first encounter a survivor who tells them that there is another shuttle off this rock but the pilot was abducted by aliens and has the keys. The players have a choice, they can either get the specimens for Lee and board his shuttle or they can locate the pilot and get the keys to the other shuttle and bug out of here. Once they go further into the reactor, they will encounter part of the alien hive and all hell will break loose. First they will be attacked by face huggers, one for each of them. When that does not work, dozens of Alien Warriors attack and they have to flee from the facility. There won't be anyone to nuke the site from orbit though, so we know someone will be sent here again to recover more specimens at a later date maybe do something about the Queen. Sounds good so far?

Let me first start by mentioning some minor quibbles that I found with some problems with the equipment stats in the adventure. I don't like that the sentry guns are automatic hit and do 2d6 damage to anything within their 30' cone. They should have an A.I with firearms skill and roll to hit like everything else but give it a bonus for its targeting system. The diagnostic incubator should also be an A.I with medical skill as well. Nothing should have automatic success at anything. The A3 Smartgun should have some sort of bonus to hit for its targeting system. Also, since it is mounted using a swing arm that is attached to the marine, it should offer some form of recoil compensation.

Now for the bad. The description about the Xenomorphs mentions a Worker and Hive Boss and yet there are no stats for them. There are no stats for the chest burster xenomorph either. You would think that the information about them would be more thorough and complete.

I also found several problems in the overall story line. The first problem I see is how did the survivor Tara get back to the colony? She had a face hugger attached to her. So the company must have sent someone to get her but the adventure never goes into it. If they both got attacked by face huggers in the same place, then how come the people the company sent to rescue them did not find the other one? We will never know because there is no map of the ship, which is a huge problem considering the adventure!

I think that the events described in the section where the Nightmare Begins seem too rushed and lack detailed plot elements describing exactly about how everything unfolds. It would have been nice to get a time line that describes which colonists get taken, when they are taken, and the location where they are taken from along with the xenomorph's route that they travel to get back to the hive.

Where is the abandoned newly constructed module located that the xenomorph that was inside Tara hiding at? I don't see it on the location map. Also where is the interior map of this module? This is all important as the security team goes inside and are killed by the xenomorph and the PC's might go inside afterwards to investigate. There they discover the gruesome remains of the security team and learn that one of the members named Jacek is missing.

The events after that are not detailed. It says that over the next few days the population of 226 colonists dwindle rapidly to a handful over the next few days. It would have been nice to get a timeline of how the abductions and attacks unfold. From here on out, it just seems rushed. Where was Wheeler and Kokumo when they get kidnapped? Are we to assume that they were all in the Ops Center? This information is necessary for the GM to know just in case the player's hear about their abduction and want to investigate. I want to know the backstory as the GM so I can unveil it during game play. What route did the aliens take to get back to their hive after capturing them? Are they going through sub-level 2 via tunnels to the atmospheric processor? Are they in the ventilation? No, it can't be that as there is no map of the ventilation tunnels. Or maybe they are crawling along the rafters above the drop ceiling tiles?

The GM will have to make up the bulk of the story to describe how the adventure unfolds when the colonists start getting abducted before Lee sends them into the APU Reactor. The GM has to figure out who gets taken, what to do if the PCs get wind of their disappearance, as well as decide if there are going to be any encounters with the aliens while they are abducting colonists. There are some tables to roll for colonists that the players encounter that can work to help with this as well as there are names of 12 important colonists but you will have to make up the rest.

At some point, I think the colonists or player's would start making barricades and setting up defenses once they figure out aliens are abducting them. There is nothing mentioned about this though, so these guys are just completely oblivious, which I think is kind of lame. Why even bother staffing the place with marines if they don't do shit? Plus, there is security here too as well as cameras. I wish there was an encounter where they capture footage of an alien on camera skulking about and darting away taking someone with it. Maybe Wheeler or Kokumo? Another idea could be a fight with aliens inside the colony if the PC's decide to set up any defenses or barricades. We know they did this in Aliens because the marines saw their barricades. Again, you have to add this on your own because this adventure does not mention anything about it.

There are 9 pages that detail the colony. However, it lacks information detailing the location of the Atmospheric Processor Unit as well as the Atmospheric Processor Unit Reactor on the exterior map. The adventure also does not really spell out the location of the Queen and Wheeler's body but it says that they are somewhere in the APU Reactor - which is where the PCs are sent. However, since I know the Alien movie, I have to deduce that they are in the Atmospheric Processor Unit and not the APU Reactor but the adventure says they are in the Reactor - which is incorrect and I spent quite awhile wondering where they were on the map until I eventually figured out the mistake.

Also, where are the specimen coordinates that Lee gives the PCs located? What room are the specimen jars supposed to be in? How did the company get the specimens in the first place? Are they the 2 specimens that were recovered from the colonists that went to the alien ship? I assume so but again, this information should have been provided for me. The whole point of buying pre-written adventures is so we don't have to do any prep work except read the adventure. Thinking about it now, why the hell does Lee want the PCs to recover the specimens if he already had them in the first place? Why did he have them taken from Medlab and put in the APU reactor? It makes no sense! This is a major plot flaw in the story line. --- Maybe he was planning to do some secret research and getting ready to kidnap a colonist for experiments so he could implant it with an embryo to examine its life cycle? Then this happened and screwed up his plans. Now he wants his specimen back? Who knows! You have to make it up because again the writers failed to explain things once again.

Another problem is that the locations in the APU Reactor map are not detailed. On the map, we see rooms such as the Secondary Control Room, Emergency Generator, Medstation, Reactor Control Room, Xenomorph Lair, Security, and Storage but there are no details about any of these areas. You have to make them up as well as make up what is in those rooms. Its pure laziness that these areas are not detailed. Plus, there are symbols on the map and yet there is no legend to show what they are supposed to represent.

It would have been nice to get a map of the alien ship as well as a map of the Atmospheric Processor Unit. We only get a map of the APU Reactor. Yet the adventure describes them as two separate locations. I could definitely see players wanting to go to either locations during this adventure. For one, they might want to go to the ship to get the other missing colonist. Plus, it would be useful to have if we want to revisit this place at a later date and have the player's take care of that Queen and her hive in the sub-levels of the Atmospheric Processor. The areas are mentioned in the adventure but they are completely left out which is REALLY annoying because the information about the colony is incomplete.

The adventure also lacks information about the other 2 ships in the adventure, namely the shuttle and the cargo freighter that Lee and the colonial marines will be on. Are they on a Millenial Class II Freighter? I guess so... the adventure never specifies.

Another thing that I have issue with is the derived statistics for defense and the way they are calculated in the WOIN system. When a Xenomorph Warrior has a Melee Defense of 36 and a Ranged Defense of 27, that means that the PCS who are Grade 5 characters can never hit the Xenomorph in melee as the max that they can roll with 5d6 is 30. Even shooting them is almost impossible. These numerical values are too high and need to be revised. There is no way the PC's could survive being attacked by a dozen of these things. They have to be changed to Hunters instead which have a Melee Defense of 24 and a Ranged Defense of 18.

Also, the adventure provides back up pregenerated characters in case the PC's get killed but the only time this will happen is when they are trying to get out of the reactor with either the keys to the shuttle or with the specimens for Lee. In either case, they are trying to escape and are shooting their way out. How can you bring replacement PC's in when they are trying to leave? One way would be to have another batch sent in by Lee again and they are encountered as the party is leaving and then the party says to the backup "to come with us because we either have the specimens or we have keys to a ship to get us all out of here" and they all leave together. The second choice is that you introduce them as being cocooned but then the surviving party members would have to rescue them, which is unlikely because they are getting their asses kicked and fleeing. I think the best option is to have them roll with the PCs as NPCs during their trip into the reactor and when someone gets killed they can just become one of the NPCs. The problem this idea is that you have to handle controlling an additional 3 to 6 NPCs during all the fight scenes.

Overall I like the adventure but I think that there needs to be more meat to it. The adventure itself was only 13 pages! Instead of giving us 11 pages of pregenerated characters, maybe someone should have took some more effort to flesh the adventure out. Besides, I don't think that the idea of Hot Swap characters was necessary either since they can't be introduced until the very end of the adventure as they are running away from the aliens. The adventure ends when they get back to their ship!

So far, this thing feels like it is just an outline. Plus, we really need maps to the APU and alien ship for this to feel like a complete adventure. I'm left feeling disappointed and let down. I wanted this to be great but with the flaws listed above, I can't rate it as a 5-star adventure. I'm only giving it 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] W1: Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi! Thought you'd like to know that Ian Stead, who did the ship designs you like in this book, did all the ships in the Starship Recognition Manual. The "chestburster" is called "Breedspawn" and is on page 21. Thanks for the review! :)
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD RPG Core Rulebook
by Paul T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2019 03:16:52

I haven't done any role playing games since the late 80s. Since then I drifted away to tabletop gaming.

One game that has re-ignited my passionfor RPGs is the Judge Dredd and the worlds of 2000AD game. I have been wanting to try some RPGs for a while but hadn't found a system I was really interested in until this came along.

As a long time fan of all things 2000AD this is the game I have been looking for. Rules are clearly written, concise and the game looks very entertaining. I have yet to play it but I absolutely cannot wait to try it (we have a small group ready to go but need to arrange a mutually acceptable night to play on!)

The D6 system is intuitive and very easy to learn. For someone who hasn't played an RPG in over 30 years the mechanics of this were easy to understand. For those of you who play RPGs regularly learning this will be a breeze!

If you are an RPG fan and/ or a fan of 2000AD then I absolutely recommend this book. I was lucky enough as a Kickstarter backer to get the exclusive backer's cover on my main rulebook and it's a thing of beauty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD RPG Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2019 18:12:53

This is the latest in a series of games based on Judge Dredd, starting with the original Games Workshop edition in the 1980s and two editions/supplements put out by Mongoose for D20/OGL and the Traveller rules respectively.

The main appeal of the game lies with it's setting material, which has a 40+ year comic library and has very much a cult following in the UK at least. The 2000AD comics are very gonzo, 'punk' infused, action based storylines and this remains an enduring appeal to many - although curiously, it's never fully transported it's fanbase into America where DC and Marvel comics were entirely dominant, truth be told. Much of the art within is drawn from the comics, which adds a degree of style - yet in other ways the layout, font and general interior design could have been better. Having owned the previous versions of the game, they generally seemed less cluttered and easier to read (the font size) than this current edition.

This edition has maximised it's utility by being a springboard core rules book, primarily for Judge Dredd's Mega City One setting (as the most popular), but detailing a potential expansion through all the various strips in the comics. This is a welcome expansion, along with having built in rules for playing Judges, Perps (criminals) or Citizens - which means it's pretty much a cyberpunk-ish type of game from the core. This is a pretty familar game premise of course, but it wouldn't take too much to create some crossover with other settings as they build on the line.

It's WOIN system that powers it is only so-so, however. The core mechanic is familar to anyone who knows D6-based dice-pools, which may seem promising as an easy, fast and loose system akin to WEG's old Ghostbusters or Star Wars games. Yet, there are lots more rules stipulations and character generation in particular is a lot more involved. I didn't get the sense that the rules were especially adapted for the setting or, indeed, had any particular innovation of note. What they seemed like, honestly, was a set of homebrewed house-rules that had managed to see print and the game was essentially adapted to it's format rather than the other way round. In short, they aren't anything special.

As such, it is an OK game, but if you're already playing a gonzo action game using Savage Worlds, Fate or whathaveyou, and you aren't buying the game just for the 2000AD setting, I'm not sure there is that much that will persuade you to change your mind.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2019 17:08:09

I picked this up a few years ago to run for my group, as $10 for a 700+ page campaign seemed like too good a bargain to miss. I actually ran it with Savage Worlds instead of D&D, but it was pretty easy to convert, and I consider it one of the best campaigns I've ever run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by Jon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2019 12:17:45

After reading through the book, I find it a useful and good addition N.E.W. The added features at the end for creating your own races is a very cool feature and one that will be used a lot. The only things I wish and would have liked to have seen would have been a bit more info for some races as the Borian, Venetians and the Drahzik equipment and unique traits a bit more. The Drahzik had their own unique mini-equipment list and starship design flavor added in EONS. In addition, the Borians and Venetians had their respected races unique equipment and such in separate books. I would have liked to have seen something along that line added to some of the races in the Galactic Sentience Catalog. Would have made it truly stand out and stellar. Nonetheless, it is still an awesome book and addition to WOIN N.E.W.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 22:42:52

Well thought out, detailed and the inclusion of the ability to make your own race is brilliant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 15:30:03

I just picked this up and it is an awesome supplement!

I am a Patreon backer for EONS magazine and have seen a good bit of the races included here already but do not let that stop you from purchasing it. There are quite a few new races included as well.

Having all the races in one place is great and the layout is fantastic as it presents them alphabetically yet gives you a breakfown of races by type in the beginning.

It also includes the excellent race generator so you can easily design your own races and there is a section in the back on the aliens of Sol space as well.

The artwork is beautiful and it complements the fantastic layout perfectly. This is another excellent addition to the WOIN RPG. It is worth the purchase and comes highly reccomended for your NEW adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 01:56:16

A Great introduction to the adventure! We started on new years eve with this campaign till 0:00. When it was time to roll iniative, real life fireworks started. My group had a blast but I did had to modify some bits and pieces.

NPC's Boy there are tons of those and they are all really worked out! Big props!

Backgrounds By using the player companion my players were already quite invested in the City and knew what was there. Again this makes it easier to motivate players who can often fall to: "why are we doing this?"

-Spoilers beware-

First battle There are some things in this campaign that were a bit.. odd The first battle: The mobs have way too much hp for my 5 -3rd level party. [4E monks, Ancients pally, Wizard, Swords Bard, Alchemist class] I reduced those mobs to around 30 hp each. My group tailed it out of the tavern ofcourse.

In betweens There is tons to do in little time! My group went for the case first. We did a rooftop chase scene. They got the case and when they open it they found paper. My players love mystery but perhaps and idea: Vigenère ciphers! This gives the players something to do in their downtime!

Lot's of portions were skipped in this adventure by my players. Rantle, the elfsubplot etc, so can't comment on those. However the sense of Urgency made it feel like my players did not "have enough time to do all that. We have to make choices! What is most important know? " -Made me smile as a DM

Final chapter Again, all the characters have way too much hp. My players had a long rest before leaving the city but batteling against those blackhorse thugs with their original hp. That's rough! After they killed 1 of their leaders, I did a morale check and most left. The group picked up on this and killed the 2nd leader due to nova'ing him.

Short rest in the house with Haddin and then the Inquisitor attack. Once again, tons of hp with his orc bodyguard. It sure put the fear for the Inquisitors in my players but with the original hp values it felt.. unfair.

My group did not know I adjusted but boy o boy. They LOVE this adventure already. It keeps them on their toes, deep tactical thinking and the mystery with the briefcase.. Now we are in the forest and I will write a review later when they finished that chapter.

TL:DR Great introduction for this campaign. Needs some extra work for the DM and it seems written for optimised charachters. Make sure your players know their classes! [Start a lvl 1-3 oneshot? I did not and it showed]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[5E] A Touch of Class (Revised): 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 15:16:20

Brand new, original and fully developed classes that will make the other players at your table jealous. These are balanced options that feel completely different from everything else out there. Sure, WOTC put out an Alchemist in Unearthed Arcana, but this version is better and has more variety.

I have the print copy and love this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[5E] A Touch of Class (Revised): 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
by Luis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 17:47:45

As the introductory adventure to the War of the Burning Sky adventure path, The Scouring of Gate Pass manages what official D&D products struggle to do: to be simultaneously thoughtful, engaging, challenging and funny. It is rare to find an adventure that strikes such a great balance between action-packed cinematic setpieces and giving players the freedom to interact with the obstacles in a way unique to their gaming group. While the adventure does present the reader with an expected progression for the party, the social nature of many of the encounters allow for plenty of improvisation from the players. This, combined with the complex motivations of the NPCs, helps lend a sense of identity to each and every character and brings to the forefront their humanity, something crucial in a story about war. The conversion to Fifth Edition by Brian Criswell is superb and although I would consider the artwork of varying quality, it gets the job done. Particularly noteworthy is the stunning illustration on the front cover, as well as the black-and-white image of the ragesian inquisitor on page 35. The maps are clear and easy to understand and the city itself seems to come alive thanks to the detailed descriptions of its locations. My only real quibble is that the text is not justified, which makes it look somewhat messy, and that a lot of the artwork would have looked better if it had been left in black-and-white.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Tip of the Tongue
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/15/2018 11:34:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module clocks in at 45 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 41 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This is a high fantasy adventure for characters level 7 – 8, and takes place in a town steeped in magical academia – the city Bellek. We get a proper settlement statblock for the town, and the magical nature of the place is emphasized throughout: A whole list of magical alcohol for the obligatory starting tavern, for example, has been provided. As a minor nitpick, there are a few inconsistencies in their rules, though these remain largely cosmetic and don’t impede functionality. (Electrical instead of electricity damage, for example.) The starting angle has a couple of hooks provided, and the module does not come with cartography for the town or locations visited. The module pretty heavily references the NPC Codex for less crucial foes/NPCs, so having that, or the SRD-pages ready is suggested. If you own the Liber Influxus Communis, you’ll be interested to hear that the mnemonic class features somewhat prominently in this module. If you don’t have it, fret now, for all relevant information is provided.

All right, you know how this goes – from here on, the SPOILERS will reign, as I discuss the module in detail. Potential players should definitely jump ahead to the conclusion.

..

.

All right, only GMs around? As the PCs arrive in town, they’ll spot the guards sweating in winter armor – and indeed, as they explore the spire of knowledge, they’ll have an…interesting time, as anything short of a DC 10 Stealth check will be met with shushing sounds – and the PCs may well be escorted out of the place after 5 failed consecutive checks. This can be hilarious for your group, but be careful when running this RAW, as it could similarly frustrate players. Anyways, at the top of the spire, the PCs get to meet Hirsli Aptal, a mindchemist who may have a brilliant mind – but also has puzzling news: obviously, the keenest minds, particularly nobles et al., have recently been struck by an odd wave of amnesia, and Hirsli is beginning to suffer exactly the same slips of memory. Something is amiss, and PCs willing to investigate the matter get a badge that should help during the investigation. (Btw.: Attacking her is a bad idea – book golem…)

Investigating Aptal manor, the PCs can find a secret passage in the treasury that leads into the tomb of Ipo Aisun-Aiji, a mnemonic from days gone past that sacrificed himself to end the threat of a horrid entity – Mitk’. Alas, as often the case, Mitk’ wasn’t destroyed, and has since found a mad apprentice/prophet of sorts in the eleven oracle Kit Mha, who has placed clues that allowed Hirsli to break the cipher of the Kitabu Mitk’ – a grimoires now hidden below, ready to be unleashed upon the adventurers. The tomb of Iso Aisun-Aiji is btw. a magical labyrinth full of yithians and the like – now maps or puzzle helps solve the maze, which is a bit of a downside – particularly since failing a skill check and traveling willy-nilly can cause ability score damage. As written, this is a clear example of PC skill over player skill use.

Returning the book to Hirsli, she creates a concoction that cures the amnesia – and that’s it, right? Wrong. The PCs do get to meet King Halfviti (lol), and in the aftermath of a feast, an assassination will be carried out – hinting that not all is well, and indeed, a mysterious killer named Kurtaric manages to (probably) get away. Thing is, there is an invasion looming, and 3 nearby settlements, and thus, the PCs are sent out to gather armies, while the old killer attempts to strike if an opportunity presents itself – but not all is as it seems: The old warrior finally opts for parley, and just as he talks, he is struck dead – and with his death, his ritual fails: the old mnemonic attempted to isolate and contain the spread of the idea of Mitk’, eradicating the idea the PCs helped to inadvertently spread.

The game is on, as Mitk’, as a deadly idea of sorts, now has reached critical saturation – a war for ideas, fought with mass combat rules, against the gruesome vergeten –and, obviously, Mitk’! Ultimately, the PCs may, courtesy of special (and seriously potent for the level) weapons, triumph – these special weapons, oddly, have no value, but instead use a charge-like mechanic and quickly decrease in power. Still, it’s something to keep an eye on.

The pdf comes with extensive statblocks and army stats.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect. I noticed a couple of minor hiccups, though no game-breakers per se. Layout adheres to a no-frills two-column standard with few colors and a white background – the module is pretty printer-friendly. The interior artwork is a blending of nice original pieces and fitting stock art, in full color and b/w, respectively. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. No cartography is provided, which is a slight comfort detriment.

This module, penned by Mike Myler and Christopher Kugler, is per se amazing in many ways – the ambition and story is grand, and particularly the climax can be amazing – if you draw the battle-field, etc. The module also suffers a bit from its scope and what it can accomplish in it – this feels like a trilogy of adventures, jammed together into one: Act I, the investigation and dungeon – the latter of which is pretty much glossed over and could have used a more rewarding solution. Act II, as the gathering of forces – the traveling and locations could have used more time to develop the threat amassed…and thirdly, the showdown, which has all the makings of an epic finale. The third act works best here, but even it could have used a bit more room to shine. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoyed this module, but it does require some serious fleshing out by the GM to truly realize its potential. And I really, really wished it didn’t rush things like it did. As provided, the narrative weak points are the exposition dumps at certain stages, which, to me, felt like a necessity for the sake of remaining briefer than the material would have warranted. This module is not bad, not by a long shot – but, frustratingly, it has all the ingredients of being a great epic, condensed to a briefer presentation form that slightly hurts the module.

That being said, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up for the purpose of this platform. If you don’t mind doing lots of fleshing out, then this might make for a grand and rather epic experience for you and yours!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tip of the Tongue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 715 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates