DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monsters of the Underworld
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2020 18:34:48

A great book overall that adds spice to any underdark campaign, or rather any campign in all honesty, just more so in an underdark story.

The art is simply enchanting giving the Monsters of series a great identity due to it being done in a single artists unique style. The drow are a stylized yet not too foreign, the Svirfneblin have a look that surpasses their offical art in my honest opinion and the undervoid and its minions are a strange mixture of threatening and cute. Despite the more family friendly art i can easily imagine the beasts in a grim or gritty campaign. This product will give you minor to major baddies to face in glorious combat and roleplay!

The issues I have with this book though are few, first the infected creatures (Despite being part of the undervoid my favorite thing in the book.) all feel too similar in stats, and a tempalte block would have been more useful for converting monsters to the undervoid's service, and also the player options feel a bit tacked though they can be modified with some simple homebrewing. (also i can't quite search or highlight the text on my PDF copy, so i hope it gets updated eventally)

All in all monsters of the underworld will expand almost any 5e game in glorious ways, if you're running out of the abyss, then maybe spice things up with some lovely monsters from the deep, after all what's more unnerving than strange exotic creatures from beyond the base game?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Monsters of the Underworld
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 09:09:20

Monsters of the Underworld by Andrew Cawood (@cawoodpublish)

In the spirit of full disclosure, I was provided a review copy of this supplement for a full and honest review.

This is just a quick review with the intention to come back to another time in more detail.

This isn’t my first Cawood Publishing supplement, but it is my first of their mightily impressive “Monsters of” series, with this edition focusing on the eponymous monsters, but also the people and beasts of the underground and Underdark.

I have to say I’m absolutely blown away by the quantity, quality and vision that has gone into this bestiary!

Cawood’s ideas for the creatures and how they come through so clearly in the flavour and description texts, as well as the statblocks themselves are brilliant. There are a great mix of new creatures, adapted and changed creatures, greater specificity of creatures that fill this tome with everything you could possibly want to run a game underground or Underdark with far more flavour and surprise than what is available in the official manuals. But beyond the subterranean, there are many fabulous creatures and racial archetypes that have a much wider scope for populating your games above ground.

Hansons’s art is glorious! Their creature design is wonderful and full of flavour; there are comic tones (both book and humour), blended with the genuinely creepy and grim to create a truly original and arresting style that treads the line between visceral and whimsy.

Porter’s layout is great exercise in clean simplicity, letting the text, statblocks and artwork speak for themselves.

Monsters of the Underworld is perfect for unground adventures and campaigns, while also just being a bloody brilliant collection of creatures that give DMs so many wonderful new blighters to play with. Keeping players on their toes is great for everyone at the table.

There are many manuals on monsters available on the market, only a few of which are discussed in the same breath as the official Monster Manuals, Cawood’s Monsters of the Underworld most certainly should be one of them!

I can’t wait to delve into their Monsters of Feyland when I get the chance and I am ridiculously excited for their new Monsters of the City, Sins and Virtues Kickstarter, which I am backing and recommend you do too! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/monstersofthecity/monsters-of-the-city-for-5e-rpg?ref=android_project_share

Credits

Written by Andrew Cawood (@cawoodpublish)

Illustrated by Travis Hanson (@TravsTheBean)

Layout and Graphic Art by Jeff Porter​



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Lucas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2020 10:52:50

Both Monsters of the Underworld and Monsters of Feyland are fantastic books—an incredible collection of new creatures in a well organized easy to read layout, on sturdy pages with amazing art.

Scattered throughout the pages are fun little extras that you can easily place in your game. For example, "Flora/Features of the Underworld": Plants, fungi, and features like crystals (just a few examples) one may encounter during their travels as an adventurer, all easily placed in almost any setting.

The back of the book contains a collection of handy tables: A list of creatures by CR, events table, encounters table, locations table. You will also find a couple new subclass options and maps you can insert into your game.

As a fungal fanatic I would be remiss not mentioning the plethora of fungi themed creatures included. If you crave more mycological monsters this is the place to find it.

Highly recommended for any ttrpg hoard. Let the inspired creatures within inspire you for any tabletop game you play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2020 08:41:33

I can remember when Andrew first shot me a copy of Monsters of the Feyland - holy hell was that a fun book. With beefy thematic monsters and Travis' fantastic art, Monsters of the Underworld only builds on that model of cartoony but deadly creatures and amazing visuals. A lot of the monsters in here are fantastic additions to any Underdark themed or suberterranian campaign, and as always the variety is better - far better - than anything in the base Monster Manual. I especially enjoy of the fungus themed monsters, primarily the fungus giant which is absolutely terrifying in any way shape and form. I highly reccomend this book for anyone getting ready to delve into the deep. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2020 15:24:17

I love Cawood Publishing's monster books! Following Monsters of Feyland, the Alliance of the Griffon describes an awesome amount of deadly creatures infesting the Underworld. Writing is crisp and engaging. Art is vibrant and consistent across all entries. The layout is very table friendly. A few more tables and maps are included than are found in Monsters of Feyland. You get a great feel for the dwarfs, drow, minotaurs, fungi, deep gnomes and duergar. So much of this book can be used in other settings too. The quality of Cawood Publishings monster books is up there with the best content producers for 5E and they have found the sweet spot with these very usable monster books. I can't wait for the next monster book in the line!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Leroy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 21:56:36

As with all products from Cawood, this is an worthwhile purchase, in fact it's probably their best book yet. I usually prefer physical copies but as soon as this was released, I needed it right away so I got the PDF. Now I am eagerly waiting for the hardbound version.

The art by Travis Hanson makes this supplement really pop. If you're going to have artwork of adventurers wielding oversized swords, it's best done in cartoon format like this. I always enjoy Hanson's cartoons. The book is amazingly colourful.

The side tidbits like Flora amongst the monster descriptions add real flavour to your underworld campaign. I can't wait to introduce the Eddybell mushroom. This book can be used for so many different RPG games and any editions.

I sincerly hope the staff at Cawood are plugging away at the next supplement. I look forward to their books more than those produced by spellcasters down by the Coast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Travis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 07:03:58

Fantastic work by Cawood publishing and like the Monsters of Feyland it is must have book for anyone’s table. The enchanting art work by Travis Hanson alone is worth the price. I suggest this book for help filling in any gaps you might have to monsters for your 5th edition game and it is a great resource to get the imagination flowing for another campaign with your friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Ja F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2019 15:03:47

“Hidden underneath the everyday world is a dark, mysterious realm…” THE UNDERWORLD This book is a well organized, beautifully illustrated, collection of 100+ monsters. I really enjoy the content! Cawood Publishing has earned my support over the last few years. It is a great book to add to your 5e collection - Don’t miss out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Hanno Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2019 14:20:52

Surprise your players!

Like its predecessor Monsters Of Feyland (which I highly recommend) Monsters Of The Underworld features 100+ highly creative and balanced monsters to challenge your players with. Together with the beautiful art and accompanying texts this book will provide lots of entertainment to any D&D 5e group. Included are maps and adventure hooks to spark your imagination.

Don't wait, get it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Underworld
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2019 14:13:24

This is the second Monsters book by Cawood publishing and like the first a must have book, I do not think we have played a game in the last two years where we have not used one of the monsters in our games from these amazing books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Feyland
by Al B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2019 11:30:57

This was my first purchase through Drivethru RPG and and Cawood Publishing and it went smoothly without any problems.

I purchased the hardback version with the PDF option so so let's cut to the chase. This is a quality product.

Full colour hardback with fantastic Travis J Hanson illustrations throughout in his usual comic style. One creature to a page with statblock, descriptions and motivations makes it ideal for quick referencing when needed.

There are some clear adventure hooks written into the decriptions which could easily be the lead in to some quick adventures or epic campaigns depending on how you want to use them.

There is a CR rating table and random encounter generator included at the end too for genral information.

There is a real flavour of the Fey throughout this book which the illustrations readily convey and I can see this being used in many of my games.

My only real criticism is that I wish it was bigger with more but that's just me being greedy (I'm sure there is room for a Monsters of Felyand 2!)

If you are looking for a Feywild expansion to your game and want to populate it with some fantastic creatures then look no further. Go and buy this.

You will not be disapointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Feyland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Monsters of Feyland
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2019 08:01:58

Celtic mythology and faerie stories were a staple of my upbringing - we have a family friend who is a professional storyteller and made sure we got a healthy dosage. On top of the stunning art from Travis Hanson, Monster of Feyland gives you as a DM everything you need to build an entirely fey-based campaign without even needing the regular Monster Manual.

Both equal parts lore and bestiary, MoF pulls players directly into the faerie world, the inner political struggles of the Summer and Midnight Courts, and all the multidimensional layers that make old fey tales so interesting and exciting.

Personal favorite meme monster: the Doubt Trout. Used it on my players and they hated me for it. Only thing I wish there was more of in this book was maybe a wee appendix with some more lore and a map, to add to the rich environment cultivated in the book. Otherwise, a smashing victory.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 19



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Feyland
by doug h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2019 10:40:58

Great book! I love the content, and the artwork is fantastic. I love how they focused on groups of fey and made what amount to a few variants of the popular kinds of fey out there, like the armored centaur and the centaur mage. And dont forget about the evil huntaur! I will definitely be buying future monsters manual's by this publisher. I am giving the book 4 stars because I felt the write ups could have been a little longer and more detailed. It's not a perfect book but its damn close! This book left me wanting more of these guy's content, I would love to see them put out a full on feyland/feywild suppliment or campaign setting. Shout out to my local BC boys for making great content!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Feyland
by k m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2019 06:09:44
This is my first purchase from this author. On the basis of this product it won't be my last.

Monsters of Feyland is a high-quality product from front cover to fine detail. I purchased the softcover printed copy. The illustrations are full of colour and character, with some interesting nuances that may give even an experienced GM a few more ideas. The typeface is large, easily-legible, and text is kept short. Language used is simple, clear, and to-the-point.

The book includes dozens of monsters and characters, amny of which form part of a sketched-out hierarchy described at the beginning of the book. This includes a good/evil power structure, and a few that deliberately sit in between. Short sidebars occasionally add detail to flora characters might encounter alongside the creatures. Monster descriptions are full of character and stat blocks include some abilities that directly relate to the creature's role.

The book serves, firstly, as a resource for GMs to populate their setting with Fey creatures, or at least have them as background elements in a campaign. But secondly I see this product as a superb way to get younger plays, especially female players, into the game. The illustration style and description of some creatures wouldn't look out of place on a children's cartoon. If you run a cmapaign for younger players, want to start off a campaign in a high-magic setting, or simply want a few characterful fey creatures to populate your world, then this product is for you.

I write RPG material for general consumption, and hope to publish one day. This is the level of quality I aspire to.

An awesome purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGenerations: Tabletop Knights
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2019 10:11:44

For all the good feels that this comic invoked I give it 5 stars. Go buy it. The (mostly) single panel illustrations are reminiscent of Gary Larson’s The Far Side which also takes me back a couple of decades or so. I want to be clear that not every cartoon in the collection is a throwback the way the three I’ve chosen are. You’re just seeing some of my favorites . There are sure to be others that anyone will keenly connect with.

Read the full review here: http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/rpgenerations-tabletop-knights-2/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGenerations: Tabletop Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates