DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
NUELOW Stock Art Collection #4: Scenes From Yesterday's Future
Publisher: NUELOW Games
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2021 01:11:28

Some excellent Public Domain SciFi images for use in TableTop RPG project etc. I've used them extensively. Quality is variable but some of them are excellent. I just wish the past wasn't so misogynist and was more inclusive. There are some images (inclduing the cover image) I couldn't bring myself to use. Still well worth the money, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NUELOW Stock Art Collection #4: Scenes From Yesterday's Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Image Portfolio 012 Superhero
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2021 02:11:02

Incredibly useful set of a Superhero Images which, like all the range from this publisher, are pretty much essential to independent creators of Superhero RPGs due to the extremely creator-friendly license. Higlhy recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 012 Superhero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition Art Pack
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2021 15:44:26

This is an excellent product full of incredible professional standard Science Fiction art made freely available for small press creators to use in their products. A wide range of highly usable and beautiful pieces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Sci-Fi Character Portraits Project
Publisher: Víctor J. Merino
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2021 07:59:20

This is a superb collection of SciFi character portraits, perfect for use on character sheets for any Space Opera type game. If you can't find a picture here for a PC, NPC or Pregen I'll be very surprised. Pay What You Want and "use it for anything". Essential for anyone who plays any kind of SciFi TTRPG. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Character Portraits Project
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Super Hero Art for RPGs
Publisher: Steeplejack Studios
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2009 15:24:57

At last!

As an independent SHRPG publisher I've bought and used just about all the available (and usable) stock art on this site. So has just about everyone else - so we see the same images popping up on the covers of product after product.

If, like me, you've exhausted all the other stuff and want some more you need to buy this. Even if you haven't it's worth checking out the preview. It's better than a lot of the other stock art available.

I've been lucky enough to use some of Dave's artwork before and like it. Clean lines, easy to colour. A variety of poses, scenes and dioramas. Some pics include background details which cunning authors can crop, lift out and use for various odds and ends. I can see some of these illos becoming classics - being used on cover and cover (I'm betting the pic of the big punch will be well-used.)

As an author I'm neutral on the inclusion of fold-up figures but people buying this art for use on character sheets etc. might like them.

Overall this pack does exactly what it says on the tin which makes it an essential purchase for all SHRPG authors. I'm looking forward to more packs of the same. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super Hero Art for RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Standard Stock Art: Issue 2 - World War II
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:57:47

So I had an idea for a campaign book for my Superhero RPG (Squadron UK) set in World War II. Trouble is I needed some artwork for it. Sure you can trawl the 'net searching for photos and pictures which may or may not be public domain. However, this pack gave me what I wanted without effort and at a good price. The artwork - by Rick Hershey - is consistently good and an effort has been made to include a range of picture types. There are full scenes, a range of individual figures and even some graphics of WWII weapons. All in all a damn good stab at giving people what they need.

Good points: Very reasonable price given the open-ended license. Good quality artwork. A range of picture types given.

Area for improvement: None, really. I mean I can't expect the artist to get inside my head and give me exactly the range of pictures I need. I presume Rick is American so it's only natural for him to include lots of drawings of GI's that I was unable to use. At least he compensated for this by including a couple of British-types (and even what seemed to be a belgian).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Standard Stock Art: Issue 2 - World War II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Action RPG Counters: Super Portraits: Powerful Heroes 2
Publisher: Action RPG Counters
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:49:39

I bought this because I'd succumbed the freebie villains booklet these guys put out and used some of that free art in a product of mine. (If you haven't picked up that free book yet do it now!) I figured I owed them some payback. But it isn't much at this cost.

Good points: Bright, colourful, usable and cheap. Very cheap for the quality of artwork you receive.

Areas for improvement: Being CGI there is a tendency to rely upon the software rather than artistic flair and some of the pictures appear a bit bland. We need more dramatic poses, more expressive expressions, costumes which are more than sprayed on lycra (try adding some detail - the old underpants outside the leggings works well). If they could do this and work out how to produce some full Hero vs. Villain slugfests then their products would be bargain at ten times the price they are currently charging.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Action RPG Counters: Super Portraits: Powerful Heroes 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Action RPG Counters: Super Portraits: Powerful Villains
Publisher: Action RPG Counters
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:42:16

Look, I KNOW with "Poser" and its clones there are loads of people turning out CGI artwork in their bedrooms now and a lot of it looks good. However, I still can't see how these guys can bring themselves to GIVE AWAY something as good as this. At the very least, they should have given the artwork free and then made us publishers pay them a bit to use them in our projects. But no - you can use them and you still don't have to pay.

I swore to myself I wouldn't use this because I'd feel guilty but then I needed a set of Nazi power armour for my WWII supplement and there it was in this pack. That was it.

At least I went out and bought their Heroes book as a kind of payback. I'd like to buy some more of their stuff but I can't have the wife find it on my computer. What's with the fixation with teenage girls?

Good points - Free, colourful and usable.

Areas for improvement - Need to work on the poses to make them more dramatic. If the artists can find a copy of "Draw Comics the Marvel Way" by Stan Lee there's a nice illustration by John Buscema in there on dramatic poses.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action RPG Counters: Super Portraits: Powerful Villains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Action RPG Counters: Super Portraits: Powerful Villains
Publisher: Action RPG Counters
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:41:57

Look, I KNOW with "Poser" and its clones there are loads of people turning out CGI artwork in their bedrooms now and a lot of it looks good. However, I still can't see how these guys can bring themselves to GIVE AWAY something as good as this. At the very least, they should have given the artwork free and then made us publishers pay them a bit to use them in our projects. But no - you can use them and you still don't have to pay.

I swore to myself I wouldn't use this because I'd feel guilty but then I needed a set of Nazi power armour for my WWII supplement and there it was in this pack. That was it.

At least I went out and bought their Heroes book as a kind of payback. I'd like to buy some more of their stuff but I can't have the wife find it on my computer. What's with the fixation with teenage girls?

Good points - Free, colourful and usable.

Areas for improvement - Need to work on the poses to make them more dramatic. If the artists can find a copy of "Draw Comics the Marvel Way" by Stan Lee there's a nice illustration by John Buscema in there on dramatic poses.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 019 Superheroes
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:33:45

Having bought two other Image Portfolios from this company and been very happy with the product, this one came as something of a disappointment.

I can't moan too much. I bought it because I was able to browse it on the RPGNOW preview (thanks for that feature, guys!) and it had an image I needed for a project I was working on. For this price, it's worth it even if you can only use a single picture. So I still got my money's worth.

The problem with the pack is two-fold. Firstly it is made up of a selection of drawings from various artists in vastly different styles. Some of these are not - in my opinion - up to the standard of other artists' work sold by this company. One in particular seems to have a desire to draw limbs in perspective but overdoes things making the figures distorted. The impression is that the company had a handful of pictures "left over" from other products and just lumped them all in together regardless of quality. I am unsure what the cartoon picture of the Fox with the zap-gun is doing in there!

Given this, we come to the second issue. You'd expect to either get more pictures than usual in such a "grab bag" or for the product to be cheaper. You actually seem to get fewer pictures for the same money.

If you're reading this to decide whether to buy it or not I'd say it's still worth the money if you've got it to spend. If you're producing Superhero stuff buy ALL the image portfolios - it's worth it. If you're on a budget, skip this one and buy one of the others - 1.03 and 1.21 are both good.

Good points: A few EXCELLENT pictures. Thse are worth the price alone. The open-ended license.

Areas to improve: A grab-bag of disparate styles with some pictures being virtually unusable. Fewer pictures for your money than other portfolios in the same range.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 019 Superheroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Image Portfolio 003 Superhero
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:20:04

Another set of illustrations from a single artist. These contain a number of single figure images but also a couple of slug fests or other scenes (for example a winged heroinne being pursued by high-tech jets). Very useful. Very good value for the money.

Best bits: Consistent Art style, open ended license for self-publishers, inclusion of slug-fest scenes

Areas for improvement: Rather heavy on the large-breasted females and one or two very unique pictures which verge towards fantasy mand might prove difficult to use in a Superhero game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 003 Superhero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Image Portfolio 021 Superheroes
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2008 16:15:14

A broad selection of Superhero figures by a single artist who knows what he is doing. Very consistent in style and very usable. I, personally, produced a book a villains for my own game (Squadron UK - available through RPGNOW) using every illustration in this book. Though not at all artistic myself I was able to colour the illustrations and use them in a variety of ways with extremely pleasing results.

Best features: The consistent art style, quality of the artwork and the open-ended license.

Areas for improvement: In order to be unique and not generic, one or two of the figures have highly specific powers on show or are placed in unusual poses. I totally understand why this is done but it limits the uses to which the pictures can be put.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 021 Superheroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates