DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
RPG / D&D Ambiences Vol. 1
Publisher: Michael Ghelfi
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2020 10:31:38

I really wanted to like this product as having 50 sound effects would have been very useful, and some of them will be.

The reason, however, for only 2 stars is that the 50 seem to have been created by a relatively small number of sound effects which have been mixed together. Hence 'Desert Cave Campfire' is simply 'Desert Cave' with a fire effect - and the sounds used for Desert Cave are reused in the other Cave audios.

In itself this 'mixing' is not a problem for individual audios, but if player's hear more than one of these audios they will hear a 'sameness'.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RPG / D&D Ambiences Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Spontaneous Generation Monsters
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2019 08:48:43

The best thing about this supplement is the inventiveness of the monster descriptions. Even though I will be using these monsters in a campaign run using a completely different RPG system, the descriptions are enough to make the book worthwhile for me.

I also liked the fact that not all of the "monsters" are killers, some are helpful - which makes a nice change of pace.

Only one small negative - the text of Bad Beer states it drowns its victims, but the image shows an acid effect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spontaneous Generation Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Invisible Hands - The Book of Factions
Publisher: True Mask Games
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 12:08:06

I can only agree with Marco's and Luka's reviews.

The first half of the book on creating factions helps put the second half in context, but also provides plenty for GMs to think about when creating their own.

The 20 factions in the second half, whilst most suited to the fantasy genre, could (with a few exceptions) be converted into SciFi or Steampunk with very little effort. Personally, I can see uses for 17 of the 20 which is a good hit rate. I especially liked The Sculptors (which are a very inventive take on slavers), Knights of Custodia (a fantasy WWF) and the God's Riders (although, ironically, I may reduce the religious element of this one).

Altogether a product that is well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invisible Hands - The Book of Factions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Fantasy Landmarks
Publisher: Charles Smith Games
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2019 05:42:44

A brilliant collection of ideas. Whilst I have come across a few of them in other fantasy media (books, RPGs and artwork) the majority are unique and inventive. Some of the ideas could act as seeds for GMs to expand on into whole scenarios - which is what I will be doing.

At its price, any GM that creates their own worlds should invest in this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Landmarks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Edge of the Wilds - 100+ scenarios for rural adventures!
Publisher: True Mask Games
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2019 12:12:31

In my review of Dark Cities I said that there was too much overlap of scenario ideas. In Edge of the Wilds there is an over use of outlaws, vengeful forest spirits and, to a lesser extent, madness but otherwise this is less of a problem and hence the product deserves its 4 stars rather than the 3 that I gave Dark Cities.

I especially liked 'Silent Stealing' which is adds interesting complications to a theft scenario, 'The Racing Game' which adds a diplomatic element to a guard scenario, 'Election Time' which would last many gaming sessions and 'The Devil of Korrenwald' which adds a twist to monster hunting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of the Wilds - 100+ scenarios for rural adventures!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

100 Bizarre Village Traditions for all fantasy RPGs
Publisher: Grinning Skull Studios
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2019 08:52:38

This product is useful in that some of the festival ideas are so unusual that if, as a GM, you ask yourself WHY the village has the festival it opens up the posibility of all sorts of background colour.

However, I can only give the product 2 stars as some of the ideas are 18 rated (with no warning that this would be the case in its description) and others are, in my opinion, in bad taste and borderline offensive.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
100 Bizarre Village Traditions for all fantasy RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dark Cities - 100+ scenarios for urban adventures!
Publisher: True Mask Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2019 07:01:27

This is a good set of scenario ideas with enough detail that GMs can easily expand on them to create full scenarios. Of the 100 (120 if you include the random table) ideas I can see me using up to 30 of them which makes it good value for money.

The only reason I have given it 3 stars rather than 4 is that there is a lot of overlap in ideas. Whilst having multiple versions of the same idea is not in itself bad, it gives GMs a number of different approaches depending on their play style, I feel that some ideas - especially mass murder, mind control (in various forms including possession) and NPCs being other than they seem to be (shapechangers, illusion, masks) - are overused. Once you have run one of these, it would be difficult to run one of the others without it feel stale.

However, I don't want to end on a bad note. As said, even with the overlaps this should provide many hours of good roleplaying opportunities.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Cities - 100+ scenarios for urban adventures!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Seven Bizarre Races
Publisher: Zenith Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:15:42

Perhaps a bit too strange!

I bought this book for ideas for a campaign that I am creating from scratch with its own rules. Of the seven races, two (the Painterlily and Shadowfriend) will be used in an altered form. A third, the Blesmolefolk, are interesting and I can see myself using them in some form in a different campaign. Finally, whilst I don't think Kindercloaks work as a PC race due to their hivemind, they could be a 'monster' race and so are 'possibles'.

Those I will not be using are Bunnytaurs (just silly), Merriepetals (there are better plant based racs) and Misborn (requires a specific background for what happens after death).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seven Bizarre Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Underworld Classes: Psilocybist
Publisher: AAW Games
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2014 11:29:03

The idea of a Mushroom based Prestige class was an interesting one and this class certainly adds to the abilities of someone who has the Mushroom Domain (which the character must have to take the class). The new Mushroom Domain spells are interesting, if slightly weird, and would certainly surprise PCs who came across an NPC who can cast them.

However buyers of this book should be aware that half of the book is an exact copy of the Mushroom Domain/Mushroom Golem sections of the ... Underworld Races - Funglet ... book and so purchasers of that book are effectively getting just 8 new pages of material (all about the new Prestige Class). Because of this I give the book only a 2 rating, even though if purchased by itself it would have a 4 rating.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Underworld Classes: Psilocybist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
We would be remiss not reprinting the mushroom domain, given that it is so integral to both the psilocybist prestige class and funglet race! We\'re sorry you didn\'t think the artwork in the book was worth a few more stars, but are a bit confused; if this book is being bought by itself (we don\'t have a package deal for this and the funglet PDF, but we may soon!), why are you reviewing it in combination with a book from another series? Also, we are excited to hear what you think of the funglet book—please add a review for that as well! :D Thanks!
Pantheons: War of the Mythos Board Game
Publisher: Guild of Blades
by Martin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2010 07:47:45

The rules are badly written (e.g. 'I could find very little on the Mongol Pantheon being that they were shaman not much of their religion has been pasted down that I could find.') and could do with a good proof read (e.g. The god Ares is spelt as the star sign Aries).

Even worse, the rules for combat are incomplete and therefore the game is unplayable. I am guessing that you roll a D10 less than or equal to a unit's attack value, and defend by rolling a D10 less than or equal to their defense value. This does not, however, explain if there are any limits of which units attack which.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pantheons: War of the Mythos Board Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates