DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
SUPERS Revised Edition
Publisher: HAZARD Studio
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 15:42:49

I have bought Supers Revised Edition last year and at first I had difficulties reading it, maybe it was the layout, the art or whatever. The thing is I have read it since and even run two playtests and my players really enjoyed this game. My experience so far is with 20D characters, the superhero power level.

The game engine use a D6 mechanics not unlike the system used in Ghostbusters, Star Wars and Men in Black but the game is simpler because it doesn't use pips (+1, +2), there is no wild die (it is an optional rule) and the scale is simpler (normal human is 1D not 2).

The strengths of this game for me are these ones :

  • Characters are easy to create with a budget of creation dices low enough for not feeling overwhelmed but sufficient enough for not feeling constricted by a budget limit
  • The gamut of character creation is diversified enough to create plenty of different character concepts and to adapt characters from other game systems
  • The game system is easy, roll you pool of D6 dices (usually 1 to 6) add the results and beat a Target Number, either a TN decided by the Judge (the game master, name in this game) or decided by the defense chosen by the opponent. If the TN is beaten by 6, it is a Major success and by 12 a Superior success.
  • The game is versatile, you can attack and defend with various powers, resistances and aptitudes depending on the situation
  • You have several ways to get hurt, you decide which resistances is lowered when hit by a blast for instance depending how you decide how it affects you narratively

The game fills all my requirements for a superhero RPG. Still I don't feel thrilled by it, I suppose this is a lack of experience with it so I think the next test run I could do with it is run a superhero campaign ;-).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:18:10

The best edition of BESM so far, it is sad Guardians of Order has closed its doors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Necessary Evil: Alien Update
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:14:55

Useful if you want run Necessary Evil with the updated Super-Powers Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil: Alien Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide (SWADE Edition)
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 10:10:36

This is a book I waited for a long time. I love the Rifts setting but I hate the native system. I have tried to adapt the setting myself for a long time but succeed.

Now Rifts is a Savage Worlds setting and the adaptation is very good, good bye MDC and Mega-Damage, welcome Heavy Weapon and Heavy Armor :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide (SWADE Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 09:58:00

For me the best L5R edition so far out of the L5R edition produced by AEG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

ICONS: Adversaries
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 09:56:06

A villain for each occasion, this book is perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 09:54:19

I have read this new SaWo edition recently and overall, I found the modifications really interesting, the only small drawback for me, but I precise, this not something crippling at all :-), is that there is no world building part like there was in the Deluxe Explorer Edition.

As I said, this is not crippling and I would like to play it as soon as I can :-).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Green Ronin
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2018 08:42:37

This is a primer on the AGE system (used in Blue Rose and Dragon Age), it is (hence the name) fantasy oriented and it is not provided with an specific universe, the core three class and the mechanics are provided and a few specialties, spells and equipment plus several GM's advices.

I think the goal is to have a basic fantasy core book that a GM can build upon as it is less complete than Bluse Rose & Dragon Age but that's not the goal of this book.

Still a good product for beginners and people curious about AGE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Publisher: SlyFlourish
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2018 00:30:53

I hesitated before buying this PDF, in fact, I discovered it by pure chance. I read yesterday the angryGM blog, it was an article about "How to XP Good" and I liked it. The writer convinced me it was a good thing to give XP to players, but I was troubled by his antagonism towards Mike Mearl and Mike Shea from another blog I read once in while too (Sky Flourish, the author of the PDF I am reviewing), then the same day, I read the announcement of the availability of "Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master" and I was interested.

In fact, I never read the 1st Lazy Dungeon Master, I am french and PDF buying are relatively new in my GM's life, well I buy more PDF since 2017 than I did before. So I cannot compare.

But, what I read from Mike Shea's Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master have very pleased me :). I begun the book yesterday night and I finished it a few minutes ago. There is plenty of good ideas for GM like me who are not lazy at first but who have not much time to prepare game (but who loves GMing anyway ;) ). I am running Tomb of Annihilation at this time and in october, I will run session 8, so I am eager to test all the book's advice soon :).

I still like AngryGM but I am not convinced that lazy GM are bad GM, not with this book anyway :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

[Savage Worlds] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
Publisher: Fainting Goat Games
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 15:24:31

Nice and imaginative setting, dystopian super heroes is something which appeals to me. The only bad point for me is the absence of bookmarks on that PDF.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Healing Potion Cards for D&D 5e
Publisher: Magic Vacuum Design Studio
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2018 02:38:57

Hello

Bought it today because I am a D&D GM, this play aids look good to me :).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Healing Potion Cards for D&D 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2018 06:52:44

The best timeline-neutral L5R edition so far.

Rules are clear, PDF index is very complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

ICONS: A to Z
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 04:16:50

A lot of useful things for Icons. For me it was mainly C, G, H, K, O, T and W but I thinnk every GM will find something of use in it :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

ICONS: Great Power
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 03:35:12

Great Power apporte plus de pouvoirs et surtout de précision sur ces pouvoirs mais aussi pas mal de précision sur les gadgets et véhicule, un must !. Great powers gives you more powers but moreover more precision to their functionning and more morever, gadget and vehicles, a must have book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Great Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cosmic Handbook
Publisher: Green Ronin
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2018 09:57:06

le supplément pour M&M que j'ai attendu une bonne partie de ma vie, le supplément pour jouer des aventures spatiales épiques...et cosmiques :).

This was the sourcebook I'v waited for most of my life, want to play cosmic and epic adventures, this is it :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates