DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook $29.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
108 4
11 3
2 4
1 0
2 0
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to view
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Lukas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2019 16:46:43

I was really hyped.

Now, that me and my friends finished our first 4e campaign, I must say: I think this project was rushed. Some rules are just vague or not included at all which leads to annoying but necessary discussions while playing which is unfortunate. Also the golden rule "change or ignore elements if you don't like it" is... Well you can't do it in terms of combat. Combat is some kind of gear mechanism and if you remove one thing (ADVANTAGE), the whole system is unplayable. In the end, we spent hours to homebrew a combat system we could enjoy (a bit) but this new "critical wounds" and insanely high critical hit rate with criticals even when defending and stuff is just overkill. While combat takes an eternity, you still have limited options what you can do during combat. Our experience was: you either Attack (opponent tries to dodge or parry) or you go defensive stance. That's about it. Sometimes you are able to do a charge attack and in really rare cases you can activate frenzy or something but... Yeah.

Tldr: This new combat approach feels very complicated. While it sounds great on paper, it feels like a burden while playing.

The overall quality is really good though. The art is nice but a little bit too repetetive. Even though this review sounds really negative so far, there are still many elements that I love about the 4th edition. Those are:

  • Dark deals (A really interesting and sometimes game changing mechanic)
  • the career system (it is easy to create homebrews and add missing stuff)
  • magic and everything that comes with magic (the lore specific effects are a great idea and work really well. There is a Lack of chaos magic though which is unfortunate)
  • height and it's effect on combat

Conclusion:

If you are a hardcore fan of the 2nd edition, you might hate this system. While all of the mechanics SOUND great, they didn't really convice me in the end. Me and my group played this version for about 6 months, had a blast but we can't wait to go back to our favorite edition of WFRP. All the best to Cubicle 7. Love you guys and I really want to love the 4th edition but I can't :(



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Colin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2019 11:12:56

This has taken the best parts of all the previous editions, and improved it in so many ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Adrian P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 02:32:29

Beautifully illustrated and presented with a good, focussed take on the Reikland portion of the Empire and return to some of the feel of 1e. Updated ruleset which sets out to address the main complaints of the previous editions systems and succeeds in many ways but is marred a bit by errata, patches of extra complexity for little payoff in enjoyment and a sense that some of the rules (shields, falling damage, the Hardy talent) aren't particularly well thought out or playtested fully, so while they've fixed frustrations of editions past, they've introduced a few new ones. Close to / arguably the best edition, but seems to have stumbled a bit in a rush for publication.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2019 14:00:39

As a 40 year old WARHAMMER veteran (1st,2nd,3rd Edition RPGS) i must say i am very impressed with this game.

The production quality is high and the content well written and engaging - hitting the right tone in regards to grim and perilous dark british humor.

The art work is inspiring and matchs the tone of the game.

The rules are fun and pay homage to the original edition but with modern design elements supported with great optional rules.

The game may have a steep learning curve for new rpgers but that is overcome with the starter set recently released by C7.

C7 are a brillant company who have produced a great game - the Old World lives on and is safe in their hands. I must say that i look forward to the upcoming Age of Sigmar RPG.

It is a golden age of RPGS with fantasy games in there many variations very much at the fore to the point it can be difficult to distinguish wheat from the chaff - if you want something engaging, gritty, inspiring and ultimately fun then pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Lauri M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2018 02:00:43

WFRP 4th edition is kind of like an OSR game. Yes, it doesn't use those mechanics but the spirit of ye olden days is there. The system is reminisent of the first and second edition but weirdly different in a way that you really need to learn all of the rules again before you can go on an adventure in the Old World.

Visually it is one of the most stunning rpg books I have ever had the pleasure to read and only rarely do these illustrations hinder the reading process (which isn't usually the case in rpg books in my opinion).

I might have been spoiled by the indie games in the past years but WFRP is not for all. There are loads of rules of all kinds of stuff but it still feels like some of them have been intentionally left out to justify the later expansions. It's not as bad as it was for WFRP3 but it is still there.

WFPR4 is a great escape from Dungeons and Dragons to a more vibrant world and interesting gaming experience - if you want to view it in that way.

I wrote a much longer post about it in our blog: https://blog.guildredemund.net/2018/10/25/review-warhammer-fantasy-roleplay-4th-edition/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2018 03:09:25

The good: Cudos to C7 for going back to the original setting from 1st ed and for the great artwork. The bad: An overly complicated and poorly explained edition of WFRP.

I wish 4th ed could have been a modern take on Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay that could have included many of the great things in roleplay that has developed since the beginning of this millenium. Instead this comes across as an even more complicated oldschool version of WFRP with very little guidance in the book as to how the rules should work in play.

Who should buy: Fans that must have everyhing WFRP related or those who like to tinker with houseruling of WFRP. Who should not buy: People new to roleplay or those looking for a modern roleplay system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Filip B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2018 03:30:18

I've played WFRP 1st, 2nd and a little bit 3rd editions before this one and 4th is by far the best, the most complete, the most lore coherent, the most sophisticated (with optional levels of complexity) and the most fun of them all.

I like DnD much, especially 5th edition, but WFRP 4th is just another league. Previous editions suffered in my opinion to a little bit boring combat. Deadly, yes, but still not that fun enough, especially with multiple miss-miss rounds. Not anymore. Now it's just as deadly as always but apart of that super fun and with plenty of choices to make.

Another cool thing is whole career status, earning and endevours mechanics along with career advancements that don't enforce you to change careers.

Theoretically unlimited leveling (no skill or characteristic cap) is another cool thing too. I probably wouldn't need it that much often, but it's cool the system can handle that.

This edition is just perfect and a must have for any RPG enthusiast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Ville H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2018 10:22:57

I've never read or played a Warhammer Fantasy product before.

Warhammer's world feels more "sociological" than many fantasy games': it's clearly a society with its own features, functions, and classes with wide gaps in wealth and status. No one in this world is merely an "individual", but always an individual in a society. Your character's career is always tied to a place in the society; but they still have reasons to go on adventures and the game offers suggestions. For example, there are limits to what doctors are allowed to do in schools, so some more enterprising types see adventuring as an opportunity to learn some nitty-gritties of physiology and anatomy in practice.

The rules are based on d100. I don't know what the first two editions were like, but this edition uses the same dice operations that I know from Unknown Armies: doubles/matches, reversals, and rerolls. I'm not usually a big fan of systems that use the d100, but this seems to work pretty well and utilize the mechanics to their full extent. WFRP even uses Success Levels in a pretty elegant way: only the number on the tens die matter. That is, if your need to roll at least 61 and you roll 07, your success level is 6-0 = 6. Success levels can be used pretty much everywhere and you can even deduce dramatic outcomes from them ("yes, and", "no, but" etc.)

There's not a lot of maths involved anywhere and any special abilities that your character may have are pretty easily understood - most of them are described with one or two sentences. In addition, the special abilities called Talents aren't dependent on one another - that is, you don't need to pick A in order to later pick B and C or D. If you like intricate character builds, this isn't for you. But if you appreciate pretty light system with more emphasis on story than mastering the mechanics, you might like this. The advancement system seems like the fiddliest bit of the game, but at least it's done between sessions.

There are some slight organisatory issues (Success Levels are mentioned before they're explained, for example) and the PDF isn't bookmarked. The organisatory issues only really matter on the first read-through, because once you grasp the basics, you know how everything works and it's easy to grasp the logic of the system. The lack of bookmarks is a shame, but at least the six-page index appears to be pretty useful.

Other than those, the book is well-edited. The text goes straight to the point and uses words effectively: it achieves both usefulness and color without wasting words. Probably my favorite are the pages on the main gods of the Empire: each one gets a page, but on that page, you get a lot of stuff on their beliefs, practices, symbols etc.

Like I said, I can't compare it to the earlier editions which I haven't read. As a stand-alone product, it feels reasonably old-school without the clunkiness of many old-school games. The system offers a lot of freedom to make the game suit your group; and it's gritty and non-intrusive but still supports fail forward. Overall, it successfully walks the path between old and new. It's a great product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 19:42:50

As with other Cubicle 7 products, the layout and general presentation are top notch and it's pretty well written and easy to follow. The rules are very much based on WFRP 1st edition, rather than 3rd or 2nd. We all expected that the experimental 3rd edition rules to be thrown out, but some fans of 2nd edition will note that there are more rules stipulations and a few changes from what they might expect. That said, character generation was fun when we tried it, and the rules have a gritty flavour which is key to the setting. The real value of the new game is likely to become more apparent in the supplements and campaigns to follow (especially The Enemy Within redux). It's a professional product, but it still needs a bit more to bring it alive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 12:20:47

Good rules but the wording and imagery has too much influence from AoS and generic dark fantasy tropes rather than the unique and interesting cultural aspects of the setting and its civilizations. I would recommend buying this on sale and mining it for good rules additions to second edition WFRP.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Mathew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2018 14:16:16

Whilst only having a preview copy like everyone else, I can only go by what is in front of me right now, and I will add more after getting my paws on the final product.

Just going to go with the Pros right now as I see them, because, as I said, only looking at a preview at the moment... Cons, if they come, will come later.

  1. I love the full page careers
  2. I like the extra XP that can be earned by taking what fate hands you
  3. I like the random race table, as I feel that non-human / demi-human races should be a rarity, and that the min-maxing nature of many games has left humans as a less than desirable choice for a lot of players
  4. I like the lethality that ranged weapons bring, which is as it should be, and that I think only one career, Roadwarden, starts with a ranged weapon out of the gate (I may be wrong, but I'm sure I couldn't find any other career that had a ranged weapon at Tier 1)
  5. I like how fast chargen is, despite how many factors are involved. I've rolled a LOT of characters so far (even run... & played in... a couple sessions!)
  6. I really love the fact that between adventures, players who haven't chosen to do certain money related activities start the next adventure broke, which adds a nice bit of motivation hehe
  7. I love that combat is still lethal, as I was genuinely worried that in this age of mostly, well, not so lethal games, that WFRP would go down that dark path too
  8. I like how straightforward progression is, despite being more linear than 1e for example, you can still go off at a tangent and it not be a chore
  9. I really like the art, the feel, and the atmosphere of the book, as I love The Old World, and have done for over 30 years
  10. I like how the different types of magic actually feel different, and how they work differently too
  11. I like how it all runs with just 2d10
  12. Finally, I like that the book has a little bit of everything and that you can run something right out of it.

(These are just my opinions and impressions. Not a professional reviewer, just an old grognard with almost 40 years of gaming under my belt, who knows what he likes and what he doesn't.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates