DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Deadlands: The Cackler
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2022 11:15:08

Spoiler free review:

Deadlands has gone through a lot of changes sinced I first found out about it in 1998. Learning a new game after being weaned on AD&D was intimidating, but the lore was what kept me coming back. Especially knowing that Deadlands: The Weird West was a growing, changing and living campaign.

And "The Cackler" may be the most exciting that I have read.

Alternate histories are a difficult genre, taking known characters and events of American legend and making them fictional but feeling familiar. At some point, the writers could be expected to "dry up" their well of knowledge because, eventually, how much of a threat can the Reckoners and their Servitors be if players can vanquish them in their published adventures?

The Cackler does this by introducing new threats that feel fresh and original and still familiar! A Living Worlds means that moving forward sees heroes perish.

I loved The Cackler as a new villain I recognize, and I am anxious to see how Shane Hensley and the Pinnacle crew how far the Deadlands mythos will change in the coming years. Sorry I didn't get in on the Kickstarter for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Cackler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Necronomicon Page 143 The Other Gods (Horror Prop Handout)
Publisher: The Vaults of McTavish
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2021 10:28:19

This is awesome.

I was on a personal quest to make my own Necronomicon for my CoC players and eventually found my way to this File. This is great work and I had to have all three pages. Good on the author for adding the instructions for VTT and print use.

Worth the price, looking forward to more from this author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necronomicon Page 143 The Other Gods (Horror Prop Handout)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Necronomicon Page 97 Deep Ones (Horror Prop Handout)
Publisher: The Vaults of McTavish
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2021 10:28:07

This is awesome.

I was on a personal quest to make my own Necronomicon for my CoC players and eventually found my way to this File. This is great work and I had to have all three pages. Good on the author for adding the instructions for VTT and print use.

Worth the price, looking forward to more from this author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necronomicon Page 97 Deep Ones (Horror Prop Handout)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Necronomicon Page 76 Eye of the Zombie (Horror Prop Handout)
Publisher: The Vaults of McTavish
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2021 10:27:38

This is awesome.

I was on a personal quest to make my own Necronomicon for my CoC players and eventually found my way to this File. This is great work and I had to have all three pages. Good on the author for adding the instructions for VTT and print use.

Worth the price, looking forward to more from this author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Necronomicon Page 76 Eye of the Zombie (Horror Prop Handout)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cthulhu Text: TTF Font File
Publisher: The Vaults of McTavish
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2021 10:21:10

Now this is pretty cool.

I was on a personal quest to make my own Necronomicon for my CoC players and eventually found my way to this Font File. Combining this TTF with the website https://ephemer.kapsi.fi/FhtagnGenerator.php?count=250&format=plain&fhtagn=yes, I can effectively come up with Cthuvian chants and visiual spells for the book!

My only gripe is that... the runes(?) look a little too clean... if they could be a little messier (a la MS Word's "Chiller" font?) it would seem a little more horrific, rather than looking straight from the printer.

All in all, I think this TTF was worth the price and really makes the CoC handouts a little more authentic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Text: TTF Font File
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Publisher: Chaosium
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2021 10:12:25

The Call of Cthulhu Quick-Start is a fantastic way to get new Keeper's and players involved with the Lovecraft's mythos with a time-honored scenario The Haunting. I was introduced to this idea by my favorite YouTuber, Seth Skorkowski (see his YouTube channel for a more comprehensive review).

I ran this adventure for some family (4 players) who were only familiar with fantasy RPGs. This Quick-Start scenario wasn't too detailed on the rules but enought to get started and the scenario really opened the door to investigative RPing. Keeper's can even find more handouts online and feel accomplished being a apart of this popular scenario's history.

As a first time Keeper, this scenario has run 2 sessions of about 4 hours each, as i wanted these new players to really delve into the investigation and find as many clues as possible. The final confrontation didn't exactly prepare them, but it was still a great time.

Personally, I feel the QS rules could have done without the scenario at the end so that Keeper's could guard the secrets of the scenario from over-curious players (I'd have paid $$ to get it seperately if required). All in all, I love the QS rules and the The Haunting, and I feel honored to be a part of community of Keeper's who ran this adventure for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Little Fears: The Wolf Pact
Publisher: FunSizedGames
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2021 08:04:07

Little Fears: The Wolf Pact is Jason Blair's adventure tale in the world of Little Fears, a game that takes a dark look at the things that adults can no longer see. Written for the "young adult" crowd, like RL Stine's Goosebumps, the horror is well penned without being a gorefest. The auhor creates a feeling of isolation and near-hopelessness between the two main characters, and successfully draws the reader into their fear as we follow their trek to save their friends and themselves.

As a fan of the game, this story makes a fantastic introduction to the setting: no knowlegde of the game is needed.

Without spoilers, The Wolf Pact is a rewarding tale and worth the read. I know fans are looking forward to more work from Jason L. Blair.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Little Fears: The Wolf Pact
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Stingers & Spores: The Leaping Jaws
Publisher: Twitchy Butcher Studios LLC
by Daxton N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2021 08:30:47

Twitchy Butcher Studios follows their fantasy driven setting, Gods & Masters, with JumpStart on a new twist on the fantasy genre:

I was fortunate enough to be a lrt of the author's initial playtest group. With all of the fanatsy TTRPGs out there, it is easy to become burned out and think all they are all the same; but it was delightfully refreshing to play as anthropomorphic insects. The setting is familiar enough to be comfortable, while adding the perspective of being a small bug in a big world. The author even goes as far as to provide a system of measurement from the bug point of view!

The JumpStart outlines a fast style of character creation, which can be very involved when making a new species of bug, but the author does a good job laying out a template to follow using the Savage Worlds rules. The new Edges and Hindurances work well with playing each species, and players making new species only need a quick Wikipedia education in entomology.

The adventure itself was straight forward, staying away from cartoony-hijinks and opting to the "dark fantasy" and the brutality of nature and the food chain. Without revealing spoilers, Game Masters will have to really drive home the size of the players versus the BBEG.

Personally, I am looking forward to seeing this title in the Savage Worlds line-up and introducing my own players to a world of Stingers & Spores.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stingers & Spores: The Leaping Jaws
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates