DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Tiny Supers $19.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
34 6
5 1
1 2
1 0
3 1
Tiny Supers
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Mario R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2020 10:22:51

This was the first game we played irl in months. I ran a one shot. Everyone had a fantastic time, the rules are simple, but provide enough guidance that I never ran into a situation where I was stuck. Character creation was the best aspect. Each player gave me a comic character they wanted to emulate powerset, i created 5 characters in 20 minutes. If I had structured the campaign for anything other than a one shot, the experience rules are the most robust of any of the "tiny" rulesets. Great game for those who want a supers game without needing to read 10 pages on how to break a door down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2020 13:19:17

I collect superhero games, fully knowing I'm never going to play most of them. This one, on the other hand? Pretty sure it's going to be my go-to going forward! Easy to learn, easy to teach, super quick chargen. What's not to like?!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2020 19:05:59

I love this simple and adaptable supers system. I love the TinyD6 line, but this is my favorite of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2020 15:22:55

I can't believe how much I love this little game. I'm going to go out and get the rest of the Tiny d6 library. Just a fun little mechanic but the real gem in this book is the Gallant-verse, the setting. It's remarkable. I own a lot of superhero RPG products with a ton of settings, and this might be my favorite 4 color setting. It's just rich enough to be wonderful, and has enough open space to let a GM breath. Really well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by William B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2020 14:55:13

In a 265-page game book, I expected to see more of a game and less of a setting. Make no mistakes, this is not a game book, it's a setting book for generic supers with some rules in case you don't have your own system. And it's a very minimalistic setting book focused more on inclusion (which is specifically called out in their basic ideas) than on actually setting up a world.

I would rather have seen 200 pages spent on the game and decent examples of character creation and play instead of a minimalistic, generic super-hero setting that I'm never going to use. As it is, the rules encompass pages 4-43 . . . and the rest is their setting for their rule set which they don't really bother following most of the time. Not a single one of the characters depicted in the book followed their character creation rules so there weren't any good examples when the rules were unspecific--which is the norm not the exception.

At its core, there's something here that might be useful to experienced GMs, if they're willing to dive into it, fix its problems and wrestle the system back from the brink of mediocrity. The basic mechanics are interesting and have some potential, but the entire game needs to be looked at and refined into something greater than itself. And definitely greater than the 200+ pages of sub-standard, ultra-generic, inclusion-above-all setting. Their unwillingness to focus in the name of inclusivity is a crippling detriment to their setting.

If you’re looking for a good supers game, this isn’t it. If you’re looking for a good supers setting, this, also isn’t it. If you’re looking for a, well, tiny idea in a game system that has a great deal of potential, and you’re willing to put the legwork in. Then this would be for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2019 07:28:12

I ran my first session of this last night for a group of 3 players who had never played a tabletop rpg and who had never read the rules to this one (i made their characters for them).

It went very well! They picked up the rules quickly and the game went smoothly.

I ran one combat in which they had stumbled upon a gun fight between two rival gangs in a dockside warehouse. Since there were no rules on how to make non-super npcs i just gave them 5 stress and ruled that guns deal 2 stress. There were nine gangbangers (5 vs 4) but they werent entirely focused against the heroes (to be fair) as they were more concered with each other.

I threw in some twists and one of the heros weaknesses, but in the end they were victorious.

All in all it was a lot of fun, and very easy to run/play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Fred G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2019 03:01:06

I used to play the TinyD6 games, like it, and was realy waiting for this one.

Pro : -tiny system : as good as usual. Simple to learn and to use, and we need absolutely nothing more to have fun -universe : hard work on the verses and micro verse, as espected -aesthetic : tweaked, on theme

Con : -rule system not fully developed, its lacking some parts and some explications -too much copy/paste from tiny dungeon 2, seriously -rereading is not optional

The game is quiet well developped, with a strong theme and a "easy-peasy, lets go, all that right" focus. It works, if you don't go too much in the details (as me)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Ron R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2019 10:47:27

A lot of money for what is essentially a mediocre, generic setting book with an incomplete supers system up front. Would much rather have seen page count used to round out the pretty thin number of superpower options and flesh out the system for super-genre play, rather than have hundreds of pages devoted to yet-another-generic-comic-book setting. Especially galling is the material, including core rules, that are obviously copied over from Tiny Fantasy. Best avoided unless you're in the market for a very light, pretty restrictive system and a good-to-go (but not very good) worldbook all-in-one. Not a patch on ICONS.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Claude M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2019 15:26:45

Very sleek and simple system but still has enough details to make characters feel different. I get the same feeling from Tiny Supers as I did when I was playing running Marvel (FASERIP) and Marvel SAGA. That's high praise as they are two of my favourite rpgs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2019 21:42:12

I had the good fortune to help Play Test some aspects of this game. It follows the TinyD6 Rules Set so if you are Familiar with any of the other TinyD6 Games like Tiny Dungeon or Tiny Wasteland you are already well on your way! 3d6 is all you need to be on your way to your own Super! Everything about Tiny Supers is in place to let you play in a Comic-Style world. If you want to try heroic things, or use increcidble powers in a System that gets out of the way and lets you just Play then welcome to The GallantVerse! All of the 'Classic' Super Hero tropes are available to you here, so if you want to craft a Tiny Supers version of your favourite Comic Character it is easily done as well!

Gone are the lengthy Character Creation Sessions, you pick an Archetype, Pick 3 Powers, an Origin and your already halfway to playing! Tiny Supers rewards your creativity and encourages it by following a more narrative driven approach to gameplay. There is minimal Book Keeping, only a very few Charts to be seen, in fact once you get past page 44 or so the entire book is devoted to either the GallantVerse Setting or the Micro Settings provided by some truly exceptional Authors.

My Group of Supers was up and running in under 90 minutes. This is a great game for anyone, even non-Gamers can easily jump right in. There are many Board Games that have more Rules and take longer to Set Up than this game takes to get you chasing down Super Villains, I'd even recommend it to people who do a Regular Board Game Night. It makes a great pallate cleanser as well if you have been entrenched in a Rules Heavy/Crunchy System for some time then this game is the perfect remedy. Get Super!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates