DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2020 05:58:56

I'm a huge art book fan, having numerous books on my shelves from various Kickstarters and fantasy artists and as art books go this is definitely a high quality work. Though there's no art included that hasn't already been depicted in the previous Conan sourcebooks from Modiphius, most people won't have all their books so it's nice to have access to all the beautiful images for both use in evoking tone in gameplay and also just to enjoy. I do wish that there was an index of all the artists for the individual images rather than just listing all the artists en masse except for the cover artists. But maybe that's just the art fan in me that likes to track down works from artists I enjoy. After seeing how lovely the art is displayed in this book I'm certainly going to try to track it down in hard copy to own as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Conan: Kull of Atlantis
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2020 06:37:22

If you're at all a fan of role playing in a mysterious savage land of fading kingdoms, this is the book for you. I've seen the Kull movie for all you Kevin Sorbo fans out there, but never read any of the novels. This sourcebook makes me want to track some down so I can. It has a great amount of detail of life in the age of Kull as well as the nations and personages you can find there. There's also a good write up of Kull and his allies and even a suggestion that playing them as PCs would make an interesting game, which I agree with having done that with characters like Mordenkainen and Bigby in Greyhawk. Finally a lot of work has gone into enhancing the themes of doomed kingdoms in a age of mystery with an alternate Doom Mechanic although there are suggestions on how to make your game less oppressive if you want to. Add to this a short adventure and the inclusion of Thulsa Doom and what else could you ask for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Kull of Atlantis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Conan The King
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2020 05:29:15

Conan the King is another great sourcebook in the Conan line, full of the usual beautiful high quality artwork. It details the lands of Aquilonia and beyond that Conan ruled during his years as king as well as the NPCs that can be met there. More rules about magic use are included along with more monsters to fight all drawn from the writings of Robert E. Howard.

What really stood out to me was the indepth rules concerning ruling a kingdom and the trials and tribulations involved in doing so. These sections could be used for any fantasy setting, not just Conan's, and make the book worthwile by themselves. For those using the Conan setting, there are also good ideas on how to run a game with Conan as king, while still allowing the PCs to remain at the forefront of the action. This book will let you enjoy a game of both war and palace intrigue for many campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The King
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Conan the Adventurer
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2020 06:57:13

The first thing that struck me about this sourcebook was the wonderful art. Modiphius' art is usually of high quality but this time it seemed especially enticing. This book details character creation for the Southern Kingdoms, followed by in depth descriptions of the Kingdoms, large scale events that could be used for campaigns, and finally the large range of magic, gods and monsters that could be encountered. When I read and review a book, I try not to get caught up on, for instance, a reference being listed as page XX instead of a proper page number. Instead I look at style of writing and the images in the book to see if they give me inspiration to run fun and rivetting adventures. This book definitely did that, doing a great job of capturing the feel of the multitude of cultures in the Southern Kingdoms while consciously avoiding as best it can the unfortunate racist undertones (And sometimes not so -under-tones) of Robert E. Howard's stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan the Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Liminal: Pax Londinium
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2020 06:06:49

This suppliment for Liminal is brimming over with interesting characters, places and plots all centered around Hidden London. From trolls under bridges to dragons full of bluster, the cast of NPCs to encounter are varied and full of life. There are secret societies to interact with and mysterious places to explore. Modiphius even left a page in the back for the new talent of Chronomancy. And although this book is written for Liminal, most of the information about magical London could be used for any game set there in modern times, making it perfect for any GM looking to run a London based game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Pax Londinium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2020 10:05:43

I've never played the Dishonored video game, so I'm coming at this from a newbie standpoint. As such, I really enjoyed the world presented in these pages and enjoyed the descriptions of the various Districts and accompanying plot hooks. Also the islands outside Gristol are detailed with broader strokes and some great adventure ideas are given for each island. Both the art and the writing really gave a great impression of the ambience of a gothic gaslight steampunkish world which will help any GM share this with their players.

It's a bit light on the rules, but that didn't bother me as I knew what to expect going into it. That being said, I found the idea of Player Momentum vs GM Chaos to be a fun mechanic that adds to the feel of the game.

Finally, the adventure at the end of the book is a nice gory introduction to the world of Dishonored and written so that players and GM get a good feel of the genre without a lot of prep work.

The team at Modiphius is also extremely active when it comes to correcting errors made in the original printing. As of the beginning of May, the corrections are listed in a seperate file but eventually a new file will be posted with the corrections made in the product itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Infinity: Location Card Deck
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2020 05:07:53

This deck contains 54 cards, each with a different location type suitable for adventuring in. Each location has a full color picture as a sample of what it may look like along with a list of 3 very different places that location type might be found. 2 sample Heat Spends are included as well, one lower and one higher for the different levels of difficulties PCs might encounter here. Among the uses for these cards are as random starting points for adventures or to be aside to use as easy references for preplanned locations that PCs will visit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Location Card Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Infinity: Adversary Card Deck
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 06:35:45

Another high quality product from Modiphius, this deck of 54 NPCs to meet as friend, foe or something in between gives a full color image as well as all relevant stats, description and plot hooks. This is a great tool when you need a random NPC to toss into the mix and they're detailed enough that they could grow to be a major NPC for use again and again. I only have two minor complaints about the product. The first is that a lot of the NPCs seem geared towards combat. If you run a high combat game, this is actually a bonus for you, but my players tend to prefer social RP rather than combat RP. The second issue is that I wished the character image didn't have the NPCs' name, personality and brief history on it. I'd want to show the image when I introduced the character but wouldn't be able to because of all the personal details about them that doing so would give away.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Adversary Card Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Infinity: GM Plot Deck
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 07:02:32

This is a deck of over 50 plots to run in the world of Infinity (or a game of your choosing with a little creativity). Each location has a full color image as well as a short description of the adventure, location, plot twists, obstacles, adversaries as well as a main and secondary objective. No stats are included of course, but for a GM who is looking for ideas to run with, this is a great source of adventures that can keep players engaged for an entire year of weekend gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: GM Plot Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2020 06:42:48

Although I've never played the Conan the Exiles videogame, this sourcebook definitely makes me want to. It contains rules for starting your character cast out from civilization, left to wander the Exiled Lands to seek both shelter and glory. There are numerous character options as well as dozens of exciting locales to adventure in. There are also rules for creating and maintaining a settlement as well as rules for war on a large scale that are among the least cumbersome I've seen, making for simple but exciting resolution. I found the sections on Gods and summoning Avatars to be especially interesting and they provide rules for devastating powers that I can't wait to incorporate into my ongoing game. This book certainly follows the high standards of the prior Conan sourcbooks having both rules and ideas to fuel many enjoyable campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Black Void: Dark dealings in the Shaded Souq
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2020 06:08:38

This is a well written adventure initiating PC involvement right away with a case of mistaken identities leading to the uncovering of illicit animal trade and more. The Black Void setting combines Arabian influences with fantastic creatures and dark overtones to create a compelling story to engage your players. I really appreciated that the beginning of the book detailed a brief description of the adventure as well as the people, places and factions that the PCs might encounter. It made understanding the adventure that followed easy for me as a DM, something that many written adventures lack. The artwork was also fantastic and added to dark mysterious ambience of the setting. In addition, there were suggestions throughout the book on both encouraging player involvement as well as suggestions to include PCs who don't exactly fit the mold of the adventure, a bonus for any struggling DM. This is a great product and I look forwards to future adventures and suppliments for Black Void.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Void: Dark dealings in the Shaded Souq
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Liminal: Repairer of Reputations
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2020 05:58:26

This is an interesting short adventure that could easily be played in a single session. I enjoyed the connections to real world events such as the tale of the Cottingley Fairies and the Hound of the Baskervilles. It's mostly a character driven adventure so if you're looking for big fight scenes, this wouldn't really be the adventure to get. On the other hand if you're like me and prefer to give players a mystery to solve that doesn't just involving punching everyone in sight, this is certainly worth your while. The end of the story also details a good number of plots hooks for continuing the adventure beyond the scope of its 11 pages for GMs looking for further inspiration. My one critique of this product is that the artwork didn't seem to be related to the actual adventure. I gave this product five stars because given the low price, it definitely provides a good story as well as a lot of story seeds for later adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Repairer of Reputations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Conan The Scout
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2020 07:04:20

This is an extremely useful and well bookmarked source book for not only the world of Conan, but also for any frontier fantasy game. About half the book is more Conan specific (Even giving his stats during the time he spend wandering the Frontier kingdoms) but a good deal of it can be used in any game as it includes a host of useful random tables for generating entire borderland kingdoms and plot hooks to go with them. The information specific to the game includes information on the Frontier Kingdoms and the prominent NPCs that inhabit them complete with a special section on the Picts. As Howard's Bran Mak Morn stories were my first introduction to his writings, the Picts always had a special place in my heart so I was especially excitied to see them included in such detail.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The Scout
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Infinity: Mercenaries Sourcebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2020 09:07:54

This is a high class supplement not only for Infinity, but also for any game that need mercenaries from a multi world setting. This book is full of well detailed and fully fleshed out mercenary companies and NPCs usable as both groups to join and to use as adversaries. Included is a history of mercenary companies in the Infinity setting as well as all the rules you need to create and arm both mercenary PCs and NPCs, complete with tables allowing easy random generation of motivation and other character details. You will aslo find a list of the sorts of adventures to put newly minted mercenary PCs through. All in all if you plan on a game revolving around interstellar mercenary work, this is a great resource to have at your fingertips.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Mercenaries Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Elder Scrolls Call To Arms Core Rulebook
Publisher: Modiphius
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 05:37:16

It's been a while since I looked into a miniatures game because the rules always seemed cumbersome and complex. Call to Arms is the exact opposite. This 104 page rule book boils down combat, magic, races, terrain and everything else you need to know about in an easy to understand format that allows for gameplay to start soon after you get the book. Each section is clearly defined in the contents so you don't have to flip around trying to find a rule for a specific situation. If my state wasn't in lockdown, I'd go to my local gaming store today to look for minis to play it with today. But I guess that's what the internet is for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Elder Scrolls Call To Arms Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 135 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates