DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Engines & Empires Core Rules
Publisher: Relative Entropy Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2020 01:14:10

This system has quite a few pages about dungeon crawling, but I was not in the mood for that. I used the following adventure. The Cursed Chateau is a rated "R" haunted house adventure for the Lamentations of the Flame Princess Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Game (OSR). It is for low level characters. The maps include the maze, the grounds, and the chateau (upper, lower, and basement). There are 57 "rooms" in the chateau and the rules also include a random event table (100 possibilities). It is interesting that the boss "monster" does not want to kill all of the characters that enter. He has other motivations. The game system I used to play this was Engines & Empires. It is set in the 19th century and there are still dragons and magic (252 pages). I did use a solo engine so that I could solo it (The adventure was designed for a game master and several players). I used three fighters and two techs. This group did have a sponsor. He wanted all magic books and major magic items that would be found. The techs used his lab to make their "toys": flux detector, skeleton key, corrosive acid, dynamite, ghost detector, ghost trap, and an antitoxin. During the maze scene, Valerie the Tech was able to capture two ghosts. At the end of the adventure her ghost detector led them to the Big Bad. He suffocated one of the fighters to death (the fighter was already wounded), but she was able to trap Mr. Bad after a few combat rounds. -Bustin' makes me feel good. - Fun system! Fun adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Engines & Empires Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Picture This!
Publisher: Tales By Bob
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2020 06:03:10

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Those Dam Goblins (revised). It is a fun 38 page fantasy adventure for Fifth Edition D&D, Labyrinth Lord, and BECMI. It is available at DriveThruRPG. There is one page of maps and fourteen stat blocks for the monsters. It is a five hour adventure, there is some nice loot, and some great room descriptions. The game system I used was Picture This!. It is only one page of rules so you do need to fill in the "holes" (example - no stats on a devil). I had better explain more about Picture This! The rules state that you download five images for your phone which become spells. I am not a "phone" guy. I am old school. So, I used five random Magic the Gathering cards (for each character) which had a mana cost of three or less. This worked great! I have decided that the character levels in the game will at least be one to twenty, so I now have to come up with the rules for character advancement . . . I used the solo engine that I have been testing out so that I could solo my way through this. The adventuring party consisted of four wizards (one of them a female - the image attached) and a necromancer. On the first day they picked up the quest in the town. In the woods they encountered two albinos and they had a chat with them. Things started getting crazy at this point. They investigated a smelly cart and my earth wizard was attacked by a rot grub. The group was stunned as they watched their companion die within a few combat rounds. The necromancer did not panic. He simply brought the earth wizard back to life with his necro spell. The zombie slowly answered questions and said that he could still cast spells. Soon they entered the dungeon. The zombie was first in line (that was intentional) and he took several hits from arrows and spears . . .. and he died again . .a final death. Well, the remaining four did survive the dungeon, saved the day, and got back to town. On the second day they received a quest when they were busy organizing stuff from the day before. That was convenient. Your turn. Good luck with this one!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Picture This!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Under Tenkar's Tavern, Levels 1-3
Publisher: ThrowiGames
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2020 15:13:16

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Under Tenkar's Tavern. It is a fun Swords & Sorcery (OSR) adventure designed for characters of level 1, 2, or 3. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I did this adventure with five first level characters. The game system that I used was Starfinder. On the first day, the space goblins went to their morning class: Herbology. This was followed by Transfiguration 1. The goblins tried to transfigure each other into frogs, but with no success. They went to the pub for lunch and the bartender set them up with a quest to help out his brother in another town. Mert gave them some supplies and hired a woman and her horse to take them there with his wagon. On the way to this other town, the wagon was stopped by goblin bandits. This encounter turned into a drinking party. On the second day they arrived at the town at noon. They were planning on buying some smoke bombs there, but Mert's brother needed help right away. The goblins killed the beastie and found the way to the sewer and dungeon. It was there that they encountered a wererat. Gatz the goblin cast his transfiguration spell, was hoping for a frog result, but instead, the wererat was forced back to his human form. And they killed him. On the third day, they found a doppleganger disguised as a human female cook captive. They were clueless. It killed Gatz the goblin. The adventuring party killed it. They went back up, buried Gatz, and hired a female vesk mercenary. On the fourth day they had two combat encounters on level two of the dungeon. On the way back out, Toother the goblin was transformed into a wererat. He had vandalized a wererat diety statue and taken a piece of black ebony the day before. So, the three goblins, the wererat, and the vesk, left the dungeon to get some R & R. - Under Tenkar's Tavern is 12 pages long, has 3 maps, 17 stat blocks, and the dungeon has 37 rooms. Good luck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Under Tenkar's Tavern, Levels 1-3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Into the Living Library
Publisher: Sir Poley
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 18:31:01

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Into the Living Library. It is a fun fantasy 5th Edition adventure designed for characters of level one or two. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I did this adventure with five first level characters. The game system that I used was Starfinder. A goblin commander comes up with the idea to send five space goblins to a magic school (my idea). What could go wrong? They each get a hollowed out book and hide their junklaser pistols in there. On the first day they get their first quest from the teacher of the research class. They receive a second quest later on that day. The second day ended up being their busiest. They acquired a quest item at dawn from down in the depths of the Living Library, so, they actually completed two quests at this point. They then went to Alchemy class (yes, they were late). Three of the five were able to create a healing potion. After this, they went to the Lore 1 class where most of them fell asleep. Next was the meeting of the Artificing Club. They acquired a quest there and had it completed in just a few hours. So, the problem developed when they went into town to buy smoke bombs. None were available, but a thief did steal one of their books that contained a pistol. The chase was on which led to a battle with a total of three thieves. Two of the junlasers blew up and a thief lost an arm (botched roll). So, on day five they handed in their quest item book, and some of the other students were expelled. All five space goblins survived. I give this adventure a 10 out of 10. There are so many things to do (sandbox) and it is a timed adventure where things do happen at certain times. Nineteen pages of excitement including one map. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Living Library
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dark Fantasy Basic - Player's Guide
Publisher: Chaos Factory Books
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2020 10:26:17

I discovered that this rule system works well with Dungeon Crawl Classics Adventures. The module I used was DCC 87.5 Grimtooth's Museum of Death. The game system I used to play this was Dark Fantasy Basic. The solo engine that I used is one that I have been testing out. The adventure module does contain some "mystery" rooms. I used some encounters from another module to "populate" these areas. I used six first level thief characters from Dark Fantasy Basic to play through the museum. They did rescue a second level spy character (she was cursed). All seven characters died on levels two and four. Maybe you will have better luck . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Fantasy Basic - Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #87.5: Grimtooth's Museum of Death
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2020 10:18:50

The game system I used to play this was Dark Fantasy Basic. The solo engine that I used is one that I have been testing out. This 28 page module does contain some "mystery" rooms. I used some encounters from another module to "populate" these areas. I used six first level thief characters to play through the museum. They did rescue a second level spy character (she was cursed). All seven characters died on levels two and four. Maybe you will have better luck . . .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #87.5: Grimtooth's Museum of Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Myth - Tales of Legend - The Lost Barrow
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2020 01:18:24

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Myth Tales of Legend The Lost Barrow. It is a QuickStart which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This includes a 15 page adventure and also 6 characters that you can use (I did use them). This module includes one map of a combat site. This adventure is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox (Bimler). On the first day on the road we ran into a combat encounter with a woman in distress. We rescued her and escorted her towards a village. Outside of the village we discovered a group of gypsies. They had been banned from the village. In the village we picked up a quest and then the characters talked to the villagers to get more information. We spent the night at the inn and left the next morning. On the way to our destination we encountered a hunter chasing a deer. We were able to recruit him into our adventuring party. Next was a terrain problem, but we managed to get through that. The climactic battle was next at the Lost Barrow. It was quite exciting. The boss and his minions were defeated (Ken the Monk almost died). We gathered the loot and headed back. On the way, there were some conversations and the hunter left (he was easily offended). As soon as we returned to the village we were greeted by the villagers. They already knew that we had completed our quest. Soon we had picked up two more quests. == == Game review - This module has a total of 60 pages. The game system is based on a pool of six sided dice. The system does have a bunch of interesting features. The artwork and adventure are awesome. Give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myth - Tales of Legend - The Lost Barrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Doktor is In
Publisher: Left Hand Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2020 00:38:33

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through The Doktor Is In. It is an adventure which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This interesting 23 page adventure is for low characters and can be used in any fantasy RPG game. This module includes one map with 18 "rooms". It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used the solo engine that I have been testing out. The game system I used was 5th Edition D&D with six characters with an average level of 1.5. == Warning - This adventure was designed as a one shot. The characters are not supposed to win and there is a good chance a character will die. However, this is a fun adventure and there is some nice loot. Another product I used is Culture & Physiology: Pick-a-Path Races for 5e. It is also pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. I used it to create some of the following characters that I needed for this. A construct that has an internal tea brewing device - "Would you care for a hot beverage?". An Aarakocra Bearded Vulture that can digest bones - "Are you done with that bone?". A female Decapus Spawn - "Hello handsome". A shade - "Going my way?" A female vampire - "I'm hoping for bad weather". And a Fleshforge Prototype - "Are you my daddy?" ++ The Fleshforge is looking for his dad and the others are helping him out . . . for now. In a village they pick up a quest and head for the manor. They start searching the place and find a few ghosts. They are being quiet and have not seen anyone else. So, they start to loot the place. On the second floor, they continue to loot until they hear a strange sound coming from under a bed, which could be some kind of alarm. They went back downstairs for more looting and triggered a combat . . which they ran from. At this point they had a discussion. They had some nice loot. It was time to leave. Fred the Fleshforge wasn't done looking for his dad, so the others left him there. He could not find anyone, until later another Fleshforge came bursting in through the front door. Fred said "Brother?" and was then attacked. Fred died. I kind of feel sorry for Fred. Oh well, but look at that loot! Give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doktor is In
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Culture & Physiology: Pick-a-Path Races for 5e
Publisher: YesThievesCan
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2020 00:37:09

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through The Doktor Is In. It is an adventure which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This interesting 23 page adventure is for low characters and can be used in any fantasy RPG game. This module includes one map with 18 "rooms". It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used the solo engine that I have been testing out. The game system I used was 5th Edition D&D with six characters with an average level of 1.5. == . Another great product I used is Culture & Physiology: Pick-a-Path Races for 5e. It is also pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. I used it to create some of the following characters that I needed for this. A construct that has an internal tea brewing device - "Would you care for a hot beverage?". An Aarakocra Bearded Vulture that can digest bones - "Are you done with that bone?". A female Decapus Spawn - "Hello handsome". A shade - "Going my way?" A female vampire - "I'm hoping for bad weather". And a Fleshforge Prototype - "Are you my daddy?" ++ The Fleshforge is looking for his dad and the others are helping him out . . . for now. In a village they pick up a quest and head for the manor. They start searching the place and find a few ghosts. They are being quiet and have not seen anyone else. So, they start to loot the place. On the second floor, they continue to loot until they hear a strange sound coming from under a bed, which could be some kind of alarm. They went back downstairs for more looting and triggered a combat . . which they ran from. At this point they had a discussion. They had some nice loot. It was time to leave. Fred the Fleshforge wasn't done looking for his dad, so the others left him there. He could not find anyone, until later another Fleshforge came bursting in through the front door. Fred said "Brother?" and was then attacked. Fred died. I kind of feel sorry for Fred. Oh well, but look at that loot! Give this fun six page "splat book" a try . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Culture & Physiology: Pick-a-Path Races for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

A Windmill Full of Corpses
Publisher: Deathtrap Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2020 15:14:12

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through A Windmill Full of Corpses. It is an OSR/D&D adventure which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This interesting two page adventure is for characters of levels 3-6. This module includes one map with five "rooms". It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox (Bimler). The game system I used was 5th Edition D&D with six characters with an average level of five. I did add seven rooms to the mill complex. ==Nobody in Manechea likes the Mill, or the Miller. To them, the windmill it is just another excuse for the baron to put his hand in their pockets. The miller is a strange outsider with sad eyes who barely speaks... The truth is far worse... __ In the dining room my characters found three creatures using a Change Self spell who were pretending to be a mother, son, and daughter. They were doing a horrible job of it. The monsters were killed. When Rynard the Arcane Trickster looked down into the cellar, he was attacked by a level two skeleton with a bow. Note - In my world skeletons have levels just like characters do. This means they get tougher and some even have powers. My players have learned this . . . .the hard way. So, my characters dealt with some traps, did clean out the mill, and completed the quest. Give this unique adventure a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Windmill Full of Corpses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Hellboy: The Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Publisher: Red Scar Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2020 15:03:43
  • For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Hellboy: The Roleplaying Game Quickstart. It is free at DriveThruRPG . The adventure, that is included, is for low level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I did this adventure with five characters: the ones included with the adventure. - - As soon as the characters entered the haunted house (the inner hall), the psychic performed a séance. She was hoping to have a calm conversation with the ghost and put it to rest. Instead, all hell broke loose. Later, monsters were killed. The priest was kept busy with a prayer, a confession, and destroying twelve profane books. Mona, with the detective background, was taken down on the second floor landing. She was bleeding out and there was no time to save her because another monster came at the team. So, this adventure was very exciting and the team won. = = Game review. This quickstart is 44 pages. I rate (1 to 5) the layout a 1. On my copy (I have a computer) some of the rules were missing because of black borders on the top. I was told that this would be fixed soon. I give the adventure a 5, the game rules a 5, and the comic book flavor a 5. Oh, these rules are built on the D&D foundation. Give it a try!


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hellboy: The Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cepheus Atom
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2020 18:10:05

Cepheus Atom is a lightweight role-playing game where players assume the roles of survivors exploring a sci-fantasy post-apocalyptic world. Players can play a mutant, but that does not mean they will have a beneficial mutation. There are 45 pages of rules and this is all you need to play the game. Rules for character advancement are not explained, but the author did quickly respond to my question on this. Please refer to the comments section. Characters have no attributes and there are six skills. I may add a psionics skill - something to think about. I like how you can quickly create a character. I love this game. - - For the past few days, I have soloed my way through Beneath The Spire. It is a free Mutant Epoch adventure which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG (One Day Digs 3). This exciting six page adventure is for low level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I did this adventure with four characters: one cyborg, two mutants, and a female human. The cyborg character took a beating early in the adventure and had to be dragged around. The characters were able to kill the Big Bad by luring him into a trap. If you like loot games, you will like this game. My characters found a light that attaches to a book, shotgun ammo, bows, arrows, knives, a gold ring, and a life-size poly-board flat figure of f bikini model. This adventure and the following are free on DriveThruRPG - Wastland Treasures 1, One Day Digs 3 & 4, and Scraplurker: Creatures of the Apocalpse 6. They include lots of random loot charts. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Atom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your wonderful review!
The Mind Mills
Publisher: Deathtrap Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2020 00:49:50

For the past few days, I have soloed my way through The Mind Mills. It is an OSR/D&D adventure which is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This exciting two page adventure is for characters of levels 3-5. This module includes one map with six "rooms". It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it, I used The Dungeon Oracle (Bimler). The game system I used was Black Hack with six first level characters. I did transform this adventure to a first level one and I added six rooms to the "home". == My characters picked up the quest early in the day. It was a find and rescue mission. The characters then went to the MIA/victim's home to look for clues and get personal items so my conjurer could do his divination spells. They started the journey, left the road, and ran into a loud drunk fighter. He wanted to join. Silver the Warrior tried to subdue him, but got knocked out in the first round. Sharyl the conjurer took the drunk down with a sleep spell. Later, after dusk, the party found the cottage. They backtracked a bit and set up camp. It was a quiet night. On day two they took on the cottage guardian. Things got worse after that. Sharyl botched a spell, went into a trance, and lost most of her wisdom points (temporary). They got through that magic trap, cleaned out some rooms, took a servant captive, and attempted a long rest in the kitchen. One hour later, Kobol the evil magician entered the dining room and the magic duel started. Dor the artificer won that duel. They attempted a long rest again in the kitchen and were successful. On day three they cleaned out the rest of the home/complex. They rescued a young female diviner who loves to read (not the one they were after). Later they found two dead bodies. So, my group killed the bad guy, but the one to be rescued and his friend had died as captives. Maybe you will have better luck . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mind Mills
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Into the Wizard's Hookah
Publisher: Deathtrap Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2020 07:46:45

Recently, I soloed my way through Into the Wizard's Hookah. It is a First Edition AD&D adventure available for pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This fun two page adventure is for character levels 3-5. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. To solo it and expand it, I tested out a solo system. The game system I used to run it was Suited Free Sample Edition with the fantasy supplement. I used four characters with an average level of three. In this adventure you are helping a mentor or a quest giver. You will end up in a demiplane. Are you ready for that? One of the rooms I added was empty when I started the adventure, but a female thief with green hair had set off a magical trap in the material plane. She ended up in the hookah in a replica of the room she had been in. It is a small square library room with sixteen waist high book shelves that all have wheels. They are set up in neat rows with spaces between them. To get out, you have to push four of them up against each wall. This forms a square shape. In other rooms, my party of adventurers found several others who had been sent there because they had failed various "tests". This adventure is quite unique. Give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wizard's Hookah
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Amazing review! With the pamphlet format and five room dungeon structure, dungeons end up needing to be pretty bare-bones. The real hope is that they serve as inspiration for something bigger. Your playthrough is everything I hoped to hear about how the module helped spark something bigger.
Love Nest of the Barbarix
Publisher: Deathtrap Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2020 13:10:38

Recently, I soloed my way through Love Nest of the Barbarix. It is a First Edition AD&D adventure available for free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. This fun two page adventure is for medium level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used The Dungeon Oracle to solo it. The game system I used to run it was Suited Free Sample Edition with the fantasy supplement. I used four characters with an average level of two. In this adventure you are to rescue a male bard from a barbarian clan which has a female leader. Day 1 - We received the quest and started our travels. A disturbance at a cabin ended up being a "discussion" between a husband and his wife. That evening we arrived at the barbarian camp and made friends with them. We did not have access to the barbarian queen and her bard. We spent the night in their encampment. Day 2 - Kirill the Magus killed a boar with his spear. The barbarians were quite impressed. Arisa the Magician prepared the boar stew along with the enchanted herbs and spices. The barbarians and hungry pets were put to sleep and the bard was rescued. We travelled for a bit and made camp. It was a quiet night. Day 3 - A rival barbarian clan had somehow found out about the bard and they wanted him as a "bargaining chip". They ambushed the adventuring party. The adventurers won, the bard was no help at all. When they arrived back at the town, the bard rewarded them with his magic lute. Give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Love Nest of the Barbarix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the awesome review! I love how you took the skeleton I have built and turned it into a long, role-playing rich story! It is exactly how I hoped the adventure would pan out!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates