DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Secret Identity Podcast Issue# 274--Marvel's Tom Breevort
Publisher: Secret Identity
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2014 12:18:42

The guys do their usual thorough and entertaining job. This issue was a bit heavier on television shows--none of which they reviewed I watch, so they lost me for a bit--but knowledge is power, right?

The interview with Tom B. was informative and fun.

Solid Issue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Identity Podcast Issue# 274--Marvel's Tom Breevort
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Secret Identity Podcast Issue #574--Serenity and Hacktivist
Publisher: Secret Identity
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2014 12:36:48

Any news of Serenity is good news. I was not aware a new comic was out. I am on the hunt...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Identity Podcast Issue #574--Serenity and Hacktivist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Secret Identity Podcast Issue #573--Army of Darkness and True Detective
Publisher: Secret Identity
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2014 17:42:30

The boys seem to have hit their stride. They present a good mix of comic reviews as well as current--and past--television, movie and pop culture reviews. Sprinkling a bit of their personal lives throughout makes them seem like the neighbor just down the block adding a level of comfort and trust.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Identity Podcast Issue #573--Army of Darkness and True Detective
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2014 19:13:25

I liked it and was disappointed at the same time. I was looking for a supernatural western to read when this series popped up. We are given ex-Union soldier and now gun-slinger, Ronan Lynch, who is hired, along with others, to find a man’s son who has disappeared to join a church-cult run by a suspected witch.

Ronan is killed only to reappear out of nowhere at the conclusion of the story with no explanation. The final line being: “to be continued.” Yes, it is a hook to buy the next in the series but I feel cheated in a way. I know nothing more about how Ronan becomes the feared supernatural bounty hunter badass he was advertised to be. I signed up expecting to find out this guy’s origin, and if I like what I read to continue on with his further adventures. What I get his Ronan getting killed off before anything even remotely “supernatural” happens. The bulk of the story continues about his companions on a grand adventure where they eventually find the son and take down the witch.

I signed on to read about Ronan so I feel a bit cheated by having to buy another installment to find out what happened to him and how he returned from the dead.

All supernatural aspects aside, the story is well written with interesting characters—just not enough about one particular character.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Dime Novel 01: Perdition's Daughter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Secret Identity Podcast Issue #258--Erin Gray Talks Buck Rogers
Publisher: Secret Identity
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2013 17:00:17

The two hosts have a nice chemistry between them. The two offer enough information to help make an informed purchase of the books they review if i wish. The movie/tv reviews are welcome as I can't watch everything. The interviews with professionals in the field are fun to listen to as well. They really are people just like me.

And then there is Erin Gray--what's not to like?

Jeffrey



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Identity Podcast Issue #258--Erin Gray Talks Buck Rogers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Zero Hunters #1
Publisher: Cinemacomics
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2013 17:57:21

ZERO HUNTERS is a nicely written, nicely colored, nicely drawn comic. It has a familiar story of a man who haunted by the memories of his family being killed in front of him by a vampire and his unrelenting quest for revenge. There is a secondary thread of a plot line that concerns a “history” the vampire and his hunter have between them that could turn out to be the strongest part of this story. There isn’t enough in this one issue to hook me into the storyline as I don’t see anything really unique at this point, but that shouldn’t stop fans of the genre from indulging their appetites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zero Hunters #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Tall Tales from the Badlands #3
Publisher: Black Jack Press
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2013 17:39:44

I was searching for “weird” or “horror/supernatural” western tales along the lines of Lansdale’s DEAD IN THE WEST and came across TALL TALES FROM THE BADLANDS. There are five stores in this issue and I figured the odds were good I would find one or two gems. While three of the stories were similar in idea to others I’ve read over the years two of the books stood out for me. One especially nice tale with an unexpected ending was “Where the Heart Is.” As for the book itself the art is of professional quality throughout and the writing is consistently good. Rounding out the book were pin-up pages I would like to see fleshed out as stories. Maybe next issue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tall Tales from the Badlands #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Secret Identity Podcast Issue #494--Injustice and Unfair
Publisher: Secret Identity
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2013 17:39:13

i find the podcasts to be entertaining and informative. the two hosts come across as both articulate and knowledgeable about comics both current and older. i’ve heard only a couple casts now and don’t know how widely read they are outside of the BIG TWO, but their passion for comics comes through and their excitement for the titles they review almost have me wanting to go out and buy the comic. (i have only heard positive reviews so far and don’t know if they will review comics to warn us to steer clear of. perhaps they could have a comic each time they don’t recommend?) their format of misc banter before reviews, then launching into two comics reviews plus a “long box” selection works well. like most I wish they would sacrifice longer reviews of some comics to save time to include a couple more reviews.

all in all I look forward to future casts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Identity Podcast Issue #494--Injustice and Unfair
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Journals of Simon Pariah #1
Publisher: AIM Comics
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2013 16:36:39

I felt like I had been misled based on what I had read in the description. I thought I would be reading original ideas using past events/figures both real and imagined. This story was basically a retelling of RE Howard's "The Thing in the Crypt" featuring Conan the Barbarian. The author freely admits after the tale his character was inspired by Howard's creations as well as another sword/sorcery author.

The art was good and supported the story but I found the illustration of Wolverine to be unnecessary and detrimental to the feeling of the time period the author was trying to create.

The text could have benefited from a good proofreading. There are numerous grammatical mistakes in punctuation and spelling that could have been caught.

I did like the format. I like comics that are text heavy with fewer illustrations allowing for better fleshed out storytelling.

All in all this might not have been the strongest issue to start the series. Perhaps it might have worked better as a flashback.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Journals of Simon Pariah #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Madame Mirage #1
Publisher: Top Cow
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 20:51:39

paul dini's name caught my eye on this title. i've liked pieces he's written in the past.

professional art and coloring, solid writing, a mysterious woman who takes many guises, bio-engineered heroes/villains, cybernetically enhanced humans and an organization that wants to use their talents as assassins. there was enough of a story to tell where the writer is headed. what's not to like?

this is a full issue, unlike many free issues that introduce the concept of the title without giving you a story strong enough to hang your coat on, to hopefully get you to sign up to subsequent issues. You get a chance to make a well informed evaluation/decision.

I liked it. plain and simple.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madame Mirage #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Drop Dead Dangerous #0
Publisher: Happy Lockjaw
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 20:28:46

the tag-line: "hardcore, hardboiled horror set in the weird, weird west" is what drew me to the title. i love my horror and i love my westerns. i especially love when the genres are fused.

unfortunately, there was nothing even remotely western in this zero issue--clothing, furnature, backgrounds, a horse. perhaps west refers to the direction and not the period as i had hoped.

having said that, the art was good and what was presented was clear, but there wasn't enough meat to the story to tell if future issues would be what i am looking for. not totally unexpected for an introductory piece. i realize the publisher has to save something for the series.

based on the zero issue this probably isn't for me.

my review is based on what i saw, not what i didn't see.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Drop Dead Dangerous #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Witch Hunter, issue 1
Publisher: Monarch Comics
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2012 17:29:29

The purchase/download was easy. The art is good, the coloring crisp. Definitely professional in look. I liked the premise of the story. However, the humor--especially toward the end--just didn't work for me. For someone looking for something in that vein I think they will enjoy it. I was looking/expecting something a bit more on the serious side.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Hunter, issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 16 to 27 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates